We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Fishing, Biking, Swimming, and general fun.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kohl's Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kohl's Resort
Mankato, Minnesota
1 review
“Great Fishing, Biking, Swimming, and general fun.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

We've stayed at many resorts through out the years, and this is our fourth stay at Kohls, and are never disappointed as this resort offers something for everyone. It is on a nice lake for fishing (we always catch fish), and the water is good for swimming, and water sports. Near the resort are good roads for biking or going for a run. The kids enjoy the pool and game rooms. I enjoy have a nice sized cabin with a dish washer so I can spend more time in the hammock reading. They also have a nice beach with beach chairs. The owners are very friendly.

A few tips: if you are docking a boat bring a long extension cord, and a flash-light if you are coming in late at night. There could be a few more lights along the beach as it is pretty dark. We like to bring our own ping pong paddles because the office closes at about 6.00.

We are booked for next year already.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gloria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbieeickhorst, Owner at Kohl's Resort, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Gloria,
Thanks for your kind words. We always enjoy your family. We have a few changes you might like to know. The ping pong equipment is now outside for easy use. We are also moving our lodge and all the outdoor equipment is available during closed hours. Your review gave us this great idea. We have many new things happening. We hope you return next summer to see. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    10
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
45
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bemidji, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

My daughter outgrew (4 kids and 2 adults) staying at our house. Upon recommendation of a friend I booked a cabin for 8. This allowed 2 of us from Bemidji to visit our Houston family and spend the night. I held Christmas dinner there with 11 additional Bemidji folks joining us. The cabin was big enough for all. The pool was open even on Christmas day with guests being able to swim for a nominal additional charge and fun was had by all. I was amazed at how much was provided from a cork screw to real wine glasses. We were able to make snow angels right outside the building and short drive allowed those wishing to ski Buena Vista. As soon as we get school schedule and flights booked, we will be making our deposit for this year!
PS They even allowed a late check out.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grandmade2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbieeickhorst, Owner at Kohl's Resort, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dee,
Thanks for that informative review. We are so happy your family was able to create such great emotional ties to the Holiday at the Lake. Fun! We are glad to be part of those happy memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thief River Falls, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

We stayed over the New Years Holiday to celebrate a late Christmas gathering. We had rented the large cabin pictured in this ad. Beautiful place, plenty of room , perfect for our gathering. We had planned to go skiing but with the exceptionally cold winter we've been experiencing Buena Vista was shut down...only in Minnesota, LOL. The kids went shopping and bowling in Bemidji while I stayed and prepared our New Years Prime Rib meal. The cabin had everything I needed to do that. The owner came over late in the afternoon with champagne and New Years hats and noise-makers....much appreciated !
We all loved the place and had a wonderful time...just wish it hadn't been so cold so we could of enjoyed more outdoor activities.
WE WILL BE BACK !!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 543snowlady56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbieeickhorst, Owner at Kohl's Resort, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
We are most happy you were able to create great memories at the lake, even though the weather didn't cooperate. We hope you come back and get that ski day. Bueno Vista is a hop, skip, and a jump away. Thanks again and happy holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bemidji, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Kohl's Resort in Bemidji Minnesota is beyond amazing! The cabins are each unique in their gorgeous northwoods decorations and are always clean and neat. I have yet to find one thing I dislike about Kohl's Resort! They have numerous activities in the summer for families, from minnow racing to the incredible selection of equipment that may be used in the lake as well as countless other fun filled events. This is not just a seasonal resort either, there is much fun to be had during the winter as well,with beautiful fireplaces to snuggle up by in colder temperatures and a wide open lake to snowmobile across while enjoying the natural beauty of northern Minnesota. I have stayed at Kohl's numerous times and have always had the best experience without a single complaint. The owners, Jim and Debbie always go well above and beyond what I would expect. This is a place to truly make memories with family or loved ones, or even a trip alone. The resort is stunning, the staff has always been pleasurable and the cabins are immaculate, each in their own special way. This is a place you need to see to believe! : )

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsten H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbieeickhorst, Owner at Kohl's Resort, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Kirsten,
Thanks for your kind words. Sounds like you have created great experiences and memories. It's always a pleasure to have your family visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

My family came from fargo and grand forks for our Christmas together and got cabin 202, 2 levels. Which we needed for Xmas gifts and separate space for 2 babies to sleep. When I checked in a male owner was unfriendly right away, basically threw key at me not telling me where to go. No info about their resort.
The cabin was clean and appeared nice, but couldn't use the jacuzzi tub cause drain broken, and hot water ran out before it reached jets.
After being gone all day skiing, came back to find the basement cold, 62 degrees. It kept getting colder no matter how much we tried thermostats. That night it got 20 below and we called the owners multiple times and left 2 messages about heat, they didn't answer or even call back the next day. No extra blankets or pillows there. We had to move mattress upstairs and remind you had 2 babies in there. Plus, the kids checked the pool to go swimming, it was covered and closed at 6 pm.

Next day the owner still didn't bother calling. When my mom went to talk about all this he was rude, unapologetic and tried saying we should have just kept calling. His wife just said she forgot to forward calls to her cell phone. My mom was in there about 30 mins arguing. All they refunded was a little over $100. Ridiculous, we lost a whole floor. He was mad cause she said 2 kids, which we had instead of 4 kids; 2 were babies, under year old. What a jerk!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Sadlleyton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbieeickhorst, Owner at Kohl's Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
We do apologize for this problem.. We felt terrible. We credited this customer $130 when a new heater stopped working in one room of a 3 bedroom cabin during the last night of a three night stay. We wish they would have contacted us before going to bed that evening. We tried to compensate them fairly. It was promptly fixed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakopee
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Cabin 206 is a clean, two story home with 3 bedrooms, 2 full baths, 2 living areas, full kitchen complete with dishwasher, and washer/dryer combo. Lake view. Wraparound decks on both levels of home. Comfy beds. Very clean.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mom_MarketingExec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

I picked this resort for my 11-year old daughter and I for our 3-day vacation before school starts again because of the awesomely fun looking water trampoline they touted on their website. Our first full day here, we swam out there and it was covered with seagull poop, literally to the point where you couldn't go on it. Well, maybe it could be cleaned, we thought, so we went into the office to ask the owner about it. That was our first encounter with him. He said when he cleans it, it just gets covered with poop the next day, so he was going to take it out in a few days. I said, well couldn't you please clean it once more, that was the reason we came here and we'd like to use it one day at least? No, he's just going to take it out. He was very cold about it, not even apologetic. And remember, that was our first encounter with him. Next I asked about paddles for the kayak and before telling me they were behind the door of the fish house, he launched into a lecture about how we must return life vests to where we found them and pull boats up to a certain spot.. it was all so odd! Where was our friendly Minnesota "welcome to our resort?" Other missing amenities: sauna and game room not operating, and it seems like they've given up on the swim beach for the season. If they are not offering all of their amenities, they should not be charging full price. I am giving this place 2 stars because it is a beautiful setting, but the lack of welcome and the disappointment of not being able to use the trampoline leads me to 2 stars. If you don't mind these things, this place might be ok for you.

Room Tip: Don't rent one of the poolside rooms. They are claustrophobic with no view and not worth the pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JessicaME2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbieeickhorst, Owner at Kohl's Resort, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Jessica,
I recently deleted my response and am putting up a new one. We are happy to say the seagull problem has been solved. We also have new, more exciting beach toys, a water whoosh, climbing, activity island for guests to enjoy! We set up a sprinkler that keeps the seagulls from landing on our island. We hope you try us again. Contact the resort as we would like to make it right. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bemidji hotels
10.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bemidji
10.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bemidji
9.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Bemidji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bemidji
11.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Bemidji
Candlewood Suites Bemidji
#9 of 10 in Bemidji
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
9.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bemidji Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kohl's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kohl's Resort

Property: Kohl's Resort
Address: 15707 Big Turtle Drive NE, Bemidji, MN 56601
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bemidji
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Bemidji
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kohl's Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a family resort in northern Minnesota. We have an indoor pool, outdoor Jacuzzi hot tub, sauna, and game room at the lodge. We are just north of the headwaters of the Mississippi River. We are located on a chain of three lakes with good fishing, and we have daily summer activities. We rent boats, and provide guests with canoe trips. We offer WiFi, cable, and non-motorized water sports included. Our cabins have full kitchens as well as air conditioning, gas fireplaces, and campfire pits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Kohl's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kohls Hotel Bemidji

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing