We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private, beautiful, true MN outdoors experience with all the comforts of home and then some!”
Review of Kohl's Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kohl's Resort
Reviewed March 22, 2010

Kohl's is a gem of a place located in the MN woods on a breathtaking lake. Geared toward every outdoor activity that the seasons offer in this family-oriented resort, it has something for everyone. The immaculate, modern and well-equipped cabins are scattered over the hills overlooking the lake and each has its own unique homey, comfortable feel with every creature comfort you could desire, from the hand-made log furniture, to dishwashers and personal jacuzzis in some. The owners, Jim and Debbie, made me feel at home. Every detail reflects their personal pride and dedication to this wonderful place. I had a wonderful time at Kohl's! My Dad was a fisherman, and if he had stayed at places this nice, I would have gone on many more trips with him!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebraVaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 73 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2010

We've been going to Kohl's Resort for 5 years. We really enjoy the family activities provided by Kohl's. Our family loves to fish/boat and Big Turtle provide plenty of opportunites to enjoy ourselves. Here is a list of thing to enjoy: fishing, canoe trip, sand castle contest, minnow race, steak fry, bingo night, swimming on the beach, relaxing by the camp fire, just taking in the outdoors, playing games, Itasca State Park & the indoor pool. We really recommend Kohl's Resort to families who like the outdoors and want to have a relaxing time.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishrmen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2010

We just Love going to Kohl's every summer for our Family vacation! Jim and Deb have something every day for the Grandkids to do and we of course love to fish!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank btgrunig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2010

Kohl' s Resort is a beautiful, breathe taking place where, you can actually relax, enjoy life and nature's surroundings. Families come together, enjoy each others company, and make life long memories that you can smile and laugh about forever. The resort is peaceful and quiet. It is maintained very, very well. You can be yourself and actually watch
other families have fun and enjoy the true meaning of vacation. That is relaxation! There is so much to do or so little to do it is your choice. The Eickhorst Families is accomadating to your every need, and treat you as one of there familiy members when your there. I would recommend this resort to any one who is looking for a relaxing, enjoyable vacation filled with a lifetime of memories. Jerry and Beth Skowronski

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerdatoolman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2009

The canoe trip activity was advertised to be "family safe activity, slow and easy". My husband and I are both physically disabled. We have canoe experience on a lake. There were five canoes. Our canoe tipped 2x causing us physical pain since we wee bouncing on rocks. We also lost our keys, electronic pain device, and my coat. I was afraid as the canoe tipped and I went under the water with the canoe headed for my head. Their was only one resort employee not traveling in the water so when we tipped we depended on the kindness of the other canoes. A second canoe tipped 3x. so three out of five canoes made the trip without tipping. This is not a safe activity and somebody will be hurt if the trip or description of the trip doesn't change. I spoke with Jim, the resort owner and he denied the activity was not safe. He became angry and stated the problem was our fault. Watch out and have a safe vacation.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
6  Thank volkswagenred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbieeickhorst, Owner, Manager at Kohl's Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2009

Please be advised that this reservation was upgraded from a poolside suite to a one bedroom cabin over the two week stay at no extra charge. I'd say that is going the extra mile to provide good service. So many guests take this canoe trip weekly (some with small children)-that compliment and love this activity. We have dozens of comments from families recommending that future guests take this trip as it was their favorite activity. We have also had guests take the canoe trip a second and third year in a row now. Please read further to see other reviews and see this is not a typical opinion.
Thanks,
Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2008

We stayed for week at the resort. We usually pick a resort with outdoor activities (especially fishing). Most resorts we have stayed at in the past were kind of a check in, and contact the hosts if only necessary and looking to spend money. At Kohls this is not the case.

Throughout the week there are activities that draw a number of families staying there. Most of the people there are midwest folk that are courteous and friendly. After Saturdays check in, Sunday has a Sandcastle building contest. We followed this with a guided fishing trip. When we go to a resort we usually have fishing guide the first day or two. Jim (owner and host) recommended Matt Breuer with North Country Guides. Matt was the best guide I ever used. Totally professional and helpful. This was reflected when Jim asked about his service later. Jim has a genuine concern that people are satisfied and get good service.

There are other activities throughout the week that get folks at the resort meeting each other. They are simple but fun. Fourth of July was great. In Minnesota they celebrate the holiday. From a decorated boat regatta to fireworks. There were fireworks for all the kids a well as a long display.

Bugs were not as bad as expected and the accomodations are a bit better than what one would expect from an older northwoods resort. The owners have excellent business sense and have updated well. The grounds are beautiful with a nice beach. Boat docking is nice and they provide supplies from gas to bait. The only thing you need to bring is food.

My wife and I felt it was one of our best family vacations ever. My son agrees. If I had anything to say, we should have stayed longer than 1 week. There are folks there who have come every year as much as 13 years running.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank williep99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2008

We chose this resort to try and discover the more rural side of the USA. We hoped for unspoilt scenery and a relaxed pace of life and were not disappointed.

We chose Kohl's mainly because of the unusual tree house style cabin, its proximity to the water and the indoor swimming pool.

The location on the banks of Big Turtle Lake gave us the stunning views we had hoped for. The town of Bemidji was only a short drive away so we had easy access to shops, banks, restaurants Etc. The cabin was spacious, with lovely views and was well equipped.

Being used to the congested English roads, driving around Bemidji was a real pleasure. My strongest memory of our holiday is driving without another car in sight, with the roof down through beautiful countryside.

Jim and Debbie made us feel very welcome and I thank them for their hospitality.

So was this the perfect holiday? Not quite. The journey from England to Bemidji took about 20 hours and on reflection we should have stayed a night in Minneapolis going and coming back. As far as the resort goes it was a little tired in places, but overall Kohl's has so much charm this can easily be forgiven.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CdiBenga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bemidji hotels
10.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bemidji
9.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Bemidji
5.5 mi away
Ruttger's Birchmont Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bemidji
10.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bemidji
9 mi away
Super 8 Bemidji MN
Super 8 Bemidji MN
#6 of 10 in Bemidji
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kohl's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kohl's Resort

Address: 15707 Big Turtle Dr NE, Bemidji, MN 56601-7143
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bemidji
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Bemidji
Price Range: $119 - $451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kohl's Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a family resort in northern Minnesota. We have an indoor pool, outdoor Jacuzzi hot tub, sauna, and game room at the lodge. We are just north of the headwaters of the Mississippi River. We are located on a chain of three lakes with good fishing, and we have daily summer activities. We rent boats, and provide guests with canoe trips. We offer WiFi, cable, and non-motorized water sports included. Our cabins have full kitchens as well as air conditioning, gas fireplaces, and campfire pits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Kohl's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kohls Hotel Bemidji

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing