We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Poor value when paying peak season prices” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cove Point Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cove Point Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaver Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Poor value when paying peak season prices”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at the Cove Point Lodge the nights of October 5th and 6th. We chose the hotel due to its location and availability late in the season. We spent a total of $624 for the two nights for a king room on the second floor with a small whirlpool in it. The room just isn't worth that kind of money.

The bathroom was cheaply decorated (it looked like mid-range stuff you could get at Home Depot, not what you'd expect to see in a luxury or even a nice hotel room), the walls were a bit thin, and the water pressure was a joke. Every time another guest stopped or started their shower, flushed their toilet, etc., the pipes would shudder and the water pressure and temperature would change. There was also no hot breakfast offered. I'm sorry, but for over $200 a night (let alone $300 during peak season), one expects a high-quality hot breakfast, not a quaint traditional Norwegian continental-style breakfast.

I stay at numerous hotels around the world (I'm gold status with one chain and silver with two others this year) so I feel like I know what I am talking about. Comparing this hotel to the $200 per night hotels I spent time in on Grand Cayman and Barbados recently, this one looks like the Motel 6. It is a nice place really, it's just not worth the peak season rate. If you can pay $150 or less for the king room, book it. Otherwise, go elsewhere.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a view of Lake Superior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russ144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    133
    36
    11
    6
See reviews for
110
271
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Barring a missed visit last year, my husband and I have stayed here for 14 years. We came back this year with the family we always stay with and I was pleasantly surprised. There have been some very nice changes. Front desk was terrific; in the past they were not very friendly or welcoming. If you wanted to book your same room for the next year and it was taken, tough luck. This year that scenario occurred again, the difference was that the Front Desk people were ready with an alternative and made sure that we knew they wanted us back. A great change. The food was great in the dining room and they really tried hard to make sure we were happy. In the past it was slow and while the servers were friendly, it always felt like they were not enjoying their jobs. The pizza from the restaurant up the hill was great. All in all I felt like the property has really stepped up to the plate. There is soooo much competition on the shore now and it feels like Cove Point gets that. We were pretty turned off a couple if years ago after staying at some other places. I'm glad we gave it another shot. I also want to note that we stayed in a cottage and not the lodge. It's been a few years since we stayed in the lidge, but I can say our cottage experiences have been great.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MinnAvidTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We vowed to return to Cove Point Lodge after a one-night stay last fall. We just returned from a wonderful return weekend visit, and will definitely go again. It's a great location for weekend travelers from the Twin Cities - only an hour or so past Duluth. The setting is gorgeous, with spectacular views of Lake Superior and great hiking opportunities right on site. We hiked a 6-mile loop trail that is part of the Superior Hiking Trail and then enjoyed a nice lunch at the restaurant up the hill from the Lodge. We enjoyed the hot tub and sauna and relaxing in the lobby lounge area. The complimentary breakfast is authentic Scandinavian, but not all that appealing for the rest of us. The lodge rooms are small but comfortable. There is a great variety of activities available, but it's also the kind of place that tempts you to just sit and read by the fireplace.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmm153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed one night of our honeymoon at Cove Point Lodge. All we can say is, WOW! They know how to treat guests! Shelly at the front desk was amazing!! Once she found out we were on our honeymoon, she treated us like a queen and king! Connie was our waitress in the restaurant and she also treated us like royalty! We loved our room...it was so cool to have the window open to hear the waves crashing and the fireplace on to keep us warm. It was so relaxing and wonderful. Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank audra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Oaks, MN
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We spent the weekend at Cove Point Lodge for some hiking. The Lodge was great - very clean and comfortable with great views of Lake Superior. We stayed in one of the State Rooms on the second floor and liked the accomodations. The staff was also very friendly and helpful.
The location is was ideal for us. We visited the Split Rock Lighthouse and hiked along the shoreline. Gooseberry Falls is also nearby with lots of hiking trails as well. On our last day we hiked the Cove Point Loop Trail, which we thought was 5.9 miles from the Lodge roundtrip. The Cove Point Loop Trail is actually 5.9 miles and to get there it is another 1.3 miles (2.6 miles roundtrip) for a total of 8.5 miles. It was a bit longer than we expected, but was well worth it. Absolutely beautiful scenery!
The restaurant in the main lodge was very good. Service was a bit slow, but food was excellent.
We look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vacation399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

I own and operate a small Boutique Inn and I know what good customer service is and how much it's worth. These folks know it too!
I was a walk-in and received 'return guest' treatment. The front desk was accommodating and went out of their way to make my stay pleasant, I had prompt service on a minor technical (Internet) call in the evening and personal help finding a great smoked fish vendor.
The cabin was spotless and the view from the deck spectacular - too bad I couldn't stay longer to enjoy the room, the pool and the great service.

Room Tip: Book ahead to be assured of the choice you desire. Cabins are better but also bigger and more expen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colgate North Dakota
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

This was our 2nd year of going to Cove Point Lodge for the Fall Colors. It was so relaxing and with the addition of the bike rentals and massage services it made it that much more fun!!! I would recommend Cove Point to anyone travelling to the North Shore.

Room Tip: They are all lake facing...just have to decide if you want a fireplace or an in room jacuzzi!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank packratmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaver Bay
21.3 mi away
Superior Shores Resort
Superior Shores Resort
#4 of 6 in Two Harbors
3.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
23.3 mi away
Country Inn of Two Harbors
Country Inn of Two Harbors
#2 of 6 in Two Harbors
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
12.6 mi away
Grand Superior Lodge
Grand Superior Lodge
#3 of 6 in Two Harbors
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Two Harbors
4.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver Bay
23.2 mi away
Voyageur Motel
Voyageur Motel
#6 of 6 in Two Harbors
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cove Point Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cove Point Lodge

Property: Cove Point Lodge
Address: 4614 Highway 61, Beaver Bay, MN
Location: United States > Minnesota > Beaver Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaver Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cove Point Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Cove Point Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cove Point Hotel Beaver Bay
Cove Point Beaver Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing