We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Getaway”
Review of Cove Point Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cove Point Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaver Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2014

We had never been to Lake Superior and are so glad that of all the lodging on the Minnesota side of the lake we chose Cove Point Lodge. The corner room we had was wonderful, equipped with fireplace, refrigerator and microwave. The view of the lake, framed by the lovely cove, is spectacular. Staff was very friendly and we enjoyed the breakfasts and light dinner there, again with lovely views of the lake. Even though the lodge was full it did not feel crowded in the least, and we were able to take breakfast down to Mickey's fish house, a little open cabin right on the water, with adirondack chairs and tables, listening to the birds and gentle lapping of the waves. We'll definitely return if ever back in the area.

Room Tip: Corner room had a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank annban09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (551)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 551 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2014

My family has visited this lodge and the cabins around it several times. It is probably my favorite place to stay and the best place we've stayed. Great rooms, great service, and the location is second to none.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kyle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

My boyfriend (now fiancé) surprised me with a birthday weekend getaway to this lodge. It was simply magical. It is one of the most serene places I have ever been to. The staff was accommodating and extremely friendly. To top it off, I had the amazing experience on proposal point. I have memories that I will cherish forever after spending the weekend here. We are definitely going to try to come back every year for our anniversary!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Katie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

I just returned from a 4 day family vacation on the North Shore. We stayed in a Fjord Cottage, which is part of the Cove Point Lodge Property. I can't say enough positive things about this place. There is a daily list of activities for children and adults alike which are hosted by the lodge. One of these is a nightly campfire and they provide fixins for s'mores! Next to the campfire is Mickeys Fish House which is an amazing old shack that has been converted into a game room and deck which overlooks the cove/Lake Superior.
A short walk from Mickeys Fish house is a small beach with a shoreline big enough for the kids to build sandcastles and lay out blankets for relaxation.
There is a folf course on site, bike rentals for the Gitchi Gami trail, a wonderful bar, pool/hot tub, etc etc.
What more could you ask for???

Room Tip: Loved the cottages!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank ylloh r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Walk through the door, see the massive fireplace; you will go nowhere else. As the name depicts, Cove Point is just down off the highway, on a lovely wooded cove with a curved point out to the lake-- great for hiking and photography! There are lots of rocks that are easy to walk over and the lake is always beautiful.
Located close to Split Rock Lighthouse and Gooseberry Falls, the location isn't so far up the shore. Its just right for adding day trips to the areas further up the shore.
This lodge is exclusive but cozy, the decor is Refined North Woods. The rooms all face the lake of course, are all generous size, some with whirlpools. Our favorite is the one on 1st floor with fireplace and deck, which has its own Adirondack chairs. Having not expected any sun tan areas, sunbathing in those chairs on the deck is superb. The lodge has a large deck and the old fish house has been remodeled as a lovely pavilion.
The service is impeccable, reservations are easy, the food is excellent at the fine dining restaurant and at the cafe at the driveway entrance. The coffee is extra good as is their wine selection. I had a glass of "Pink Truck"! Their breakfast is Scandinavian with herring, beet pickles, onions, cheese, sausage, and the familiar cereals, eggs, toast, muffins, juice, and a superb view.
The pool is nice and warm, the hot tub great, and the sauna is a treat. Hiking, biking, canoeing and other activities are available for the active set. There are cookies and coffee available when you arrive. There is a fire at night with s'mores!
There are cabins, town homes and other rental units. We stayed in a house on the hill once with daughter, son-in-law, and family; we stayed in a duplex 2- story unit with our son, daughter-in-law and family. The two of us enjoy the lodge with rooms with a deck.
Before leaving Tuesday we booked a night in September. That will be our 10th stay at Cove Point. It is Lake Superior at its finest.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank La Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Our family has been staying at Cove Point for the last 9 years. All of our stays were in the Pine Cone Cottage with the exception of our most recent stay when we stayed in the Lodge. Cove Point is a most beautiful location with staff committed to their guests satisfaction. We are finding, however, that there are some updates that need to be made. The tv's in the accommodations we've stayed in are very old and small. Some of the chairs should be replaced. With that said we keep returning to this beautiful resort hoping to see improvements as time passes. This place is a gem!

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Judiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This North Shore lodge is a solid choice for anyone looking for a beautiful view and above average facilities. We had a fireplace/deck lodge room on the second floor and it was very clean and well-appointed (in a corporate sort of way). All rooms in the lodge have lake views so I wouldn't pay extra for amenities unless they are important to you. Our fireplace was very small! Not much of a visual presence but it did the job on a cool night.

We chose to have dinner in the lodge after a long day and I'm glad we decided to stay in to eat. Very nice staff and the food was quite good. A little pricey but the portions were decent - if that's your measure of value. I wouldn't say it was fine dining but it was a very good meal. The property really shines with its setting. Make sure to walk out on the point for the best views. It's a pretty easy short nature walk.

Bike rental is available and recommend if you have the time. The lodge is on the Gitchi Gami state trail.

All in all, a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Oldmrhare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaver Bay
12.6 mi away
Grand Superior Lodge
Grand Superior Lodge
#1 of 6 in Two Harbors
553 reviews
21.4 mi away
Superior Shores Resort
Superior Shores Resort
#4 of 6 in Two Harbors
454 reviews
4.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Country Inn of Two Harbors
Country Inn of Two Harbors
#3 of 6 in Two Harbors
208 reviews
23.2 mi away
Voyageur Motel
Voyageur Motel
#6 of 6 in Two Harbors
45 reviews
23.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Two Harbors
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cove Point Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cove Point Lodge

Address: 4614 Highway 61, Beaver Bay, MN
Location: United States > Minnesota > Beaver Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaver Bay
Price Range: $134 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cove Point Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Cove Point Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cove Point Hotel Beaver Bay
Cove Point Beaver Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing