We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time to raise the bar..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bloomington West
Ranked #32 of 43 Hotels in Bloomington
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at this Hampton for 4 days, and I was honestly a little frustrated with some things of our stay. One of the positives notes was the housekeeping, rooms were clean, and serviced well each day. My issues started as we arrived. There was no parking...see this property rents parking to airport flyers, well while I applaud the owner for looking to extra income, they have oversold the lot. Each night we found no place to park, except for a neighbor restaurant, but were left wondering if we'd be towed as the lot was clearly marked. Also on the exterior, they have really poor conditions with thick ice everywhere. I understand its winter in MN, but it's not excusable to have thick dangerous ice everywhere...salt or ice melt maybe?? We watched people slip daily..I can't believe the owner would risk the liability. Next on check in, it was a rushed check in, not the typical friendly Hampton Experience. They have a sign welcoming all the HHonors members, yet our name was missing.. We inquired about warm cookies, and were told they only do that every now and again....really? Our first impression on the room did not meet what we expected by reading that they were newly renovated. Although clean, it was older looking, but so small. The bathroom was only the length of the tub, and that is just too small. It's one thing if you are paying a lower rate, but when you pay a Hampton rate, I feel you should get a little more, and a mini room gave me a sour taste. Next issue, we were late rising each day, and as such did not leave until around noon. Well each day we had a note saying housekeeping had been there, seen our do not disturb sign, so passed on our room. It said we could call the front desk should we need any supplies. We did call and request a service, which they did do, I was just bugged at the note everyday. I don't think they should leave notes until later in the day prior to the staff leaving for the day. On checkout the bill never arrived under the door like most do. Overall not a good Hampton experience at all, not bad, just not a Hampton experience. I really don't know that I would stay at this property again. It seems like one where an owner is not as involved as they should be, or a GM not doing his job. I'm not saying its a bad place, it's not, it's just not what Hampton has built with their brand. I think had there not been so many little things, I wouldn't have cared about others, but when you start to add up all the little things, it ruins the experience as a guest.

Room Tip: Bathrooms are very very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asphaltman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James V, Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bloomington West, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

I want to thank you for your detailed feedback about your recent stay with us. I apologize that we did not live up to our high standards of service. We have been battling the parking lot conditions. With the way the snow, rain, freezing rain and then snow again has made it a challenge to keep the parking lot clear of ice buildup. This winter we have had an unusually high number of guests using our Park and Fly program. We have addressed the issue and have reduced the number that can stay at one time. We are very thankful that our neighbors will allow our guests to use their lot; I do apologize for the inconvenience. We do realize that with the hotel being built in the 80’s it is in need of some updating. With the building being older it was designed with smaller bathrooms, why they designed them like this I don’t know. We want to give our guests every opportunity to receive housekeeping service. To do that our housekeepers slide the note under the door for rooms that have requested no service as soon as they see the sign. This gives the guest time to let us know that they would like service before housekeeping leaves for the day. We deliver the receipts between 3:00 am and 4:00 am. Your bill should have been slid under your door the morning that you were scheduled to check out. The only time that we would not deliver a receipt is if you made your reservation and paid through a third party, like Priceline or Hotwire. Your review will be a teaching tool for our staff. Thank you again for taking the time to wright a review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (346)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 346 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013

We had a flight out of MSP and didn't want to drive the three hours to the airport and then spend more time waiting and flying. So I found Hampton Inn online that offers their Park and Fly option. It's great for us and we'll be using them every time we need to fly! The breakfast had many selections (egg omelet with ham, onions and red peppers was delicious) and the fresh fruit was a hit with our five year old. The great breakfast was substantial and helped to keep us sustained until we reached our destination (and no, we're not fans of airport food!). The shuttle drivers were friendly, personable and even helped us remove the snow from our car before leaving! We'll be seeing you on our next vacation!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Wow, stuck with blizzard in Minneapolis Airport till tomorrow. Called Hampton Inn they got me in, sent a shuttle to get me. Superior room, recently remodeled. Bar and bar snacks available next door. Great staff, friendly, knowledgeable, accommodating and helpful on all counts.

Room Tip: Coffee maker is hidden behind bathroom door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kurt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Like most Hampton Inns today, this one gives a business traveler all of the necessities. It's 5 minutes to the airport, and for those that are interested, convenient to the Mall of America. The only downside, is there aren't a lot of restaurants really nearby, so you'll need a car to go out for meals.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We have been coming here for the last 7 seven years to shop at the nearby Mall of America. The staff are the most helpful and welcoming you could wish for. Nothing is too much trouble - they take us to the Mall everyday in their minibus even though its for airport runs and help us with our numerous shopping bags. Room only the brochure says - but breakfast is there anyway which has everything to set you up for the day. Use of the computer is handy to print off our money-off coupons. Rooms are large with the best beds ever! Wonderful all round.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 321Debbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This hotel was under construction and I still have no complaints. The staff was very very helpful, fun and friendly - especially the 2 Tony's. We didn't have to wait for the shuttle coming back from the airport at all - which doesn't happen very often. The beds were comfortable, the breakfast are like all others and the hotel was clean.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mccarthykris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was a really nice Hampton Inn. We got a suite with a pullout couch. The bed and the couch were both comfortable. The rooms were also large and roomy. There is nothing extravagant about the place, but it's conveniently located, close to public transportation and the Mall of America and the airport. Perfect for crashing for a night before catching the plane early next morning.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
Thank labrt2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bloomington West
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington W
1 mi away
Hampton Inn Minneapolis Bloomington West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
GuestHouse Inn-Bloomington
GuestHouse Inn-Bloomington
#37 of 43 in Bloomington
936 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bloomington W MSP Airport Area
1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bloomington West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bloomington West

Address: 4201 American Blvd W, Bloomington, MN 55437-1120 (Formerly Hampton Inn Minneapolis)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 43 Hotels in Bloomington
Price Range: $65 - $483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bloomington West 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AmericInn Bloomington West hotel is conveniently in the heart of Bloomington, near the Southdale Mall. We are located near several major Interstates including I-494, I-35W, and Highway 62/212. Our Bloomington hotel is just ten minutes from Minneapolis / St Paul International Airport and only five minutes from the Mall of America in a major business district close to many corporations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bloomington West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington (Airport Area) Hotel Bloomington
Hampton Inn Bloomington
Bloomington Hampton Inn
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bloomington West MN, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing