We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cove Point Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
IMA Mariner Motel(Silver Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Voyageur Motel(Two Harbors)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Country Inn of Two Harbors(Two Harbors)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (562)
Filter reviews
562 results
Traveler rating
344
159
39
13
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
344
159
39
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorth shorelake superiorpickled herringgooseberry fallsscandinavian stylescandinavian breakfastfish housesplit rock light houselarge fireplacethe cottageslove seatthe superior hiking trailon the rocksfire pithot tubview of the lakebike rentals
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
382 - 387 of 562 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed one night in a queen jacuzzi room...perfect for a couple's getaway. Loved the scenery and walking around the cove. We also loved the breakfast... One of the best we've had at a hotel. Had a great experience!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Shana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Our second stay at Cove Point and we will no doubt be back. There are few more beautiful settings on the shore. Rooms are a bit pricey, but not for the area. Breakfast was OK, dinner in the dining room was very good to excellent. Had burgers one night at the bar/restaurant Cove Point Crossing and service was excruciatingly slow. There seemed to be a problem with the kitchen staff. Our waitress discounted or meal, but we would have preferred our meal on time.

Room Tip: Both the Point and Lake Affect suites are very nice. The view is spectacular.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Cove Point sits right on the shore of Lake Superior adjacent to a beautiful small cove. The rooms are all facing the lake, so with the windows open you can hear the waves washing against the rocks. It's very soothing at night, if the weather allows keeping the windows open.

Our room had a queen bed, which was very comfortable, a smallish tube TV with a lineup of perhaps three or four dozen cable channels, a jacuzzi, and a mini-fridge. It was relatively small, but comfortable enough.

The common area of the lodge had, aside from the check-in area, a small gift shop, a large sitting area with a large fireplace, and the restaurant. The breakfast buffet was included with our room stay, and included a variety of rolls, muffins, cheeses, cold cuts, seasoned scrambled eggs, and some kind of breakfast meat (on our three days it was sausage links, bacon, and canadian bacon), plus juice and coffee. My wife and I enjoyed the breakfast, but did not eat any other meals in the main lodge restaurant.

The hotel also has a small bar/restaurant near the property entrance on Hwy 61, which serves a small selection of locally brewed beer on tap (as well as a variety of national brands), pizzas and an interesting menu of sandwiches. We had the pizza one night (which was good, but not great), and sandwiches on another (both good). Portions are ample. Go hungry, especially if you order appetizers, which are nearly a meal by themselves.

The hotel location is superb. The lodge and cottages are all facing the lake, and all of the rooms have great views. There's a short hiking path around the cove that takes you to the point, where you'll have great views in both directions along the shoreline. It's all quite rugged and very photogenic.

Nearby you'll find some of Minnesota's greatest natural treasures, with a host of cascading rivers and waterfalls to visit. About an hour north of the hotel is the north shore Mecca of Grand Marias, a charming if somewhat touristy small town with some fun shopping and great food. Try "My Sister's Place" for a delicious and eclectic menu of burgers and sandwiches. Also try the alpine slide at Lutsen for some great summer fun.

Overall I'd probably rate it about 4.75, with a small deduction for a somewhat smallish room and older TV. Not quite perfect, but there wasn't enough wrong with it to merit a rating of four instead of five.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JGarrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

If you are looking for a incredible place to stay that is/has above all standards of cleanliness, friendly staff, great rooms, great scenery, ideal location, lots of activities, and just plain perfect, Cove Point Lodge is by far the best to stay. I cannot wait to go back. It truly makes the experience of the North Shore complete!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevo0828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Beautiful lodge with all lodge rooms facing Lake Superior. Great location for north shore parks. This is our 3rd time coming here as a couple and we love it. Complimentary breakfast in dining room on the lake. Comfortable chairs in the lodge by the fireplace and on the grass next to the lake. Only complaint is it is not air conditioned and can get hot at night in the summer. The beds have a nice comforter but that can be too hot. A light blanket for the summer nights would be welcome.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms can get hot in the summer after a hot day.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanD601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews