We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time - Will Definitely Go Back”
Review of Lemon Wolf Cafe

Lemon Wolf Cafe
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Beaver Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $19
Cuisines: American, Norwegian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Lemon Wolf Cafe is a small Bistro, serving only the finest chef prepared meals. We have fresh handcrafted breads, soups and award winning desserts! We specialize in Fresh Lake Superior Fish. Stop in, enjoy a relaxing meal prepared by a Chef who cares! We have a large selection of beer and wine. We are located right on Highway 61 in Beaver Bay.We now serve Cocktails. We do not take reservations from May 1 to Nov 1
Becker, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“First Time - Will Definitely Go Back”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Stopped here finally after visiting the area for years. Wishing I would have stopped sooner! Food was very good - homemade and good size servings.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    481
    94
    20
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Custer, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nothing too special”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

I ate here based on rave reviews, but I wasn't all that impressed. The food was good, but not great. Feel free to try other restaurants in the area and don't go just based on the great reviews.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank hedquist13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matildadoxi, Owner at Lemon Wolf Cafe, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank-you for visiting our cafe. We strive to make everyone's visit as wonderful as can be, including fresh, top quality, house prepared food as well as friendly service in a unique one of a kind atmosphere. Our reviews do reflect these attributes, we are sorry that you did not recognize them. Maybe one day you could give us, as well as the other area places you did not appreciate in your reviews, another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Cafe”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We found the Lemon Wolf 3 years ago and now it's a place we must stop on our regular North Shore visits. The food, the staff, the atmosphere - it's all first rate.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ethel104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matildadoxi, Owner at Lemon Wolf Cafe, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank-you for your wonderful review, we look forward to serving you for many years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gr8 food”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We had lunch there ..the staff was awesome ..food was great ..love the decor..highly recommended. .their tomato basil soup is the best I have had ..

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bonster007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
74 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Tiny place, great food”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We had heard that their locally caught whitefish dinner was reason to visit. Unfortunately, they were out when we visited. The roast turkey meal was delicious and the service was very good. No tap beers, but a decent can/bottle selection. Prices were fair. The place is tiny, but they keep enough space between tables. We'll definitely go back and try again for the whitefish.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissedMuskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matildadoxi, Owner at Lemon Wolf Cafe, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hello! Thanks for visiting us, and we are happy you enjoyed your time with us. We are sorry about running out of the fish, with Lake Superior being so whipped up with the storms recently our local fisherman was having a hard time. We anticipate great availability starting this week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lemon Wolf Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing