We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Northwood Inn and Suites
Ranked #43 of 43 Hotels in Bloomington
Lincoln, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“not worth the money”
Reviewed August 27, 2006

The pictures are misleading, the hotel has a small nice section with the pool and a few rooms on top. You will probably stay in one of the numerous run down rooms. Our toilet wasn't even stationary, it had a huge wobble, back and forth, and it smelled like it wasn't sealed on the bottom as well. Add that to the fact that the AC did not work very good (if at all) and you get the picture. The rooms are very small, the bathroom door had a huge, crooked gap, dirty all around, etc. I'm easy going, but in retrospect, I should have demanded my money back. Do yourself a big favor and spend an extra twenty bucks somewhere else.

  • Liked — close to mall of america
  • Disliked — it is a dump
  • Tips/Secrets — do not stay here
  • Stayed July 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigRedReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    27
    12
    17
    59
See reviews for
46
29
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Green Isle, Minnesota
Level Contributor
102 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2006

We stayed here one night in April 2005. The pics they show of the motel are misleading, they are of a small, newer addition. There is an older section to this motel and we were placed there. The room had a fairly comfortable, though soft king bed and we had internet access. The room was so cramped though we could barely move around, and only one person at a time could walk past the end of the bed to the bathroom, it was that tight. The bed took up most of the room. There was a refrigerator in the room but it did nott keep things cold and the microwave didn't work either. The neighborhood is seedy...and I saw no signs of security at this motel. The person at the front desk barely spoke English...very hard to understand. The room was clean though and I would stay there again if there was no other alternative.

  • Stayed April 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank flowerladytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 1, 2004

My stay at the Travelodge was less than perfect. I found the rooms to be old, the bathroom was less than clean and the carpet was worn and in need of replacement. The a/c and TV worked fine. The beds were far from comfortable.
Words of advice: if you make your reservation thru the internet or Travelodge's 800 number, keep your confirmation number and/or print out your confirmation notice. It took me nearly 20 minutes to check-in, as there was confusion about the low rate I booked via the internet. The clerk tried to charge me more than $10 night higher than the price I was confirmed at...not good. Plus, his accent was hard to understand and that made for an unpleasant experience from the start. The other front desk help was friendly, at least. Also, the motel provides FREE airport transportation (via a taxi service), but no free rides to the Mall of America. It's close, but a hike, especially if you are carrying packages. Most motels in the are provide a shuttle bus, but not at Travelodge. For the money, I was not impressed. Also, the area around the motel was not the greatest. I did not see any security whatsoever at night. My reccomendation is to look elsewhere for lodging while in the Bloomington area.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 9, 2003

We looked in to this hotel monts ago. We called but the message sounded like a home phone. We called Information. They told aboun the Travelodge in St. Paul. The St. Paul one is dirty and 20 Min. to the mall of america. This is 1/2 Mile to the mall. It was very clean. I would stay there again!

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bloomington
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#34 of 43 in Bloomington
506 reviews
0.1 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bloomington East - Airport
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Bloomington by Mall of America
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Airport Mall of America
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Bloomington by Mall of America
4.5 mi away
Days Inn Bloomington West
Days Inn Bloomington West
#41 of 43 in Bloomington
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northwood Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northwood Inn and Suites

Property: Northwood Inn and Suites
Address: 1225 E 78th St, I-494, Exit 3, Bloomington, MN 55425-1064
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 43 Hotels in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Northwood Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Northwood Inn and suites Bloomington! The Mall of America is 1 mile from the Northwood Inn & suites for numerous shopping, dining and entertainment venues. Northwood Inn and suites is four miles from Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport and offers comfortable accommodations while having a central location near the region's main attractions. Guest services include 24-hour attendant, free parking, indoor heated pool, business services and a complimentary continental breakfast. Rooms feature complimentary wireless Internet access, microwave and refrigerator. Dining options near the motel include Denny's, Split Rock Grille, Shells Café and Outback Steakhouse. The Water Park of America is three blocks from the motel featuring the largest indoor water park in America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Northwood Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northwood Hotel Bloomington
Bloomington Travel Lodge
Bloomington Travelodge
Travelodge Bloomington
Travel Lodge Bloomington
Northwood Inn And Suites Bloomington, MN, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing