We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Minnesota " not so nice....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lodge at Giant's Ridge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Biwabik
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Minnesota " not so nice....”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

The saying "Minnesota nice" does not apple here. We recently just stayed for 2 nights with our family and the front desk people were rude when we checked in, the housekeeping staff were extremely rude and ignored me while I was standing right in front of her, the gal at the ski shop was put out that she had to get off her chair and help us in getting our lift tickets, so overall pretty dissapointed since the room and everything was NOT cheap! The room itself was nice except the bed was slanted and the room was FREEZING. The lobby was pretty dirty and they seemed to be understaffed. We have stayed here before and it was not this bad, not sure if we will stay again. I don't expect my butt to be kissed just cuz I spent a lot of money but some common courtesy sure would have been appreciated.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Steph128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    38
    21
    16
    14
See reviews for
58
35
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Arrived here to cross country ski for a few days. This place is awesome. The trails are great and they have several for all abilities. The room is nicely appointed with a whirlpool and gas fireplace in the bedroom. The food is awesome as is the service and its reasonably priced. They have a decent workout room and a great spa. I had a terrific massage from Ann .I can't speak for the downhill sking but people look like they are having fun. The only downside and its not a huge deal is that they need to keep the lobby up a bit better. If they would run a vacume around it would improve the look so much. I'm happy to be here and I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbbeyD07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

We stayed here during the first week of January 2012, for 4 nights. We definitely wanted to stay slope-side, so this was really the only choice. Fortunately, we were quite pleased.

We stayed in a "one-bedroom", which essentially is just a large hotel room with the bedroom separated. Not a problem for us, but if you are expecting a full one-bedroom apartment, this isn't it. However, there was plenty of room for our family of 4 (2 adults; 2 kids).

All rooms in the Lodge have a small kitchen, which contains a fridge, dishwasher, sink, microwave/convection oven, an induction cooktop, and pots/dishes/glasses/cutlery. We really enjoyed having the kitchen, and ate every breakfast, every lunch, and most dinners in our room. Being slopeside allowed us to save a lot of money by eating in the room, and also allowed us to take a break during the day whenever we wanted, without having to deal with the day lodge chalet. Shopping tip - buy your groceries at the big Target in Virginia, MN.

Sleeping accommodations are via a king bed in the bedroom, and a double-sized murphy bed in the living room. There is also a cushy sofa, which we pulled aside to make room for the murphy bed, and one of our daughters slept on the sofa instead of sharing the murphy bed.

Our room was quiet, but it may have been because we asked to be located in a quiet area of the hotel. We were on the 3rd floor, near one end of the hall.

Our only small gripe was the HVAC. The only heating/AC unit is in the bedroom, and there is a fan in the wall between the bedroom and the living room which cycles on and off to move the air - but it does not do a particularly good job. This was especially problematic when the bedroom door was closed. If the room was cold, and we turned on the heat, the bedroom became unbearably hot while the living room / kitchen remained cool. Similarly, if it got too warm and we turned on the HVAC fan, the bedroom became quite cold, while the living room / kitchen stayed warm. Eventually, we borrowed a portable fan from the front desk, placed it in the bedroom doorway.

The hotel has an indoor pool, which is well-kept and the water is decently heated. Desk staff are pleasant and helpful, and the location of the hotel is truly ski to the door (not like some places that advertise slopeside, but involve a hike across roads, etc). All in all, this was exactly what we were looking for.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for a room on the 3rd floor, near the end of a hall. Of course, you'll a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WinnipegSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, MN
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We have attended the slush cup weekend at Giant's Ridge the last six years. It's alway been a real good time and my kids look forward to it. They asked if we were going this year and I had to say no. Our last time there, I felt as though we were an inconvenance to the bar and restaurant staff. I spend a ton on money in there and always tip 25 top 30%. I never saw a smile and sometimes not even a thank you. The place is not cheap and I don't expect to be treated like a king, but I do expect to be appreciated for choosing their resort. Specially after returning that many years in a row. We will take a year off and maybe return next year, maybe.

Room Tip: Stay away from the side of the lodge that is above the pool area. The noise is out of hand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jlevasseur06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

My son and I stayed 3 nights at the lodge Dec 26 - 28. Skied 2 days and NIGHTS! Yep, they have lighted runs! The room was clean and nicely furnished. Huge bathroom with jacuzzi tub. We stayed on the 2nd floor.The hotel was booked almost solid and we were never bothered by noise. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The Bar was under-staffed and service sufferred a bit, but the waitress made up for it by comp-ing our tab. The food in the restaurant was GREAT, the portions were almost excessive! Try the bacon! All-in-all; we hade a wondeful time and the hotel/lodge was very nice. Will visit again.

Room Tip: If I stay again, I'll get slope-side rooms (not parking-lot side). Although the morning sun was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beatkeeper07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We had a coupon for 2 nights, spa discount and restaurant disount. First the restaurants were closed for our stay and the hotel staff said that since they were run under different management there was nothing they could do. Second I had called repetadly the week before to book a massage at the spa and never received a call back, When I finally got to the motel and walked in to the spa they said they were booked. Our room was never cleaned and when I inquired about it, I recieved no apology and instead somone (in sweatshirt, unkept, and with no nametag) dropped off two towels and some shampoo at our door. The front desk staff were friendly enough, but seemed to truly have NO clue on how to intereact with guests. It seemed like a virtual ghost town. I unfortunatly have to attend a wedding there next summer, but plan on looking for accomadations elsewhere. Maybe it's different in the winter with the ski slopes open, but I don't ever plan to find out.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mngal03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
Level Contributor
181 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at The Lodge at Giants Ridge this past weekend. The rooms were very nice, and the resort was top of the line.

Room Tip: We had a first floor room and could not hear the people above us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtdman37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biwabik
13.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Mountain Iron
12.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Virginia
11.6 mi away
Coates Plaza Hotel
Coates Plaza Hotel
#3 of 4 in Virginia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Villas at Giants Ridge
Villas at Giants Ridge
#1 of 1 in Biwabik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
12.7 mi away
Super 8 Eveleth
Super 8 Eveleth
#1 of 2 in Eveleth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
11.6 mi away
Lakeshore Motor Inn
Lakeshore Motor Inn
#1 of 4 in Virginia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Giant's Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Giant's Ridge

Property: The Lodge at Giant's Ridge
Address: 6373 Wynne Creek Dr, Biwabik, MN 55708-7000
Location: United States > Minnesota > Biwabik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Biwabik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge at Giant's Ridge 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1999, The Lodge at Giants Ridge offers 67 luxurious suites, and is the ultimate four-season vacation destination. Guests can select from a variety of suite layouts from a one bedroom to a four bedroom that will sleep up to 14 guests. The Lodge is located among the towering pines and the deep blue lakes of Minnesota's Superior National Forest, your suite will surely be the perfect retreat for you and your guests. Along with our fabulous Northwoods decor, comfy and cozy linens, full service kitchens (in select suites), luxurious whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, and you can't beat the amazing views! This condominium resort is situated near the beach area on Wynne Lake, and is also near Sabin Lake, both prime fishing locations. The ski slopes of Giants Ridge and the Legend Golf Course are right out our back door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lodge at Giant's Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Giant`s Ridge Hotel Biwabik
Hotel At Giants Ridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing