We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveler rating
13
7
5
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
7
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tennis courts gas fireplace great golf small deck ski slopes fall colors burnt onion bike trail beautiful view of the lake swimming pool giants ridge full kitchen living room quarry silverware unit lodge
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 27 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2016 via mobile

My family of 6 adults rented a 3 BR, including a loft, during the holidays. With one exception our stay was wonderful. The wifi was very slow and sometimes not working. So if fast constant wifi is required maybe the villas aren't for you.

The kitchen had good knives, Calphalon cookware, and plenty of extra dishes, glasses and silverware for when we had guests. We made good use of the nice vacuum. I appreciated the Aveda sample products In the bathrooms. Each room had its own temperature control which was nice. The gas fireplace operated quickly and cleanly, as expected. The couch, oversized chairs, and good lighting made our main room very comfortable. Beds were comfortable. Extra towels were found in the closet.

We love these villas because you can cross country ski right out the door. And you can downhill ski to just across the road from the villas so it is easy to ski home for lunch or at the end of the day.

We had no interactions with the staff and no problems with check in or check out. The staff frequently shoveled and salted our steps and sidewalks as needed.

It would be nice if recycling were provided, even in the parking lot, if not near the trash bin outside our door. We ended up packing to take home all our recycling. Kind of messy.

One other unpleasant surprise was that there is no fitness center at the lodge. Some of our group did use the lodge pool and hot tub.

Stayed: January 2016, traveled with family
1  Thank Mmgoo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2015

The Villas condo was very roomy (facilitated 3 other couples with privacy) with a fantastic view of Wynn Lake. The immediate area is beautiful. We were there in November so no golfing on those amazing golf courses (Quarry and Legends) but ran the golf cart trails to really appreciate those courses. Hiked parts of the Masabi Trail. This resort is well kept and absolutely no complaints. We would go back in a heart beat. thanks

  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled with family
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Armed Forces Vacation Club
Thank jtimthom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2015

Our family occupied three villas and one of the one-bedroom suites. All units were well appointed with fully stocked kitchens. The units were very clean. The layout takes advantage of the beautiful view of the lake - we had a lovely deck overlooking the lake. There is a sand beach, a swimming pool, and lots of walking paths. The lawns were huge and allowed us to gather for our reunion dinners and games. I look forward to visiting the villas in the winter and taking advantage of the cross-country ski trails. The staff was very friendly and helpful during booking, check-in, and departure.

Room Tip: The one-room suites have common walls, and you may hear some noise from other units.
  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2015

Attended a three day family reunion in late July. The accommodations worked out perfectly for our large group. We had three villas and one of the one bedroom units near the pool. The kitchens were well equipped for preparing group meals. There were plenty of activities for ages 3 - 70. Swimming, golf, boating, Bon fires, biking. Only wish we could have stayed longer. Perfect venue for large groups.

Stayed: July 2015, traveled with family
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2015 via mobile

We have stayed in the Villas at Giants Ridge for 5 years straight for the 4th of July. Overall, we enjoy the experience. The setting is gorgeous along Lake Wynne with the ski slopes and Embarrass River all around us. The amenities are great with pool, hot tub, tennis courts, water craft (canoes, paddle boats, kayaks, stand up paddle boards, etc.) The kids and adults all have a great time.
There are some cons, certainly. We were disappointed this year that GR no longer offers recycling. The villas are also inconsistent. Some desperately need to be updated, while others are modern and great. 803 is big and nicely updated.

Stayed: July 2015, traveled with family
Thank Spinx12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasGR, Manager at Villas at Giants Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort!
We are so happy that you enjoyed holiday vacation and hope to see you again very soon!
Thank you for your input regarding updates and such - we are in the process of correcting this!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews