We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Beautiful location, so-so service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cove Point Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cove Point Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaver Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, so-so service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

My Husband and I have stayed at this resort every year since they first opened. You cannot say anything bad about the location or room set-up, every room looks out on the water, just beautiful. All that aside this place needs some upgrades. They have much more competition now then they did five years ago. The restaurant has good food but they have barely changed their menu in 10 years. Service has been slow for years. The Front Desk staff can be pretty rude, I put it down to lack of training. They really don't know how to handle problems in a Customer Friendly way. I think the owners figure that if they lose a customer, another will replace them so no big deal. I have always been surprised by their inability to acknowledge their customers who return year after year. I stayed at another place down the shore and on our second visit, they had a note telling us they were glad we were back. Nineteen years at Cove Point and nada.

We won't be going back this year, other places have grabbed our attention. I hope that Management realizes It's time for some upgrades and better training for their staff. It has the potential to be truly great instead of just OK.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MinnAvidTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    128
    34
    11
    6
See reviews for
103
261
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

The "resort" is very nice on the outside and clean all over. The rooms are small but ok. The breakfast is good for anyone - - hot 7 cold cereal, yogurt, muffins, juice, coffee, friut, and it also has some herring and other stuff I wouldn't eat but I filled up just fine - it comes with the room.

The sports bar at the top of the hill is what you would expect and good for family as well.

The fire pit area is nice and friendly - yes there were smores pack at the front desk.

Hot tub and pool area is good as well - sometimes crowded at peak times 7-9 pm.

All in all a good place to stay - I would go back but would need to figure out a better room. Our room would be good for 2 but not 3.

This place like many on the water at The North Shore is somewhat pricey.

We took advantage of the view for all of an hour or two in 3 days 2 nights.

also ask for a room with blinds the sun is bright in the morning.

Room Tip: get the "pictures & layouts" of the roome before you select your accomodations and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hummer_in_Edina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We spent a night here while viewing the fall leaves in Sept 2011. We were in a king room with a fireplace and deck. It was nice in size and included a frig and microwave. Our favorite part was leaving our deck door open and hearing the waves crashing all night long. I liked how all the rooms get the benefit of a lakeview. The lodge is very well kept, rustic in decoration, and quiet. It was neat to see people partaking of the games and puzzles located by the fireplace in the main lobby. We walked out to the point - a neat view! We enjoyed an evening meal at the lodge. Our only complaint was the SLOW service. It took over an hour to receive our food. Also, ask for a table not located by the kitchen door - it can get annoying! We also tried out the swimming pool and whirlpool. Very nice for couples and families. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Check for specials on the internet before you make a reservation. They have some good deals!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJS1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Cove Point is located on a fabulous piece of property on the north shore of Lake Superior.
Every room has a view of the lake and it is spectacular.
We had a regular lodge room with a queen bed and love seat. It felt a bit tight. No light on one side ot the bed so reading in bed was only possible for one.
Evening bonfire was a nice touch. the hike out to tne point was great with the added reward of a great view ot the lodge.
Morning breakfast is sort of Scandinavian with pickled herring, cheeses, salami, hard boiled eggs. Also yogurt, caraway toast, hard rolls, and store bought muffins.

Room Tip: Look at all your options before choosing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MDJ334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Benton, Minnesota
Level Contributor
134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

This is a very cute resort that is located right on Lake Superior. We stayed in the main lodge. It all has that rustic feel about it. The rooms are quaint. All of the rooms in the lodge have a view of the water. Breakfast was very unique. They offer traditional Scandinavian food. They had pickled herring!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are good. The price is a little high, but you are paying for your location ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lahanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkins, Arkansas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed at Cove Point Lodge in July, 2011. We had an awesome stay. The only negative thing I would say is that most standard rooms aren't air conditioned. It was unseasonably warm when we were there & it was uncomfortable the first night. The rest of the stay was fine. We would return!

Room Tip: Opt for the "better than standard" for a more comfortable stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJohnson_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseau, Minnesota
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Initially I had made reservations elsewhere in the area. Our daughter checked that place out for us and asked if we would rather have a view of the lake rather than a cemetery. That did it! We cancelled, and she made reservations for us at Cove Point Lodge.

We stayed four nights in a "barrier free" room on third floor. Everything was perfect - clean, clean room; peaceful and quiet; great breakfast; excellent evening dinners; and great service!
We would definitely return, and gladly recommend for anyone.

Costs are reasonable and in line with other first class lodging.

Room Tip: Check their web sites for specials. We paid for three nights and got the fourth free. All rooms fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaver Bay
21.3 mi away
Superior Shores Resort
Superior Shores Resort
#4 of 6 in Two Harbors
3.5 of 5 stars 379 reviews
23.3 mi away
Country Inn of Two Harbors
Country Inn of Two Harbors
#2 of 6 in Two Harbors
4.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
4.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Grand Superior Lodge
Grand Superior Lodge
#3 of 6 in Two Harbors
4.0 of 5 stars 434 reviews
23.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Two Harbors
23.2 mi away
Voyageur Motel
Voyageur Motel
#6 of 6 in Two Harbors
3.5 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cove Point Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cove Point Lodge

Property: Cove Point Lodge
Address: 4614 Highway 61, Beaver Bay, MN
Location: United States > Minnesota > Beaver Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaver Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cove Point Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Cove Point Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cove Point Hotel Beaver Bay
Cove Point Beaver Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing