We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very good....food not delivered”
Review of Our Blue Anchor Restaurant - CLOSED

Our Blue Anchor Restaurant
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not very good....food not delivered”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Visited December 2013 with extended family members. Food was not delivered as ordered. One husband/wife in the group had to share food, as what he ordered was not delivered even though we inquired multiple times about his order. But, we were billed for it. This used to be a fantastic place to eat in Beaver Bay but is under new ownership & the owner's young children are waitstaff. Is this even legal? I like to give places more than one opportunity to at least meet my expectations, but this missed the mark by so much, I won't return & will not recommend to friends visiting the area. There aren't a lot of choices for breakfast nearby, by the few others far surpass this.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mdoerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    0
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best in Beaver Bay MN”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Once upon a time, the family restaurant was iconic in small town America. It could be relied upon for good food, a great cup of coffee and a taste of local gossip. Today, in this age of eating on the run and franchise chains, it is increasingly rare to find a welcoming place that serves comfort food, so our lunch stop today at the Blue Anchor Cafe in Beaver Bay Minnesota was a step back in time.

The daily special, a Philly cheese steak sandwich was melt in your mouth good; layers of tender seasoned roast beef on a fresh hogie bun, piled with lightly grilled green pepper and red onion, smothered in melted pepper jack cheese and served with crispy fries and old-style dill pickle wedge. A great value too at $25.00 for two portions with beverage.

What made the experience really exceptional though was the service. We were seated at a spotless table by a competent waitress, served cold and hot beverages immediately and our order taken promptly. When one item wasn't available, apologies were offered and a substitute recommended. After checking that our meals were satisfactory, our waitress moved to the next table where a group of businessmen were just finishing their lunch. Hands on hips like a sassy server in 1950's diner, she said, "Alright then, who's paying?" Naomi is her name and she is nine years old! Her brother, Cody, acts as bus boy and dishwasher, while big brother TJ's cooking genius created the unique take on Philly steak sandwich.

America was made strong by families who work together to build successful businesses. It is great to see that this tradition is still alive and well at Our Blue Anchor Restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CMTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Best in Beaver Bay”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

OK, so there is not a lot of choice in Beaver Bay but the "cafe" across the street serves expensive sandwiches and is actually a bar, and the ice cream shop has, well, ice cream. The Blue Anchor is cute, serves good food, and is family-run, which I love.They even have a veggie burger on the menu. I've never felt more welcomed than by the young man who seated us, I think one of the owners took our order and was very friendly and helpful, and another college student who works there told us that he's worked in 5 restaurants and this is his favorite. It's not what I'd call a cheap restaurant but then almost nothing on the north shore is anymore.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shells5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackensack, Minnesota
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very young children serving!?!!”
Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

I stopped to pick up breakfast. Adults,I assume the parents, in the kitchen working and 2 children approximately 8 & 10 serving! The woman in the kitchen telling the little girl she was wrong and the YOUNG girl delivering food to a table crying and then saying to the guest, "did you want that?" I had horrible service and felt really uncomfortable by the fact that young CHILDREN are working. Very unprofessional and not friendly at all. French toast was ok. Omelet not so great. I won't be back. It's a unfortunate. The place is cute.

Helpful?
2 Thank Bethanneplattner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not recommended”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

The child that served us was very cute and friendly. His mother was not the friendliest. The food was flavorless and the prices were way too high for what the served. Probably wouldn't go back

Helpful?
6 Thank 40andtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Our Blue Anchor Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing