We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids Loved It!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Buena Vista Ski Area
Ranked #6 of 17 things to do in Bemidji
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Recreation area accommodates downhill skiers and snowboarders, plus offers more than 25 kilometers of scenic trails for cross-country enthusiasts.
North Dakota
Level Contributor
135 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Kids Loved It!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We are a family of 5- kids 11, 13, 15. We skied 2 days at Buena Vista. We had not been downhill skiing in 8 years. The youngest had a ski lesson with Max. Max was fantastic with him. Max spent extra time with our son and by the time we got the boy back he thought he was a pro. All of the staff was helpful and friendly in the chalet and on the slopes. I liked that all of the runs except the bunny hill have chair lifts. Everything was reasonably priced and in good repair. It was a great way to spend the long weekend with our kids.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank fargonative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    9
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great family day”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We changed our ski plans to Buena Vista last minute and were very glad we did. The rental rates were very reasonable and the food was well priced. Our children had a great time and we really enjoyed skiing on the back side. My husband was a bit disappointed that some of the better black diamond runs had been turned into terrain parks but overall it was a blast. Wish they would change out the rope on the bunny hill to one with handles and chalet needs a bit of updating but would visit again.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ndmom11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackduck, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Skiing”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Very nice ski area, It has a very good beginners area. Nice slopes; well kept. The chalet is very nice with a "north woods" atmosphere. An interesting and fun place to meet friends and have a good time.

Helpful?
Thank MJP777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bemidji
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“This place has been here since 1949”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I have brought all 6 children out there and now 3 grandrildren. We love the Dickenson's they run a wonderful family centered ski and tubing recreation area. Bemidji would not be the same without it. Thank you to the Dickenson's for the many smiles you have been responsible for we love your place. We get season passes every year and what a bargin that is. They have good food, wonderful music provided by Muffie Dickenson on the piano and a huge fireplace to warm up by after playing outside now if that isn't like the best of the best, I don't know what is.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanneD264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
380 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Located at the top of the Continental Divide.”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Walked up the slopes to get a view of both sides of the Continental Divide, and see all the fall colours. One side all the water flows to the Gulf of Mexico, and the other side flows to Hudson's Bay. At this time of the year the colours are awsome!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BadgerMbTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buena Vista Ski Area also viewed

 

Been to Buena Vista Ski Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing