We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for MOA get-away!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Taylorsville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Perfect for MOA get-away!”
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Stayed here for a MOA get-away with my 10-year old. We flew in, and didn't even have to rent a car, thanks to the hotel's location and shuttle service to both the mall and airport. We walked to and from the mall (just across the street) all except once -- and were glad for the shuttle that once because our feet were sore after a full day at Nickolodean Universe in the mall. The two pools and two whirlpools were a nice amenity; usually, families/children were in one pool/whirlpool, and older adults in the other set. There's no such designation on them, but that's just how it worked out the few days we were there. The included breakfast was sufficient, with continental plus rotating hot items that seem to be standard fare at most "breakfast-included" hotels (pre-made egg dishes, sausage patties, and the like). We ate at both attached restaurants: IHOP and TGI Fridays. We appreciated having a choice of restaurants attached right to our hotel. The suites are truly two-room with a real door, not just a glass divider or french doors. This allowed my child to go to bed and close the door, while I could stay up later in the living room. One note about the in-room game console: When you purchase one hour of game time, it means one hour from the time of purchase -- not one hour of play time with "come and go" privileges. Our room, pool area, and all the premises were clean and pleasant. Service was friendly, from the front desk to the breakfast servers. We absolutely would stay here again on a Mall of America trip.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JodieLG, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Dear HappyFamily005,

What a wonderful description of your experience with our hotel! I really appreciate you sharing your comments with fellow travelers to the area. Firsthand knowledge like yours is credible information for me and potential guests looking at hotels in the area. I'm very happy to know our staff members were friendly and our hotel was clean. I hope you'll be back to visit us again. Please contact me at the number below if I can be of assistance with a future reservation. Thank you again for taking the time to post a review on our hotel.

Sincerely,

Jodie Grannes
952-646-2800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,215
    438
    133
    32
    31
See reviews for
990
241
65
325
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2011

The staff was great, the hotel was clean, the room was great, nothing bad about this hotel. Would stay there again and tell others about it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JodieLG, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Dear Jacward,

Thank you very much for your personal endorsement of our hotel. I'mso glad you had agood experience while you were here and I appreciate your positive feedback. It's always nice to hear that our hotel is clean, the staff and rooms are great. I hope you'll be able to visit us again when your travels bring you back to the area.

Thank you again,

Jodie Grannes
952-646-2800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Kansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We have been to the Mall of America several times, and each time we stay in a different hotel. We've stayed in the nicely remodeled Best Western Plus and the family friendly Mall of America Waterpark, but as nice as those places were the customer service left us less than satisfied. On this last visit we tried Country Inn & Suites mainly because of the close location and shuttle service. We were not disappointed. In fact, it was so close we never used mall shuttle, only the airport shuttle. The best part was the AWESOME customer service. The front desk staff, shuttle drivers, and cleaning staff were ALL friendly and helpful. We were treated like guests in their home! Pierre, at the front desk, was full of energy! We all enjoyed his warm welcome and friendly visits as we came and went during our stay. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alh5908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JodieLG, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Dear ALH5900,

Thank you very much for sharing your impressions of our hotel on Trip Advisor. It's wonderful to hear that the customer service in our hotel is the deciding factor when choosing a hotel in our area. I'm very proud of the team wehave and I'm very glad they were courteous and accommodating while you were staying with us. I shared your comments with Pierre and I know you made his day! Please let me know when you'll be back in our area and I'd be happy to assist with your reservations. Thank you again for the glowing endorsement of our hotel.

Sincerely,

Jodie Grannes
952-646-2800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Breakfast is included in the guest rate - they do a great job with the breakfast. Wide variety. Indoor Pool - I wish it was outdoors when I was there, but I am sure the guest appreicate the indoor pool in the winter!
Their van driver will take you to the mall or you can walk. Very friendly staff!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbn46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JodieLG, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Thank you very much for your positive feedback and comments. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on our hotel and I hope you'll be back to stay with us again when your travels bring you back to the area.

Jodie Grannes
[--]
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We didn't stay here because of the proximity to MOA, but it was right across the street from it. Everything was stupendous about this hotel. The breakfast area is very accomodating and spacious. The food selection was varied and choices were many. The hotel has a TGIF and IHOP attached for additional options. There are two smaller indoor pools and two spas in the same pool area---different but allowed for separation of guests.

I thought about withholding a star for the hotel's very poor door card reader system (you had to get the speed, motion just right for the reader to recognize your card. Very finicky system that caused us a bit of frustration getting into our rooms (same experience on two rooms). Anyways, I'm giving a pass on this since everything else about the hotel and our stay was 5 stars.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 1-spidermonkey-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JodieLG, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Dear Mr. Hirscher,

Thank you very much for your nice comments. We really appreciate the positive feedback. I apologize for the problem with the key reader. I'm sure it was very frustrating and I apologize for the inconvenience this must have caused you. I will check with the vendor to see if they have a remedy for the symptoms you described. I hope you'll be back to stay with us again very soon.

Sincerely, Jodie Grannes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
96 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

The entire staff was friendly and positive. Always with a smile. The rooms were very clean and well lit. Room service was from the TGI Fridays next door and it was delicious and the woman who took the order was great as was the young man who brought it. We stayed here a couple of nights as we visited the State Fair. The first night we ate at the IHOP which is also attached to the hotel. Fantastic service from the manager named Mo and all who worked there. This is a great location. We will stay here again for sure. Great free breakfast.

Room Tip: Great location, great staff!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank behindeverycloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JodieLG, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Thank you very much for the wonderful endorsement. I'm so glad you had a good experience with our hotel. I will share your comments with Mo and I know you will make his day! I hope you'll be back very soon to stay with us again.

Regards, Jodie Grannes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Was extremely pleased with this hotel, location was perfect for access to the Mall of America and also the light rail to get us back and forth to the Metrodome. Check in was really quick and our room was very adequate. And I must say these are the most comfortable beds that I have ever experienced at a hotel. We did enjoy the IHOP being connected to the hotel so that we could take in some food after the football game. My only disappointment was the continental breakfast, very little available had to wait for them to bring out more and then was not many options. But money saved on the price of the hotel paid for a good breakfast at IHOP.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hello953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JodieLG, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Thank you very muck for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I'm happy to know you had a good experience with us, but I do apologize that the breakfast was less than satisfactory for you. We have new processes in place that help facilitate the large quantities of food we sometimes need to prepare, so I hope you will try us again. Hopefully, you won't have to wait for any of the hot items to be cooked!

Thank you again for your nice feedback, Jodie Grannes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Mall of America
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Bloomington Hotel
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Minneapolis - Mall of America
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Bloomington-Minneapolis
0.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites Minneapolis Mall of America
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis - St. Paul Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America
Address: 2221 Killebrew Dr, Bloomington, MN 55425-1881
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bloomington
#2 Business Hotel in Bloomington
#2 Family Hotel in Bloomington
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America is a hotel with a perfect location for your next business trip or family vacation. Amenities include: complimentary hot breakfast buffet, complimentary high speed internet, two heated indoor pools, services like a fitness center, and a free shuttle to both Mall of America and Minneapolis - St.Paul International Airport. The location is perfect as the hotel is located next next door to the world-renowned Mall of America. Also, the light rail is only steps away making it easy for guests to explore the attractions of the downtown Minneapolis or other Twin Cities attractions. The Minnesota Zoo, Fort Snelling, Target Field and the Science Museum of Minnesota are just a few other top spots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites At Mall Of America Hotel Bloomington
Country Inn And Suites At Mall Of America
Country Inn Bloomington
Bloomington Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington At Mall Of America MN, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing