We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a big family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Minneapolis Airport - South
Ranked #16 of 42 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2011

My family stayed here during our trip to the Mall of America. We have 4 children, aged 8, 5, 3, and 2, and got 2 connecting rooms. Each room had 2 double beds and a large pull out sofa. With the connecting doors propped open, it was huge and really comfortable. Plus, it was very convenient to the mall, only a mile away. The price was really reasonable too. A 2 bedroom suite at a nearby hotel would've cost us more than the 2 rooms we stayed in.

Everything was clean and well maintained there. My only complaint is that the bathrooms are tiny! The doors opened inwards and almost hit the toilet. I've been in public restroom stalls that are larger and they don't have tubs in them.

The breakfast that they serve was nice. Lots of fresh fruit, cereal, and bread selections. Plus, for an additional but decent price, the kitchen made us french toast, scrambled eggs, and an omelet that my kids gobbled up. In the evening, after the kids were in their room asleep, my hubby brought us up a couple of glasses of wine from the bar. It made it feel like a vacation for just the 2 of us.

Overall, if we ever decide to make the trip back to the Mall of America, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie-K-Wisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (711)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

626 - 632 of 711 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2011

We live nearby, but wanted to stay at the hotel with two couples from Iowa who wanted to shop at the Mall of America/Ikea. I was the one who made the reservations and wanted to make sure they were comfortable. Comfortable meant clean rooms with king size beds and a good size sitting area with a refrigerator as we get together in one room at night for cocktails. Excellent choice for big rooms with the sink, coffee pot, refrig, ottoman, couch for us to sit around at night and chat. They put us all on the same floor near each other as I requested. Breakfast was very basic, toast, bagels, donuts, cereal, oatmeal and fruit. Anything with eggs you could order for a price. But I knew we basically needed a quick something each morning before we headed out, so that was no big deal for us. Wi Fi was hit and miss in the rooms, I got it ok, but another couple couldn't get on the internet at all and used their computer (the hotel has 2 available in a room downstairs). Equally important, no bedbugs, we all checked after check in and when I was doing research, there were 3 other hotels near the MOA that were on the bed bug registry.
I know when these couples come back into town, they will definitely want to stay there again.

Room Tip: We were on the east side and did not hear noise from 494 or from the airport. Rooms on the 5th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minnes0taSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

No room service, have to go to the bar to pick up your food. Terrible food; chili is apparently from a can with some frozen corn thrown in. Cold, as well. Chef salad has artificial meat, no eggs. Crackers so stale they must have been 2 years old. Refrigerator warm even though set to high. Internet so slow you can log in to their website for the menu, as no menu is provided in the room. Internet not secure; for the first time, I was locked out of facebook, my primary means of keeping in touch with home. Bathroom door looked like it was rotted out. TERRIBLE ODOR in lobby; was told it is their signature aroma. Personally, I like the smell of air, and I am allergic to artificial scents. Flat screen TV picture looked worse than my 20-year-old Sony at home. Channel selection poor: 17 sports channels, 6 news channels, 3 old movie channels, 3 children's channels, 7 rerun channels, no regular network channels, but found PBS. Apparently, they're trying to force you to pay for a movie.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

The rooms are sparkling clean and tidy. The beds and linens are comfortable and fresh. The location is very close to the highway, airport and Mall of America, so you can hear the traffic. We thought the staff was friendly and helpful. I usually stay downtown at the Hyatt Regency, but this is a nice alternative in the suburbs.

Room Tip: The front desk is very friendly and helpful. Away from the highway would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinlucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I am not a picky hotel person other than I like a clean atmosphere and decent staff. We wanted a 2 Queen room but when we checked in were told only king room with pull out was avail. No problem the kids could sleep on the pull out. The hotel was the modern style Hyatt Place is known for but it felt a little worn out - in the lobby - cushions disfigured (cheap foam in the cushions maybe?), stains on fabrics - not bad mind you - just looked 'lived in'. The room was the same - a cracked pane in the room divider glass was fixed with clear packing tape, the baseboards were pulling away from the wall. Bed was very comfortable.
Breakfast - of course was like wild kingdom revisited - which is like any other hotel on the weekend. The fruit was very nonfruit tasting as I believe it was the frozen version that was thawed- not good at all. I didn't get much else to eat as there were lines at the toaster and about anywhere else.
The pool was average nothing too good or bad. Would I stay here again? Yes, if the price was right. If the price was the same as others I may try something else.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

This was our first stay at a Hyatt Place and we will be back!! Very spacious and clean room! Excellent service from staff! We stayed with 2 children and they loved it! The pool isn't overly large but they have pool toys (floating tubes, balls, basketball hoop ect) for the kids which I thought was a nice touch! Good breakfast and shuttle service! Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JessicaHowg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We had stayed at a Hyatt Place hotel once before and had been impressed with the size and quality of the room and this time was no exception. With a large family, you just need a little space when travelling, and these rooms are perfect, with the two queens on one side of the room and a comfy couch bed (not a pull out - this one is super comfortable!), a small table, fridge, two sinks, etc. The set up is very spacious and gives every the much needed room to avoid getting on each other's nerves! The continental breakfast was perfect, the room service excellent and the staff was very attentive. I was most impressed and will definitely be back when we return to Minni!

Room Tip: The rooms have a bit of a living area that is separated from the bedroom -very welcomed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Timber9762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis - St. Paul Airport
0.4 mi away
Hilton Minneapolis/St. Paul Airport Mall of America
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Bloomington-Minneapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Mall of America
1.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Minneapolis-St. Paul Airport/Mall of America
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Minneapolis Airport - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Minneapolis Airport - South

Address: 7800 International Dr, Bloomington, MN 55425-1508 (Formerly AmeriSuites Minneapolis Mall of America)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Bloomington
#14 Family Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range: $115 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Minneapolis Airport - South 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining style and innovation, the Hyatt Place Minneapolis Airport South located in Bloomington offers an array of services and features designed to meet the evolving needs of today's travelers. Featuring spacious guestrooms each with the Hyatt Grand Bed™ and a 42" flat panel HDTV. New Gallery Menu with mouthwatering options including our signature flatbreads, made to order snacks, entrees & much more available 24 hours/7 days a week. Complimentary a.m. Kitchen Skillet™, featuring freshly prepared breakfast sandwiches, steel cut oatmeal, fresh cut fruit, and more is available daily in our Guest Kitchen. Intimate Bakery Café serves Starbucks® specialty coffees & teas, premium beers & wines. Grab 'n Go case offers new sandwiches & greens from our Gallery Menu and bottled beverages for moments on the run. Complimentary Wi-Fi available throughout the hotel24/7 e-room with complimentary computers and a printerComplimentary onsite parkingComplimentary transportation to and from the Minneapolis-St. Paul Airport (MSP) and Mall of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Minneapolis Airport - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Minneapolis Airport - South Hotel Bloomington
Hyatt Place Bloomington
Hyatt Bloomington
Bloomington Hyatt
Hyatt Place Minneapolis Airport - South Bloomington, MN, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing