We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pizza made by an Olympic Curling Champion”
Review of Dave's Pizza

Dave's Pizza
Ranked #13 of 91 Restaurants in Bemidji
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery
Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pizza made by an Olympic Curling Champion”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We found this Pizza establishment after the 2006 Turin Olympics, learning Pete Fenson had a Pizza Place in Bemidji, MN. We decided to try it and have never regretted this decision. Great pizza. Lots of varieties and have never been disappointed with any of the pizza I have chosen. Lots of choices.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LakeWinnieNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    28
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Casselton, North Dakota, United States
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Love this Place!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Dave's is a few hours away from our home but we try to make it up there once or twice a year. The Italian Combo on traditional crust is usually the choice. We first heard of Dave's during the 2006 Winter Olympics when Pete Fenson was interviewed about the curling team (they won bronze that year!). They kept asking him about his pizza place in Bemidji. Well off we went to try it out. It is not "upscale" it is just a fun little place in a neighborhood with great pizza.

Don't forget to stop and see Paul Bunyon and Babe the Blue Ox when you are done eating! They are over by the lake:)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Entirely Overrated!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Beware, this is completely over-hyped. Either there are no other good restaurants in Bemidji or Dave has a bunch of friends writing reviews on his behalf. We dined at Dave's last night based on these recommendations and the food was mediocre at best. The pizza crust was nothing special, and the cheese was overcooked, almost like the oven was too hot. Service was lacking as well. Overall - would never visit here again. Don't believe these recommendations.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SoMermazing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Revisiting after 15 years”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I went to BSU. Dave's pizza was always the best and it still is. I visited with an old professor and he brought the pizza from Dave's. It brought back good memories.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alesia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bemidji, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful pizza”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This has been my favorite pizza place since college. I always get the bavarian sausage cajun style. Makes my mouth water just thinking about it. If you're lucky you can meet an Olympic medalist while you're there too. The owner took home the Bronze medal in curlilng from the Winter Olympics. Very cool!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dave's Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Dave's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing