We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“o.k.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Bemidji

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bemidji
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Bemidji
maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“o.k.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I was here for 4 nights on business. Staff is A+++. Walls are thick, despite a full house there was very little noise from other rooms, occasional hallway sounds but overall very quiet.
Didn't feel too clean though. Carpet is a bit sticky, hallways a bit dingy. Didn't really spend a lot of time in the room. Fine for in and out stay.

Room Tip: Can request minifridge for room. They have a limited supply available for the asking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oliel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBEMIDJI, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bemidji, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for posting your review. I am so happy to hear your comments about our staff as we love what we do! I appreciate your feedback about the hotel. I can assure your that our hotel is clean but I do understand your comments about the carpet. When it is humid, the carpet can seem a bit damp. In addition, we are currently getting bids for new carpeting throughout the hotel. We hope to have you as our guest again!

Jessica Durkin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    25
    23
    7
    6
See reviews for
25
21
4
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Bemidji is centrally located in Minnesota - on a beautiful lake. The Holiday Inn Express is next to a McDonald's and many other recognizable food chains - which is important to me as it is important to my 14 year old who is traveling with me. It is also located next to a wonderful grocery store. Small enclosed mall behind the grocery store. Wal-Mart and Home Depot are up the street.

The Holiday Inn Express had a good hot breakfast - automatic pancake maker, good cinnamon rolls, bacon and eggs early (sausage and eggs later). Coffee was excellent! Breakfast was from 6 to 9:30 a.m. Microwave in the lobby. Sparse fitness room but it has a treadmill and that is all I want.

Staff is helpful and friendly. Room is immaculate and I slept very well. 14 year old complained that the pillows were to soft. AC in the room work well and was easily adjusted to the right temperature. Our room was next to the lobby but was still very quiet.

We used Bemidji as our base of operations to explore Minnesota. It is 2 hours to Voyageurs National Park and less than an hour to Itasca State Park (Mississippi headwaters).

Hotel is very affordable - we stayed during the week and are checking out Friday as it is sold out on the weekend. Many things in Minnesota are booked solid on the weekends.

Room Tip: Second floor has the breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camille Z, Front Desk at Holiday Inn Express Bemidji, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Wow! Thank you so much for the awesome review and for the great information you have provided our future guests. We love being located here in the Northwoods. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I was recently at this lovely establishment... I was in the area doing some advertising and the staff and the management where very accommodating and easy to work with... They were very polite and helped in any way they could through out my 4 day stay... :) The rooms are very clean... Even smells clean :) Also the hotel itself has a nice warm pool and hot tub to relax in...
Not to mention they always had some fresh baked cookies for us to enjoy.. I will for sure be going back to this establishment.. Thanks for a delightful experience....

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NIcholas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camille Z, Front Desk at Holiday Inn Express Bemidji, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
We here at the Holiday Inn Express are so delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us! Our goal is to make sure our guests are well taken care of during your visit. Hope to see you again soon :) happy holiday weekend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed in this Hotel end of May 2014. It was very satisfying stay to be here. Rooms are maintained very well. All your needs are taken care of by managing persons. Break fast , coffee tea need are met with high standard, Swimming and Gym facilities are also provided. Overall excellent service is rendered by this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ASIT1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camille Z, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bemidji, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your recent stay at our property here in Bemidji. We are glad to hear that you were very satisfied and our staff was able to fulfill all of your needs. If you are ever in the area, we’d love for you to choose our hotel once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 3 night 12/18 to 12/21 reserved a King room suite. Arrived at the hotel after a long day on a work project and was quite wiped out. Checked in, that went smooth and easy, very friendly staff. Went to settle down and relax in the room and noticed the room appeared to be poorly made up. That evening went to a coworkers room to have a couple of beers and go over a few details on the project, got to his room and he said "check out the great housekeeping" bed appeared to be just tossed together. The next morning had breakfast in the breakfast bar, but only had cereal since that's all they had stocked. The breakfast person was only putting out a few items here and there. When asked if more eggs would be ready, reply was 10 minutes. For an empty place not good. That evening arrived back and noticed my room appeared to also be only tossed together, bed and pillows just tossed up to appear as if someone made a slight effort. Next morning more of the same for breakfast, not good. Now my last evening arrived back after a long day on the project and quite wiped out, staff greeted with a friendly hello and welcome back. Went to my room and whamo my room wasn't even touched. Bed not made, towels not replaced, other room items not replaced even the bad coffee packs. Went down to the front desk to complain and the two young ladies we're shocked. I asked for some fresh towels and soaps, the staff said they would let housekeeping know the next day since they all were gone for the evening. That evening the place was full with high school wrestling teams for a wrestling meet. Kids will be kids so let's just say the place was a little loud. The next morning I met my coworker for the so called breakfast buffet, let's just say good luck. 7am no food was ready and what was made was quickly grabbed by the kids quickly. My coworker also said his room was not made up yesterday so what housekeeping did that day who knows. Now I received my invoice and went to the front desk to complain about the price for the lack of service, the guy at the desk said he couldn't do anything and I'd have to talk to a manager later. About 4 hours later the manager called me apologizing for the lack of quality for my stay and deducted a small amount from the invoice. Now this was my 4th Express in 3 weeks; 1 out in Long Island, NY, 1 North East, PA and Schaumberg, IL all of these places we're above the level performers and would gladly rate them 4.5 to 5's but not this place. Many other quality hotels in Bemidji

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MNCandR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBEMIDJI, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bemidji, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
I would like to apologize about the short comings you experienced during your stay at our property. The supervisors in each department have been made aware of the situation and are looking at ways to improve the service we are providing our guests. We thank you for your feedback, apologize for the inconveniences and are planning to improve the service we offer here at the Holiday Inn Express.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bemidji hotels

Lenexa, Kansas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

They only have one washer and one dryer on the third floor in the hallway. On multiple locations I saw people waiting in the hallway until their clothes were done.

It took management's replacement of three refrigerators before I finally got one that worked on their fourth try.

Their internet is not secure even though it is password protected.

Overall, this hotel is good if you only want to arrive late, go to bed and leave the next morning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ecrtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBEMIDJI, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bemidji, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Bemidji, MN. The feedback you have provided in your review will be taken with care and the appropriate steps will be taken to fix the issues you had during your stay. We hope that you stay with us again during your next visit to Bemidji so we can improve on the experience you recently had. If you do need anything further please contact me at my direct email.


Stacy Pontinen
Assistant Manager
holidayinnexpressbemidji@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
177 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We are working our way through all the Bemidiji area hotels as we come to the area every other weekend. We have stayed in other Holiday Inn Express' before with nice accommodations, so had high expectations. Unfortunately this site did not meet the level of quality of their sister sites, with more cons than positives

Positives: Staff was very nice and helpful
Breakfast was nice with good selections

Cons: Priced higher than other hotels in the area
Maintenance needed with regard to sauna (closed for repair) & elevator ( broke down with us inside! - helpful staff got us out quickly but she mentioned that his has happened before!)
We were placed in a handicapped room (we did not reserve/handicapped room)
Handicapped room does not have a handicapped accessible bathroom (no way anyone in a wheel chair could get into it)
Bed was very soft/squishy on the inside and hard around the outside edge
Hot tub was low on water & dirty!
Hot tub filled with community members playing $3 to swim

Needless to say, we were very disappointed and will choose other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CMLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBEMIDJI, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bemidji, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Bemidji. I am pleased that the staff and breakfast were most enjoyable during your stay. I do want to apologize about the inconveniences you had during your stay and would like you to know that all of your comments have been relayed to the appropriate departments so that they can be resolved.


Stacy Pontinen
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bemidji
2.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bemidji
0.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Bemidji
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bemidji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bemidji
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bemidji Inn
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn Bemidji
Quality Inn Bemidji
#8 of 10 in Bemidji
3.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bemidji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bemidji

Property: Holiday Inn Express Bemidji
Address: 2422 Ridgeway Ave NW, Bemidji, MN 56601-2147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bemidji
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Bemidji
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Bemidji 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Conference Center located in the heart of Bemidji next to the Paul Bunyan Mall and several excellent eating establishments. We are only minutes from Bemidji State University and the Paul and Babe Amusement Park and approximately 40 minutes from the headwaters of the Mississippi River located within Itasca State Park. Beautiful Lake Bemidji and Bemidji State Park are only minutes away and are surrounded by many various trails. Free printed brochures and other information about the area is provided at the front desk. All standard rooms have two queen size beds, 37 in Flat Screen TV's with HD channels, a hair dryer, coffee pot, iron and ironing board, and a telephone. Selected rooms offer a king bed with an in-room Jacuzzi and 40 inch Flat Screen Smart TV. All rooms also have free high speed Internet. Visit Bemidji, MN and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bemidji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bemidji Hotel Bemidji
Holiday Inn Bemidji
Bemidji Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing