We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The absolute worst place I ever stayed!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Big Lake
Reviewed October 18, 2011

I really cant say a good thing about this place. We stayed 2 nights one in the king jacuzzi room and let me tell you it was not a king room it was the smallest room in the hotel I think. The water presure was the lowest I have ever seen any place. The managment was less than perfect. They overcharged me and I had to fight to get the bill adjusted. My brother who got married and was suposed to stay there got screwed out of his free room. The management was rude,and nowhere near people friendly. I would never recomend this hotel to anyone even if I didnt like them. The end to a great wedding night was followed by a nightmare hotel!!!!!!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else and you will be a lot happier
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ptrdanno, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2011

This review and the previous one were written from a wedding party that was at the hotel this last weekend. The hotel policy for wedding groups over the last two years has been that when a wedding party has ten(10) paid rooms, the bride and groom receive the couple's suite for free. Additionally, we give the bride and groom the couple's suite at $50 off the RACK rate and charge them a standard group rate regardless of how many rooms are booked and paid for if they fail to meet the minimum ten rooms required for a free stay.

This particular group had only seven rooms paid for, yet as a group, demanded that the bride and groom be given a room for free room. We informed them of the original agreement and again they demanded the room or said they would go online and write bad reviews about our hotel. They have apparently followed through with their threat.

I encourage people to come visit our hotel and rooms. In a recent surprise inspection by the state of Minnesota Health Dept, the inspector commented that our hotel rooms were the nicest and cleanest rooms he has seen in his territory. He covers Sherburne county.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 18 of 18 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2011

This night was suppose to be one of my brothers best nights in his life. what happened was the hotel was suppose to give the bride and groom my younger brother the king jacuzzi room for free if he got ten people from the wedding party to rent a room well they ended up renting the room to my older brother but he gave it up so they could stay in the room and we where under the impression that there room was going to be free because my brother switched rooms and there was more than 10 from the wedding party that rented rooms as a matter of fact somebody else from the wedding party tried to get a room and they said they where overbooked.well after the wedding my brother came to the hotel and they wanted to charge him 89 dollars because he didn't have 15 people from the wedding rent rooms so he just went back to his house well that dont make any sense because it was overbooked. So if you are a wedding party and are planning on the bride and groom getting a free room well dont count on it. also we had four people in our room and asked to get four towels and they would not give us four. the water pressure was really bad and took forever to rinse yourself off. also dont expect much light because our room had many lights burnt out and not replaced.

Room Tip: there probably is none.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank johnny s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

We booked last New Years Eve for a overnight stay at this hotel. We booked online and had a written, confirmed reservation. Upon check in the manager refused to honor the cost quoted on the confirmed reservation. Telling us there must have been a mistake in their compute system and they never would have allowed it to rent so low for New Years Eve.
We paid more then everyone in our party. We had three other couples renting the same time. We tried to resolve this after the New Year by asking the General Manager, Judy Balin for the owners name and address, she has refused to provide any information or
resolution. PLEASE DO NOT RENT FROM THIS PLACE If you have any issues
I assure you it will never be resolved. I could go on about the rest of the problems with the rooms and hotel but I'm sure the management of that hotel does not care.
It was simply Horrible all around and Shame on them for not caring about the customer

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mzshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ptrdanno, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2011

I would like to apologize for your experience at the hotel a year ago. The previous owners are no longer in business. The hotel has re-opened in November of 2010 after the building was aquired. While there are limits to what we can do to resolve issues that came about from the previous ownership and management, please feel free to give me a call as I would like to see if there is something I can offer you as a gesture of good will.

Dan
763.262.7666

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2010

Booked a room for a wedding, cancelled a week in advance and was still charged $90 for the room. I have called 3 times trying to resolve this issue, each time I am told a manager will call me back. Still haven't heard from them. Very unprofessional staff.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank A0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

We had nice people that checked us in on Friday and a good nights sleep. Saturday night was a different story. There was fighting and yelling in the hotel late night and it
kept us awaqke.,no one anwered desk phone and can't reach the manager althugh we
have called several times.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marketplace1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

This Inn is a high class hotel. HDTVs, granite counter tops, fridge and microwave, and the most comfortable beds ( I actually enjoyed their beds more than my own).
My Husband and I decided to book our wedding with this Hotel and everything was just awesome! We were able to come and check out the rooms and pick and chose all of the rooms we wanted blocked off! They gave everyone in our party an additional room rate discount on top of the already discounted price! So everyone was happy! They were very cool with all of us coming in at different times and the peopl working were very friendly. They really made my wedding experience easy! I didn't have to deal with anything they took care of it all! I didn't hear a complaint from anyone, not even the in-laws :D I high recommend this hotel, especially for that special day!

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sls17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Lake
6.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Albertville
6.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elk River
0 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 16766 198th Ave NW, Big Lake, MN 55309-4864 (Formerly America's Best Inn Big Lake)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Big Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Big Lake
Price Range: $84 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Big Lake, Minnesota and all it has to offer, whether staying for business, pleasure, or just passing through at the Americas Best Value Inn Big Lake. Ideally situated less than two miles away from downtown Big Lake, our hotel is conveniently located off US Highway 10 on 198th Avenue NW. We are near local attractions such as Big Lake Station Park And Ride- Sand Dunes and Lake Maria State Park. Our property features amenities such as a guest laundry facility, meeting facility, and business center. Sorry, no pets allowed. Guests are invited to wake up and enjoy our free coffee in the lobby and daily continental breakfast. Guests are welcome to maintain their physical activity with our on-site fitness center. Whether you’re traveling for business or pleasure, stay connected with our free Wi-Fi available throughout the property. Each of our 33 guest rooms feature the ambiance of home luxuries such as free Wi-Fi, microwave, mini-fridge, coffeemaker, hairdryer, 32 inch flat panel cable TV, and alarm clock radio. Americas Best Value Inn Big Lake is your best choice along the Elk River- northwest of Minneapolis- Minnesota. We offer ideal accommodations and location whether you are in town for entertainment, music and food festivals, sightseeing, wildlife activities or simply passing through on your way to Minneapolis or St. Cloud. At Americas Best Value Inn Big Lake our goal is to provide our guests a great experience, not just a place to stay. At Americas Best Value Inn Big Lake, We’ve Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing