We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant suprise... with great skiing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lodge at Giant's Ridge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lodge at Giant's Ridge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Biwabik
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A pleasant suprise... with great skiing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

My son and I stayed 3 nights at the lodge Dec 26 - 28. Skied 2 days and NIGHTS! Yep, they have lighted runs! The room was clean and nicely furnished. Huge bathroom with jacuzzi tub. We stayed on the 2nd floor.The hotel was booked almost solid and we were never bothered by noise. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The Bar was under-staffed and service sufferred a bit, but the waitress made up for it by comp-ing our tab. The food in the restaurant was GREAT, the portions were almost excessive! Try the bacon! All-in-all; we hade a wondeful time and the hotel/lodge was very nice. Will visit again.

Room Tip: If I stay again, I'll get slope-side rooms (not parking-lot side). Although the morning sun was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beatkeeper07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    38
    20
    16
    14
See reviews for
57
34
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

We had a coupon for 2 nights, spa discount and restaurant disount. First the restaurants were closed for our stay and the hotel staff said that since they were run under different management there was nothing they could do. Second I had called repetadly the week before to book a massage at the spa and never received a call back, When I finally got to the motel and walked in to the spa they said they were booked. Our room was never cleaned and when I inquired about it, I recieved no apology and instead somone (in sweatshirt, unkept, and with no nametag) dropped off two towels and some shampoo at our door. The front desk staff were friendly enough, but seemed to truly have NO clue on how to intereact with guests. It seemed like a virtual ghost town. I unfortunatly have to attend a wedding there next summer, but plan on looking for accomadations elsewhere. Maybe it's different in the winter with the ski slopes open, but I don't ever plan to find out.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mngal03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Biwabik hotels

Edina, Minnesota
Level Contributor
177 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at The Lodge at Giants Ridge this past weekend. The rooms were very nice, and the resort was top of the line.

Room Tip: We had a first floor room and could not hear the people above us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtdman37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

We had a fantastic weekend stay at the Lodge, including the rehearsal dinner & reception for our friends' wedding. The rooms were clean, spacious, comfortable, & tastefully decorated in the outdoorsy theme found throughout the resort. The restaurant's food was tasty (if a bit on the expensive side and lacking in vegetarian entree options) and the bar was fun. We had a bonfire behind the Lodge one night & a number of the guests went golfing or hiking during their stay. The drive to and from the Twin Cities was gorgeous this time of year. Overall, a perfect weekend getaway - we will gladly return.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteffiLovesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

Check-In - quick. Got us up to our room quickly and provided recommendations on where to go out for dinner away from the Lodge. Outside of the resort, there's not much around for dinner. Recommendations were in Virginia - about a 20 minute drive.
Location: 3+ hours from the Twin Cities. Beautiful country up there. Very scenic, it was early September and the leaves were starting to change - especially if you traveled north towards Ely.
Bar/Restaurant - friendly staff, great food and drinks. Understaffed so service is not as speedy as it could be but sufficient. Not very lively during the week anyway so if you're looking for nightlife, this is not the place to be.
Pool/Hot Tub - no issues for us. Hot tub was clean and warm. Pool was refreshing. And we had the place to ourselves.
Room - We had a Mesabi Suite we were able to get with our Groupon. Hot tub in the room and fireplace. Kitchen with sink and larger fridge and freezer. There's a hot plate you can cook on if you desire. Two TVs are sufficient but could be upgraded. Good selection of cable channels.
Golf - we played the Legends course. We lucked out as we didn't make a tee-time. There was a cancelation so they were able to work us in. Absolutely beautiful course. Some very nice water holes and overall a very nice course. Play was a bit slow but we were in no rush and gave us time to take in scenery.
We stayed for two nights after our wedding. A quick relaxing few days away from the cities was very nice!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scott2923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

My wife and I stayed 3 nights at the lodge. The room was clean and nicely furnished. We stayed on the 3rd floor and I was surprised to hear other reviewers complaints of hallway noise. The hotel was booked solid and we were never bothered by the other patrons in the hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful with any needs we had during our stay. I would return in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Plumberjoe80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Restaurant / Bar: Service was not good, only because they did not have it appropriately staffed. The staff that was working were very friendly, but you could tell overworked on their shifts. The food was EXCELLENT, big portions and not super expensive hotel prices. Although pricey enough, but still manageable.

Hotel Room: found a few pieces of trash that werent picked up in the bathroom, so a bit turned off by that... but overall the accomodations were nice.

Pool/Hot Tub Area: Pool was fine, the Hot Tub was not. Had to call service down to fix it - blown fuse. Then it would only stay on for 10 minutes at a time and it was hard to even get it to go back on. The pool area needs to be tidied up a bit, fresh paint, etc.

Golf: Although we didn't golf, we met some very friendly people that had. They said it was absolutely fantastic.

Front Desk Staff: VERY helpful and friendly.

Overall - updates / renovations should really be a priority for them before the hotel goes down hill. But as you can see, none of these things would totally prevent us from going back because it was nice enough. Really expensive though for not keeping the place up to par though... so if we get another groupon we'd go but I wouldn't pay full price - especially summer weekend price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjfetzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biwabik
13.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Mountain Iron
12.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Virginia
11.6 mi away
Coates Plaza Hotel
Coates Plaza Hotel
#3 of 4 in Virginia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Super 8 Eveleth
Super 8 Eveleth
#1 of 2 in Eveleth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
11.7 mi away
Lakeshore Motor Inn
Lakeshore Motor Inn
#1 of 4 in Virginia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
11.7 mi away
Pine View Inn
Pine View Inn
#2 of 4 in Virginia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Giant's Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Giant's Ridge

Property: The Lodge at Giant's Ridge
Address: 6373 Wynne Creek Dr, Biwabik, MN 55708-7000
Location: United States > Minnesota > Biwabik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Biwabik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge at Giant's Ridge 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1999, The Lodge at Giants Ridge offers 67 luxurious suites, and is the ultimate four-season vacation destination. Guests can select from a variety of suite layouts from a one bedroom to a four bedroom that will sleep up to 14 guests. The Lodge is located among the towering pines and the deep blue lakes of Minnesota's Superior National Forest, your suite will surely be the perfect retreat for you and your guests. Along with our fabulous Northwoods decor, comfy and cozy linens, full service kitchens (in select suites), luxurious whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, and you can't beat the amazing views! This condominium resort is situated near the beach area on Wynne Lake, and is also near Sabin Lake, both prime fishing locations. The ski slopes of Giants Ridge and the Legend Golf Course are right out our back door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Lodge at Giant's Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Giant`s Ridge Hotel Biwabik
Hotel At Giants Ridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing