We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cove Point Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Superior Lodge(Two Harbors)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Superior Shores Resort(Two Harbors)(Great Value!)
$159
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Voyageur Motel(Two Harbors)
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Country Inn of Two Harbors(Two Harbors)(Great Value!)
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Two Harbors(Two Harbors)(Great Value!)
$114
$103
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior(Tofte)(Great Value!)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (562)
Filter reviews
562 results
Traveler rating
345
158
39
13
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
345
158
39
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorth shorelake superiorpickled herringgooseberry fallsscandinavian stylescandinavian breakfastfish housesplit rock light houselarge fireplacethe cottageslove seatthe superior hiking trailon the rocksfire pithot tubview of the lakebike rentals
Filter
Updating list...
520 - 525 of 562 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2010

I'll try not to repeat all the great things about Cove Point stated in previous reviews. All true. We stayed four nights in a cove side cottage (409 - Harbor House) with my 3 year old, husband and parents. It was lovely. It had a nice view of the cove and point, and very short (1 min) walk to the lodge for swimming or down to the cove to play (the 3 year old loved it) or walk on the point. If you want a 180 view of the lake though, the cove side cottages are not for you, but we liked the view of the cove very much and I think these are easily the most private cottages that are near the lake, and still near the lodge also. My dad is not able to walk far, but he was able to walk to the lodge to watch my daughter swim and sit on the chairs lake side for the view.

I also had a quick peak at the Pine Cone Cottage (farthest south of cove side cottages, there are only 4), and it looked great and had an even lovelier view. LOTS of windows. I definitely recommend these cottages. We've stayed in the lodge itself as well and that was very nice also.

Also note - the layout on-line shown for cottages 408-410 is correct ONLY for 409. 408 and 410 are similar, but the upper level is ONE room (bedroom combined with jacuzzi), not two as shown online. 409 is shown correctly, with the sitting room/jacuzzi a seperate room from the king bedroom. Also, the pine cone cottage is shown incorrectly, another bedroom was added recently - there are two downstairs bedrooms. (This is all shown correctly on the flyer I got at the hotel, not sure why the web site would still be wrong...)

One complaint I have is that we were told there was air conditioning in 409 TWICE (once on the phone when I asked and again at the front desk) and there is not. If you look closely at the web site it also does not mention a/c for those cottages although other cottages have it (I missed that). However, while it was quite hot when we arrived it did cool down nicely at night and both bedrooms had ceiling fans, and their were TWO very nice stand fans that we used to draw cool air in to the cottage - so it was fine. Just surprised to get the wrong info twice.

Another small complaint is that both 5 years ago and now, when we ate at the associated restaurant on the top of the hill (Crossings), the service was abysmally slow. The food was fine, and the pizza is great, but service was very slow. We ordered a kid's meal, salad, two burgers and a pizza and it was around 40 min to get our food (maybe pizza takes that long?). The restaurant was not busy when we arrived although was busy by the time we got our food. Just a warning if you're in a hurry. Also the they used to have smores on the dessert menu, but no longer. We had planned to order them but given the slow service and the lack of anything else interesting on the dessert menu, we did not order dessert. :( Well, the view from the cottage is nicer than from Crossings, so eating in our cottage the other three nights was nicer than a restaurant.

All in all, the lodge/cottages are very nice, and it is a great place to go. We went to Larsmont Cottages last year, and while Larsmont is very, very nice, we definitely prefer Cove Point Lodge cottages for the more authentic up-north, closer to nature feel, with still all the amenities. AND, a cove to canoe/kayak in. There is no doubt in my mind we will be back again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hamlinegrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

We stayed a night enroute rather than as a vacation destination, and were favorably impressed. We had the cheapest room (Level A, $139 less AAA discount). It was small but very well maintained, very clean - the whole hotel seems very well kept. The view was fabulous, 25 yards from the shore, unimpeded view of the expanse of Lake Superior. We opened the windows (you can do that!) and fell asleep to the gentle sound of the waves. No air conditioning in the lowest price rooms, but right next to Lake Superior you really don't need it. The room had a fridge but no microwave, an omission. Bathroom small but also spotless and functional. I like the pine woodsy furniture and decor. The breakfast will seem quirky to most; it features pickled herring, a couple of other pickled products, hardboiled eggs, and assorted packaged cereals, good rolls, muffins, etc. It is free and you can fill up, at least. Did not otherwise eat in the hotel restaurant. Public areas very nice, again well kept, the 3-story central lobby is very impressive.
Location: down the hill away from the highway (Rt. 61), so it's very quiet, a bit secluded, a definite plus. Within 15 miles there are 3 state parks, many hiking opportunities, lots of waterfalls, the bike trail - very convenient spot to enjoy the north shore. Finally, don't miss the short "hike" out to Cove Point itself, an truly beautiful rocky point projecting out into Lake Superior directly in front of the lodge (they appear to own the land). You could sit for hours out there just taking in the beauty.
Summary: one of the nicest resort accommodations we've stayed at, would gladly return if we are in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SocEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2010

Our first stay, we rented one of the Fjord cabins. 510 to be exact. This one is nice because it's right next to a stream so you get to listen to that as well as the lake. It's close to the lodge too but there's some open space between you and the lodge so there's really nobody next to you.
The breakfast is included and just ok. Nothing great, cheese, salami, corn flakes, breads, muffins, herring etc. It's not going to blow your socks off but it fills you up and tastes all the better when it's included. Very friendly staff. Great grounds, fun activities, well kept, especially the new cabins. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmything
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2010

I just spent two days at the Cove Point Lodge with my young children and we had an excellent time. It was our first trip "up north" and I was pleased we chose this lodge. It is quiet and has most amenities you would want. The location was excellent and they have a great fire ring to build fires at night. This is a great place to socialize and meet other travelers to share trail tips if you plan to hike. The pool, steam room, and hot tub were all indoors and were nice. We did not eat at the restaurant on site for breakfast or dinner, but I heard from other guests the food was really good. We did not do the "Scandanavian Breakfast" becuase smoked herring and boiled eggs did not go over well with the kids. The more casual restaurant at the top of the hill served lunch and dinner. Dinner is bar food, but the quesedilla was filled with peppers, onions, and olives and was very good and the kids liked the pizza. It's not a luxury resort, but it was just perfect for us and I will go back for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

This hotel has a very nice location between Split Rock and Tettegouche State Parks and is located on the most complete section of the Gitchi-Gami bike trail. A big bonus is that it is located down a hill from Highway 61 and is one of the most quiet hotels we have stayed at on the North Shore. Typically we drive further down the shore to Grand Marais, but learned we can shorten our drive and enjoy the beautiful area surrounding this hotel.

If you are looking for higher quality than average along the north shore, this hotel would be a good selection.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BirdLooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews