We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff fixed several problems, we still had a lot of fun”
Review of Kohl's Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kohl's Resort
Champlin, Minnesota
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Helpful staff fixed several problems, we still had a lot of fun”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Short Review: bats in cabin, helpful not necessarily friendliest staff, most everything overpriced, fun beach activites, wifi bad, dirty pool and hot tub, decent beds, no oven. I would recommend it at a way lower price than $240/night and you have to be willing to put up with the bats.

Long Review: We stayed in The Bear's Den in July 2014. When we checked in the staff gave us a helpful tour of the place and showed us to our cabin. The first problem was that the refrigerator was open and off. This was inconvenient since we had to wait for the fridge to cool down to put anything in it. The Bear's Den looked a lot bigger in the pictures than it did in person. That being said it was a nice size for four people. There was also a pullout couch and small TV that wasn't advertised on the website. We also found at least four bats in the closet of the room with the two twin beds. We were trying to sleep when we heard the bat sounds. We got very little sleep that first night. The next morning we asked the front desk to check out the closet and remove the bats. They told us they got rid of the bats and I assume they did but the second night we heard the bats sounds again. We didn't bother calling the 24 hour phone number we just moved the linens from the twin beds to the pullout couch. We think there is a hole in that closet where bats fly in and out as they please. We could also hear the bats on the third night. We wanted to use the hot tub the first night but the jets wouldn't work, the next day the helpful staff fixed it but they told other guests that we broke it, we didn't like being gossiped about. The hot tub and pool were really dirty. There were a few bugs and algae in the hot tub. The room was equipped with a wall A/C unit that did it's job well, but the twin room wasn't air conditioned. The Wi-Fi was pretty slow and we got disconnected multiple times. I would've used 4G however T-Mobile had no service there, AT&T did have service. The doors were also very had to close. You had to pull them really hard to close them all the way, probably a foundation issue. The beach was very nice-sandy and had nice chairs. There were also cool,free activities, the Saturn, water trampoline, free kayak/canoe, free paddle boarding. You have to be 25 to rent the speed boat which put a damper on our plans as we were informed over the phone you only had to be 18. We rented the jet ski instead and got to use a free tube with the jet ski. We also rented a pontoon, the Russ boat. Everything seemed very overpriced. We had a really fun time though.

Room Tip: The Bear's Den is great for four people and has a pullout couch that could sleep an additional t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cesamos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbieeickhorst, Owner at Kohl's Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2016
We are glad you had a fun experience. We do apologize that you wanted to rent a speed boat and were unable to do so. We hope you will try the resort again, in a cabin. We no longer have the Bears Den. We just removed the unit. The bat problem is gone. We are so glad you enjoyed the activities we offer. Please contact us as we would like to offer you a great stay to try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    10
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
47
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mankato, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We've stayed at many resorts through out the years, and this is our fourth stay at Kohls, and are never disappointed as this resort offers something for everyone. It is on a nice lake for fishing (we always catch fish), and the water is good for swimming, and water sports. Near the resort are good roads for biking or going for a run. The kids enjoy the pool and game rooms. I enjoy have a nice sized cabin with a dish washer so I can spend more time in the hammock reading. They also have a nice beach with beach chairs. The owners are very friendly.

A few tips: if you are docking a boat bring a long extension cord, and a flash-light if you are coming in late at night. There could be a few more lights along the beach as it is pretty dark. We like to bring our own ping pong paddles because the office closes at about 6.00.

We are booked for next year already.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gloria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbieeickhorst, Owner at Kohl's Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2016
Gloria,
Thanks for your kind words. We always enjoy your family. We have a few changes you might like to know. The ping pong equipment is now outside for easy use. We are also moving our lodge and all the outdoor equipment is available during closed hours. Your review gave us this great idea. We have many new things happening. We hope you return next summer to see. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bemidji, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

My daughter outgrew (4 kids and 2 adults) staying at our house. Upon recommendation of a friend I booked a cabin for 8. This allowed 2 of us from Bemidji to visit our Houston family and spend the night. I held Christmas dinner there with 11 additional Bemidji folks joining us. The cabin was big enough for all. The pool was open even on Christmas day with guests being able to swim for a nominal additional charge and fun was had by all. I was amazed at how much was provided from a cork screw to real wine glasses. We were able to make snow angels right outside the building and short drive allowed those wishing to ski Buena Vista. As soon as we get school schedule and flights booked, we will be making our deposit for this year!
PS They even allowed a late check out.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grandmade2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbieeickhorst, Owner at Kohl's Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2016
Dee,
Thanks for that informative review. We are so happy your family was able to create such great emotional ties to the Holiday at the Lake. Fun! We are glad to be part of those happy memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thief River Falls, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We stayed over the New Years Holiday to celebrate a late Christmas gathering. We had rented the large cabin pictured in this ad. Beautiful place, plenty of room , perfect for our gathering. We had planned to go skiing but with the exceptionally cold winter we've been experiencing Buena Vista was shut down...only in Minnesota, LOL. The kids went shopping and bowling in Bemidji while I stayed and prepared our New Years Prime Rib meal. The cabin had everything I needed to do that. The owner came over late in the afternoon with champagne and New Years hats and noise-makers....much appreciated !
We all loved the place and had a wonderful time...just wish it hadn't been so cold so we could of enjoyed more outdoor activities.
WE WILL BE BACK !!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 543snowlady56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbieeickhorst, Owner at Kohl's Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2016
We are most happy you were able to create great memories at the lake, even though the weather didn't cooperate. We hope you come back and get that ski day. Bueno Vista is a hop, skip, and a jump away. Thanks again and happy holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bemidji, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Kohl's Resort in Bemidji Minnesota is beyond amazing! The cabins are each unique in their gorgeous northwoods decorations and are always clean and neat. I have yet to find one thing I dislike about Kohl's Resort! They have numerous activities in the summer for families, from minnow racing to the incredible selection of equipment that may be used in the lake as well as countless other fun filled events. This is not just a seasonal resort either, there is much fun to be had during the winter as well,with beautiful fireplaces to snuggle up by in colder temperatures and a wide open lake to snowmobile across while enjoying the natural beauty of northern Minnesota. I have stayed at Kohl's numerous times and have always had the best experience without a single complaint. The owners, Jim and Debbie always go well above and beyond what I would expect. This is a place to truly make memories with family or loved ones, or even a trip alone. The resort is stunning, the staff has always been pleasurable and the cabins are immaculate, each in their own special way. This is a place you need to see to believe! : )

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsten H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbieeickhorst, Owner at Kohl's Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2016
Kirsten,
Thanks for your kind words. Sounds like you have created great experiences and memories. It's always a pleasure to have your family visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

My family came from fargo and grand forks for our Christmas together and got cabin 202, 2 levels. Which we needed for Xmas gifts and separate space for 2 babies to sleep. When I checked in a male owner was unfriendly right away, basically threw key at me not telling me where to go. No info about their resort.
The cabin was clean and appeared nice, but couldn't use the jacuzzi tub cause drain broken, and hot water ran out before it reached jets.
After being gone all day skiing, came back to find the basement cold, 62 degrees. It kept getting colder no matter how much we tried thermostats. That night it got 20 below and we called the owners multiple times and left 2 messages about heat, they didn't answer or even call back the next day. No extra blankets or pillows there. We had to move mattress upstairs and remind you had 2 babies in there. Plus, the kids checked the pool to go swimming, it was covered and closed at 6 pm.

Next day the owner still didn't bother calling. When my mom went to talk about all this he was rude, unapologetic and tried saying we should have just kept calling. His wife just said she forgot to forward calls to her cell phone. My mom was in there about 30 mins arguing. All they refunded was a little over $100. Ridiculous, we lost a whole floor. He was mad cause she said 2 kids, which we had instead of 4 kids; 2 were babies, under year old. What a jerk!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Sadlleyton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbieeickhorst, Owner at Kohl's Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
We do apologize for this problem.. We felt terrible. We credited this customer $130 when a new heater stopped working in one room of a 3 bedroom cabin during the last night of a three night stay. We wish they would have contacted us before going to bed that evening. We tried to compensate them fairly. It was promptly fixed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakopee
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Cabin 206 is a clean, two story home with 3 bedrooms, 2 full baths, 2 living areas, full kitchen complete with dishwasher, and washer/dryer combo. Lake view. Wraparound decks on both levels of home. Comfy beds. Very clean.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mom_MarketingExec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bemidji
10.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bemidji
9.0 mi away
Best Western Bemidji Inn
11.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Bemidji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Quality Inn Bemidji
Quality Inn Bemidji
#9 of 10 in Bemidji
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
9.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Bemidji
16.0 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Blackduck
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kohl's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kohl's Resort

Property: Kohl's Resort
Address: 15707 Big Turtle Dr NE, Bemidji, MN 56601-7143
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bemidji
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Bemidji
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kohl's Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a family resort in northern Minnesota. We have an indoor pool, outdoor Jacuzzi hot tub, sauna, and game room at the lodge. We are just north of the headwaters of the Mississippi River. We are located on a chain of three lakes with good fishing, and we have daily summer activities. We rent boats, and provide guests with canoe trips. We offer WiFi, cable, and non-motorized water sports included. Our cabins have full kitchens as well as air conditioning, gas fireplaces, and campfire pits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Kohl's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kohls Hotel Bemidji

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing