We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Management was Unprofessional and Unresponsive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Big Lake
Blaine, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Management was Unprofessional and Unresponsive”
Reviewed December 30, 2010

We booked last New Years Eve for a overnight stay at this hotel. We booked online and had a written, confirmed reservation. Upon check in the manager refused to honor the cost quoted on the confirmed reservation. Telling us there must have been a mistake in their compute system and they never would have allowed it to rent so low for New Years Eve.
We paid more then everyone in our party. We had three other couples renting the same time. We tried to resolve this after the New Year by asking the General Manager, Judy Balin for the owners name and address, she has refused to provide any information or
resolution. PLEASE DO NOT RENT FROM THIS PLACE If you have any issues
I assure you it will never be resolved. I could go on about the rest of the problems with the rooms and hotel but I'm sure the management of that hotel does not care.
It was simply Horrible all around and Shame on them for not caring about the customer

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mzshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ptrdanno, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, January 7, 2011
I would like to apologize for your experience at the hotel a year ago. The previous owners are no longer in business. The hotel has re-opened in November of 2010 after the building was aquired. While there are limits to what we can do to resolve issues that came about from the previous ownership and management, please feel free to give me a call as I would like to see if there is something I can offer you as a gesture of good will.

Dan
763.262.7666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    2
    1
    2
    6
See reviews for
6
3
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albertville, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2010

Booked a room for a wedding, cancelled a week in advance and was still charged $90 for the room. I have called 3 times trying to resolve this issue, each time I am told a manager will call me back. Still haven't heard from them. Very unprofessional staff.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Big Lake hotels

Thief River Falls, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2010

We had nice people that checked us in on Friday and a good nights sleep. Saturday night was a different story. There was fighting and yelling in the hotel late night and it
kept us awaqke.,no one anwered desk phone and can't reach the manager althugh we
have called several times.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marketplace1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becker, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2010

This Inn is a high class hotel. HDTVs, granite counter tops, fridge and microwave, and the most comfortable beds ( I actually enjoyed their beds more than my own).
My Husband and I decided to book our wedding with this Hotel and everything was just awesome! We were able to come and check out the rooms and pick and chose all of the rooms we wanted blocked off! They gave everyone in our party an additional room rate discount on top of the already discounted price! So everyone was happy! They were very cool with all of us coming in at different times and the peopl working were very friendly. They really made my wedding experience easy! I didn't have to deal with anything they took care of it all! I didn't hear a complaint from anyone, not even the in-laws :D I high recommend this hotel, especially for that special day!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sls17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Lake
18.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Clearwater
21.1 mi away
America's Best Inn Annandale
8.9 mi away
Crossings by GrandStay Inn and Suites Becker
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Super 8 Monticello
Super 8 Monticello
#2 of 3 in Monticello
378 reviews
5.7 mi away
Best Western Chelsea Hotel
Best Western Chelsea Hotel
#1 of 3 in Monticello
222 reviews
11.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rogers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 16766 198th Ave NW, Big Lake, MN 55309-4864 (Formerly America's Best Inn Big Lake)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Big Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Big Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Big Lake, Minnesota and all it has to offer, whether staying for business, pleasure, or just passing through at the Americas Best Value Inn Big Lake. Ideally situated less than two miles away from downtown Big Lake, our hotel is conveniently located off US Highway 10 on 198th Avenue NW. We are near local attractions such as Big Lake Station Park And Ride- Sand Dunes and Lake Maria State Park. Our property features amenities such as a guest laundry facility, meeting facility, and business center. Sorry, no pets allowed. Guests are invited to wake up and enjoy our free coffee in the lobby and daily continental breakfast. Guests are welcome to maintain their physical activity with our on-site fitness center. Whether you’re traveling for business or pleasure, stay connected with our free Wi-Fi available throughout the property. Each of our 33 guest rooms feature the ambiance of home luxuries such as free Wi-Fi, microwave, mini-fridge, coffeemaker, hairdryer, 32 inch flat panel cable TV, and alarm clock radio. Americas Best Value Inn Big Lake is your best choice along the Elk River- northwest of Minneapolis- Minnesota. We offer ideal accommodations and location whether you are in town for entertainment, music and food festivals, sightseeing, wildlife activities or simply passing through on your way to Minneapolis or St. Cloud. At Americas Best Value Inn Big Lake our goal is to provide our guests a great experience, not just a place to stay. At Americas Best Value Inn Big Lake, We’ve Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing