We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Place with Great Shuttle Service! Free Cookies!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 10, 2006

I would have given this hotel an "Excellent" score, but I waited over an hour for a towel and never received it. On the second attempt, I finally did get the towel. Otherwise, it was a very nice place.

It is very close to the Mall of America, but you do have to do some walking to get to the doors of the South entrance. We took the shuttle the first day, but walked the second because we had just missed the shuttle.

The best part of the hotel was the nice gentleman who drove the shuttle. He was very pleasant and prompt about picking us up at the airport and dropping/picking up at the Mall of America.

The breakfast buffet was good, and there were free cookies in the lobby all day long.

The room (King Suite) was nice, but a bit narrow. If you have a rollaway or an aero bed, it barely fits between the walls in the hallway. There was a soda machine right outside my door as well as one in the lobby and probably more, which I love. The TGI Fridays and IHOP are attached to the hotel and just down the hall. We didn't use the indoor pool, but only because we were short on time. It looked ok.

All in all, a good hotel. I would definately recommend to families going to the Mall of America.

2  Thank Kensethfan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,053)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,020 - 2,026 of 2,053 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
217
Reviewed April 22, 2006

This hotel was absolutely wonderful!!!! The staff is very willing to help in any way they can!!! They helped with directions to numerous locations and were very familiar with the area. The mall right across the street is so convenient, you can just walk across the street. If your tired when you are done shopping like I was you can take a shuttle back to the hotel. The rooms had just had some renovations done to them and were great. They were very clean which is a big trigger for me. They had apples, candy and cookies in the lobby. They have 2 pools and two whirlpools, in-room games and movies and TGI Fridays and I-hop attached right to the hotel. I asked for some extra blankets and they were brought right away.

Overall this is a great hotel and I recommend it to all my friends and family, we actually have booked another trip back in July!!!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2006

Excellent hotel!!
It is just across the road from the Mall of America.
They provide a free shuttle there every hour, but I never used it as its only a 4 minute walk.
Staff there were very friendly and helped with every request I asked for.
The rooms were excellent!
A free breakfast buffet is included in the price which was good.
You also have a IHOP next door open 24hrs and also a TGI Fridays joined onto the hotel.
Overall, its an excellent hotel, will be staying here again for definite when I go back.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Thomas758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2006

We stayed for 3 nts over spring break. The rooms are small but clean. They have 2 pools (the size of postage stamps), placed next to each other. No frills and VERY crowded. When crowded, the pools don't seem safe for smaller kids. Due to the crowds and one of the pools being closed for 2 days during our stay, our kids did'nt get a chance to go swimming.

The staff is VERY friendly and willing to do anything for you! The location is great! TGI Fridays and IHOP are attached to the hotel which is nice. The included "continental" breakfast is standard. The belgium waffles are a nice addition.

We had a nice time, but I think the hotel is overpriced for what they have to offer. If this hotel were priced under $100 I would stay again, otherwise, I'd find somewhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bon33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2006

I booked the Country Inn after reading the reviews here, and I must say we were disappointed in the place. While we did not have a terrible stay, there's no way that this hotel should go for over $100 per night. Other than its location, that is.

Many of our complaints had to do with the shuttle service. First, we waited at the airport for 30 extra minutes because the shuttle went to the wrong terminal. The driver blamed it on a new front desk person.

For the rest of the weekend we had more problems. The shuttle is supposed to leave on the hour. The 10:00 Am shuttle showed up at 10:10, and only had enough seats for half the people. The rest waited another 10 minutes for the driver to return. We waited again to be picked up at the mall, and finally gave up and took a cab home.

Our last day, we should have been picked up at the mall at 2:00, and another shuttle was then supposed to take us to the airport at 2:20. At 2:15 we gave up and took a cab again, and had the cab take us to the airport. The front desk staff apologized, and blamed it on spring break and the NCAA BB tournament. I blame them, since they shouldn't have been surprised by it.

The room itself was VERY ordinary, the pullout was uncomfortable and the facilities were pretty plain, all things considered. At the price we paid I expected much more. Its location was the only saving grace, and with all the dead time waiting for the shuttle, they wasted that advantage too.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank cAPSlOCKon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Raleigh, NC
113
Reviewed December 5, 2005

The Country Inn and Suites was across the street from the Mall of America and an easy and safe walk to the Mall. They also have shuttle service to the Mall but it really isn't necessary unless the weather is bad. The shuttle service from the airport was great. The shuttle had just dropped someone off at the airport so we didn't have to wait to be picked up. The hotel room was clean and spacious. The staff was courteous and informative. The breakfast buffet was delicious. My favorite part of the trip was the fresh baked cookies in the lobby - 24 hours a day! I highly recommend this hotel and would certainly stay there again.

13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Chicago
111
Reviewed November 20, 2005

The only reason for writing this is to tell you about the great coffee they serve here. Isnt that a good reason to write a review!! If you like great wonderful tasting coffee in the morning, stay at this place. I would leave Starbucks for this. They also serve the donuts and standard fare.

Otherwise, this is a fine hotel. Three restaurants next door (IHOP, mexican and a burger joint), of course the Mall, and lots of parking. I assume the selling point is proximity to the Mall, into which you could practically fall into from this hotel.

The suites are nice, but the beds are average. I am spoiled by the Starwood Heavenly Beds. The Marriott on the other side of the Mall has an excellent dining room for steaks and upscale eating--really good eats and service.

Overall the price is too high for what you get even considering the coffee! I may go back to the Marriott for the same price (which is also next to the Mall), or try another suites hotel nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Mall of America
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Bloomington Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis - St. Paul Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hyatt Place Minneapolis Airport - South
0.4 mi away
JW Marriott Minneapolis Mall of America
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Minneapolis - Mall of America
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America

Address: 2221 Killebrew Dr, Bloomington, MN 55425-1881
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bloomington
#2 Business Hotel in Bloomington
#2 Family Hotel in Bloomington
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range: $113 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America is a hotel with a perfect location for your next business trip or family vacation. Amenities include: complimentary hot breakfast buffet, complimentary high speed internet, two heated indoor pools, services like a fitness center, and a free shuttle to both Mall of America and Minneapolis - St.Paul International Airport. The location is perfect as the hotel is located next next door to the world-renowned Mall of America. Also, the light rail is only steps away making it easy for guests to explore the attractions of the downtown Minneapolis or other Twin Cities attractions. The Minnesota Zoo, Fort Snelling, Target Field and the Science Museum of Minnesota are just a few other top spots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites At Mall Of America Hotel Bloomington
Country Inn And Suites At Mall Of America
Country Inn Bloomington
Bloomington Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington At Mall Of America MN, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing