We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
592 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Very comfortable hotel”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This hotel seems to have been refurbished lately with
large ,comfortable rooms. Our room consisted of the
bedroom and a living room with microwave,
small refrigerator, and coffee maker. Cannot
forget to mention the free parking and free wifi
(which is a very very slow).
The personnel at the front desk were always very
helpful .
It is in a great location across the street from the
Mall of America . Next door to an IHop and a Fridays.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank syan0vich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JodieLG, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us. I'm so glad you liked our rooms and the service we offer. I apologize that you experienced slow Wi-Fi during your stay. We should have more than sufficient speed and bandwidth for any demand, so I shared your feedback with our vendor. They are monitoring the Wi-Fi service to ensure something like you described doesn't happen again. Thank you for making me aware of the situation. Please contact me directly if you ever need assistance with anything while you are staying with us. Sincerely, Jodie Grannes, 952-646-2800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,218
    438
    133
    32
    31
See reviews for
991
242
65
325
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I had a great stay at this hotel. The room was great considering my family and I barely stayed in the room. What's great is there is an iHop and TGIF Fridays in the hotel. One night it rained cats, dogs and bullfrogs and lucky for us we didn't have to go outside to grab a meal and some drinks. The staff was very friendly. The mall is right across the street and the Metro train is within walking distance too. The shuttle bus was efficient and on schedule. The driver was great, he was very friendly and informative.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelMama126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JodieLG, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review regarding our hotel on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate the positive feedback and I'm thrilled you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for listing so many of our features and amenities, as well. I know your fellow travelers to the area will appreciate your detailed, first hand account of your experience with us. Sincerely, Jodie Grannes 952-646-2800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I took my two teen daughters age 16 and my two younger daughters ages 2,9 to MOA and we stayed at Country Inn & Suites since it is directly accross the street from the mall. When I checked in AJ was awesome very informative and the hotel is very clean. I was impressed just walking inside. Once to our room we all loved how big our Queen suite was. Everything was great with our room, housekeeping is awesome. The next day at breakfast was amazing they had alot to choose from hot items as well as cold. This is one of the best complimentary breakfast I have had and I travel very year and this is the best! The attendants keep the breafast stocked.
Everyone that worked at this hotel during my stay was great! This is an awesome staff and keep up the good work with your Customer Service because that is really hard to find!!! I will definitly stay here again!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A1maui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JodieLG, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
What a delightful review to read! I shared your feedback with AJ and the rest of my team and you made their day. They all strive to make every guest feel welcomed and appreciated, so it means a great deal to all of us when we hear wonderful comments like yours. I'm so glad you had a good experience with our hotel and I hope you'll be back to see us again. If you wouldn't mind introducing yourself, I would welcome the opportunity to meet you in person. Best regards, Jodie Grannes 952-646-2800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
84 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my family after a long day of traveling. We called to see if they had availability and the front desk agents were very friendly and helpful. The shuttle could run a little faster but that is the only thing that I would recommend improvement on. The property is clean and well leaked out. The two restaurants on premises is nice and stall at those are just as friendly as the hotel. The hotel room walls are thick, we did not hear hallway or neighbor noise. The wifi is fast and free. The water pressure is also good and everything was in working order. Unfortunately I did not try the free breakfast due to an early flight. I would definitely recommend and stay again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank bmoregirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JodieLG, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. I'm sure your fellow travelers to the area will appreciate your detailed description of our amenities. I'm sorry you weren't able to take advantage of our complimentary breakfast. Please let us know if need to leave early again and we'll be happy to set you up with a to-go bag with some packaged breakfast items. Sincerely, Jodie Grannes, 952-646-2800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Our stay was great!! The service was excellent!! Our spring break was relaxing and comfortable!! The breakfast in the morning was always hot and fresh. My kid loved the chocolate chip cookies left in the lobby every evening! Would recommend this hotel to anyone with kids. Right across the street from the mall. Very convenient!

Room Tip: •"Corner suites are large and sunny" •"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayfromilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JodieLG, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your experience with our hotel on Trip Advisor. We're thrilled to see we played a part in making great memories of your family's spring break vacation. I'm sure other traveler's to the area will appreciate your description of our breakfast, location and the complimentary cookies. We hope to see you again when you're in our area. Sincerely, Jodie Grannes 952-646-2800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We drove from Saskatchewan down to the Mall of America for a few days of shopping! We thorougly enjoyed our stay from check-in to check-out at this hotel. All staff, from the front desk to housekeeping to kitchen staff, were extremely friendly, polite and helpful, at the ready to help you with your any need. The free breakfast included in our stay was the best we have come across in our travels and lots of room to accommodate many people at a time. After our stay we filled out a survey. We brought a couple of items we thought might be improved upon. Shortly thereafter we received an email from the hotel stating that they did the improvements we suggested. Kudos to the entire staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vonna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JodieLG, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
What a delightful review to see! I'm so glad you had a positive experience with us. Thank you again for your feedback in our survey. We are always grateful to hear guest recommendations. We strive to be the first choice for anyone traveling to the area, so we continually look for ways to improve. The voice of our customers is the best way for us to know where to focus our attention. Thank you again and I hope to meet you in person during your next visit. Sincerely, Jodie Grannes, 952-646-2800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
90 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Country Inn and Suites are typically pretty much the same wherever you travel, and that is a good thing. One knows what to expect and the accommodations are affordable. I have to say I have never before in my travels experienced such rude and uncaring staff at any Carlson property. In addition to this review, I will also be writing a letter to Carlson properties as it is a chain I typically trust, but this one shakes that trust.
Upon check in, I tried to ask a few questions. The woman checking me in acted like she was bothered by me taking any amount of her time, and given the jacket color being different than the other employees, I think she was management. Perhaps this is why the tone of poor customer service is set for the other employees?
Usually, a desk person will say something akin to , "may we swipe a credit card for incidentals", or similar. Not at this Carlson. At the end of our very brief interaction she thrust her hand out and demanded simply "credit card?!"
Wow.
Moving along - I asked about airport shuttles and shuttles to mall of America. After shooting me an annoyed look, she said "All shuttles are by the East door at the top of the hour. You already missed it" In fairness, the Mall of America is only about a two block walk so no problems there. I walked. In the rain.
The room was nice. Comfortable bed, clean room. A bit outdated, but not in a run down way. I requested a room far from the elevator to reduce noise and sleep disturbance which they did.
Later that night, I called downstairs (frankly hoping for someone other than the rude woman with whom I interacted earlier) and requested a wake up call, and a shuttle to the airport. I was clear that I had to leave no later than 6 A.M. to ensure making my flight since I was told it was a 15 minute ride to the airport.
I was told by a man that I was the only one going on the shuttle at that time so no worries, it would be there waiting for me at the east entrance at the appointed hour.
Imagine my complete surprise when I approached the desk at 6:06 A.M. asking about the airport shuttle and was told, "it already left. sorry. Shall I call you a cab?" Since I was already told I was the only one scheduled for the shuttle and a shuttle bus was parked outside, I have reason to disbelieve it was ever actually there at the east or west entrance. The man also said, the AIRPORT shuttle leaves from the west entrance- the others leave from the east entrance.
The man called a cab (Gold Star) which arrived 5 minutes later. As I was throwing my bags in the cab, obviously anxious to leave, the cab driver began to exit the vehicle. I said, I loaded everything - lets go. He seemed put off that he would be unable to go into the hotel and partake of the free breakfast, and said as much as he got settled back into the cab.
I did make the flight, but only because I had allowed for an extra half hour just in case".
The property itself is fine. Two pools, a hot tub that is fairly large, and nice touches throughout like flowers on a table near elevators.
The staff didn't communicate well with each other or guests (I overheard a few others complaining as well) and seemed annoyed when approached by guests.
Despite the advertised timely "free shuttle" to the airport, sometimes you get what you pay for. In my case, it cost me an extra $18.60 for a cab.
The staff is not caring about ensuring the customer gets what they were promised.
There are restauarnts galore close by, but I would have to encourage readers to choose another chain until they get this staff issue worked out.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere if you have any time sensitive issues like making a flight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjdilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JodieLG, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. On behalf of my entire team, I apologize for the negative impression we gave you. Your feedback provided a training opportunity for us and I appreciate you bringing the matters to my attention. I'd like the opportunity to make it right for you and I'm hoping you'll contact me at your earliest convenience. Sincerely, Jodie Grannes, 952-646-2800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Mall of America
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Bloomington Hotel
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Minneapolis - Mall of America
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Bloomington-Minneapolis
0.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites Minneapolis Mall of America
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis - St. Paul Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America
Address: 2221 Killebrew Dr, Bloomington, MN 55425-1881
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bloomington
#2 Business Hotel in Bloomington
#2 Family Hotel in Bloomington
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America is a hotel with a perfect location for your next business trip or family vacation. Amenities include: complimentary hot breakfast buffet, complimentary high speed internet, two heated indoor pools, services like a fitness center, and a free shuttle to both Mall of America and Minneapolis - St.Paul International Airport. The location is perfect as the hotel is located next next door to the world-renowned Mall of America. Also, the light rail is only steps away making it easy for guests to explore the attractions of the downtown Minneapolis or other Twin Cities attractions. The Minnesota Zoo, Fort Snelling, Target Field and the Science Museum of Minnesota are just a few other top spots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites At Mall Of America Hotel Bloomington
Country Inn And Suites At Mall Of America
Country Inn Bloomington
Bloomington Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington At Mall Of America MN, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing