We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of my favorite places on the planet, truly!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paul Bunyan's Animal Land

Paul Bunyan's Animal Land
Ranked #6 of 16 things to do in Bemidji
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on Hwy 2 East, between Bemidji & Cass Lake, Animal Land is Minnesota’s largest wildlife park/petting zoo. Lions, tigers, bears, camels, leopards, cougars, three species of deer, lemurs, monkeys, bobcats, raccoons, fox, elk, llamas, donkeys, reptiles, and exotic birds are just a FEW of the nearly 100 animals who make their home at Animal Land. Indoor learning center, gift shop, picnic areas, playground, handicap accessible, birthday parties, group rates, traveling educational programs and more.
Arvilla
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“One of my favorite places on the planet, truly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

So many fond memories here. We've been coming here since the mid-90's and haven't found a place that makes the kids more happy. Just visited again over the passed weekend with two families and seven kids of all ages.....they loved it! My five year old made the memory of her life here last year when she arrived early and was able to bottle feed the fawns.

The place is absolutely clean, and I am so impressed with the small and large animal varieties. This is no big city zoo, but I'd take it over any one of those every time--so much more personal and interactive. We just love taking our time to enjoy walking along the hillside and having the animals walk right up to us or just sit under a shady tree with the pretty little deer. This years little white ones with the brown patches are so adorable!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tammy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    18
    7
    6
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
West Salem, WI
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Save Your Money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stopped here expecting so much more to see. We knew it wasnt a zoo but still thought there would be more animals to see than there was. The part my kids did enjoy was feeding the deer other than that we where very disappointed.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank momof2boys_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Magical Wonderland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

You can feed the animals!! My family had a great time. Awesome memories!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Betty U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pierz, minnesota
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great for the kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stopped here during our trip to Bemidji. Our kids loved it. A little run down and had a "homemade" feel but our girls had so much fun (ages 2.5 and 8.5). The best part was being able to feed the deer. They are all very tame and will come up to eat out of your hand. The rest of the animals were in cages and you could feed them through a shoot, but the deer were by far our favorites! Prices were very reasonable. Make sure you buy a bag of apples when you pay your admission.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank rskwira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Minnesota
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fun afternoon for the kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

My kids were ages 5, 7, and 9 when we went. There are a lot of neat animals, we were actaully very surprised with the variety. The deer were our favorites, chances to pet and feed them as well as other animals. Great place for a family afternoon! Prices are very reasonable

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank mngirl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paul Bunyan's Animal Land also viewed

 

Been to Paul Bunyan's Animal Land? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing