We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed Bag In Beautiful Setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cove Point Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cove Point Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaver Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Mixed Bag In Beautiful Setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

This is a tough review to write, as we wanted so badly to love Cove Point Lodge. Our family of seven, five adults + two grandchildren, had planned for months for our visit to the North Shore. We wanted the perfect cottage in a beautiful setting and checked out at least 50 properties from Beaver Bay all the way to Grand Marais, finally settling on a Fjord Northwoods cottage at Cove Point. From the get-go, I had a hard time communicating with the staff. Emails went unanswered, and phone calls provided vague answers. Having emailed with several nice people on TripAdvisor, I was given lots of good information; however, it all amounted to nothing because of the staff's inattention to my inquiries. For example, I asked them to please send us a little map of the property so we could decide which cottage location we wanted; they said they didn't have such maps. Untrue. TripAdvisor members had told me that of course you're given a map at check-in, to find your cottage, which we finally received when we checked in. Sending one in advance would have been the price of a stamp. Bad customer service. We resorted to googlemaps to try to guess cottage locations. Not to be deterred, we went ahead and rented two cottages, anticipating another part of our family being there at the same time. We had deposits on a Fjord Northwoods, and the Split Rock Pines. Fjord is located right on the lake, with somewhat obstructed views, but close to lodge and amenities. Split Rock is up on the ridge line with a long steep hike to lake & lodge, but an absolutely gorgeous view from the large balcony. We ultimately cancelled the Split Rock reservation when the other part of our family couldn't make it. We felt the Fjord Northwoods would be better suited to the seven of us who would share it. I made the necessary calls and got confirmation of cancellation, in writing. Either they're unorganized, indifferent, I don't know what...but upon arrival, we had been booked into the Split Rock (the one we had cancelled several weeks prior). This caused much confusion, time consumption, back & forth showing them my paperwork on the whole thing, and the news that the Fjord we had rented (521) was occupied and would be during our entire visit. No similar cottages were available. There was nothing left to do but accept the booking into the cottage we had cancelled. We checked it out and decided to move in and deal with it, but not before assurance that they would give us a major discount, which they did. They were very apologetic but bottom line, they screwed up. The ladies at the front desk were nice, but very unprofessional in the booking & communication area. I'm not a complainer and had heard similar stories from other TripAdvisor members, so our experience served to validate that. Fortunately Split Rock Pines turned out to be a lovely, upscale-ish, rustic-style cottage that we enjoyed, but we weren't able to walk out the door and be at the lodge, to go swimming in the indoor pool, or to use the other lodge facilities...it required a short trip in the car, find parking, etc. Not a big deal, but not what we signed up for, either. All that being said, we enjoyed our stay once settled in. The grandchildren loved the pool and it was nice to come home to after a long day of sightseeing. The lodge property is well-maintained and attractive. I would recommended Cove Point but I would certainly try to nail down specifics and details before booking. Good luck with that. :) If anyone needs more info on Split Rock Pines cottage, please email me. It's a beautiful cottage but somewhat lacking in kitchen amenities, and we found no information as to what to do with trash, etc. If you enjoy a more rustic setting, this might be a good choice for you, though. The Cove Point website is a mess, IMO, with pictures depicting cottages and rooms unlike the ones you actually end up in. It gives a false impression and I find that off-putting. Having traveled the world, we've learned to be sure of what we're getting beforehand, and have never had trouble with that until our visit to Cove Point Lodge. Still, you can't beat the location and the view so this is not meant as a totally negative review, just the facts as we experienced them.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jjhc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    139
    36
    12
    6
See reviews for
114
284
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
230 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is a great place to experience Lake Superior! We stayed in the lodge and every room has a great view of the lake. The property is beautiful & adirondack chairs scatter the grounds. There's an indoor pool, sauna & hot tub that are nice. The staff was great! There are two restaurants... One casual dining that had good food. The other was fine dining & we didn't try it, but the menu looked good. Theres also a nice lobby sitting area as well as a cute "fish house" for people to gather & relax. We'd certainly stay again. As for the room, the bed was very firm, but comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraBeth55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

If you want a great getaway Cove Point Lodge is the place to go! I stayed here with my husband for 2 nights in the room with a queen bed, jacuzzi with a deck out looking Lake Superior! We had a great time!!! Staff are extremely helpful and nice as well. I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelwourm22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Arkansas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Lake Superior isn't really my kind of place, but Cove Point still made me feel really at home. I love everything about it and I'd highly recommend it. It's very well kept and very pretty. Great views of the lake, too.

Also, make sure you check out Cove Point.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We had an amazing 3 night stay at one of the Fjord Village cabins while visiting the Duluth area for the Tall Ships Festival. We were right on the shore with an amazing view of Lake Superior. The cabin was a 2 BR, 2 BA unit and was extremely clean. There is a nice restaurant in the lodge and cabin renters can indulge in the breakfast for $6. The lodge also provides items for making s'mores around the campfire, however, the weather didn't quite cooperate for us. The beds were very comfortable and the kitchen was adequately stocked with most of the necessary items for fixing meals at home. Just up the lane was a great little restaurant - Cove Point Crossing - they have great pizza, sandwiches and a full bar. The lodge is centrally located to points of interest on the North Shore - Gooseberry Falls, Split Rock Lighthouse, Gun Flint Trail, Two Harbors Lighthouse, waterfalls, etc., etc. It is a beautiful area and the cabin was a great place to come back to each evening. Highly recommend!!

Room Tip: Some of the cottages have their view a little restricted by the trees on the shore - ask for one wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Farmerswife658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central MN
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We spent two nights at Cove Point Lodge in a lodge room with a queen bed and loveseat. We found a fantastic internet special. Room is on the small side but very adequate - queen size bed, loveseat, table with two chairs, small armoire with small tv inside and two drawers underneath, plus a small bar with small frig. and coffee maker! The lobby is absolutely beautiful with a huge fireplace - when we walked through in the evening and couples were sitting around the fire either visiting with each other or sitting at small tables in the area, playing checkers or other games. A Scandinavian breakfast is served each morning in the dining room - if you stay in the lodge, it's included in your room price. We did not have dinner in the dining room in the evenings, but the smells wafting from the dining area were fantastic! Each lodge room has a view of the lake, and there are paths to hike out to the point on the property. The only downside for us was the bed - very firm; we're used to a soft, plushy mattress. Cove Point Lodge is a lovely, quiet, and relaxing place to unwind right on the shores of Lake Superior. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: Our room did NOT have air conditioning. Rooms with more amenities DO have air conditioning. If thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alleman, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is like our second home away from home. We love the North Shore and Cove Point Lodge is so convenient to anywhere you want to go on Hwy. 61. Everyone is so friendly here and helpful to making your stay the best possible. I love the views for all the rooms, the cleanliness of the place and the helpfulness of all the staff. There is so much to do: hike to their cove, board games, pool, frisbee golf, bike rentals, sit in their adirondeck chairs and enjoy the sights and sounds of the shoreline.We have stayed here 3 times now and will be back.

Room Tip: All are wonderful, we enjoy the king with a deck and fireplace, even in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaver Bay
12.6 mi away
Grand Superior Lodge
Grand Superior Lodge
#3 of 6 in Two Harbors
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
21.3 mi away
Superior Shores Resort
Superior Shores Resort
#4 of 6 in Two Harbors
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
4.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Two Harbors
23.3 mi away
Country Inn of Two Harbors
Country Inn of Two Harbors
#2 of 6 in Two Harbors
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
23.2 mi away
Voyageur Motel
Voyageur Motel
#6 of 6 in Two Harbors
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cove Point Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cove Point Lodge

Property: Cove Point Lodge
Address: 4614 Highway 61, Beaver Bay, MN
Location: United States > Minnesota > Beaver Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaver Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cove Point Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Cove Point Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cove Point Hotel Beaver Bay
Cove Point Beaver Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing