We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (587)
Filter reviews
587 results
Traveler rating
356
164
41
16
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
356
164
41
16
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scandinavian breakfast north shore pickled herring lake superior gooseberry falls scandinavian style adirondack chairs fish house split rock light house the cottages large fireplace love seat on the rocks the superior hiking trail fire pit hot tub hear the waves crashing
Filter
Updating list...
507 - 512 of 587 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2011

The "resort" is very nice on the outside and clean all over. The rooms are small but ok. The breakfast is good for anyone - - hot 7 cold cereal, yogurt, muffins, juice, coffee, friut, and it also has some herring and other stuff I wouldn't eat but I filled up just fine - it comes with the room.

The sports bar at the top of the hill is what you would expect and good for family as well.

The fire pit area is nice and friendly - yes there were smores pack at the front desk.

Hot tub and pool area is good as well - sometimes crowded at peak times 7-9 pm.

All in all a good place to stay - I would go back but would need to figure out a better room. Our room would be good for 2 but not 3.

This place like many on the water at The North Shore is somewhat pricey.

We took advantage of the view for all of an hour or two in 3 days 2 nights.

also ask for a room with blinds the sun is bright in the morning.

Room tip: get the "pictures & layouts" of the roome before you select your accomodations and then call the front desk to talk about the rooms and specific rates. It gets complex when talking about the various rooms at the 3 tiers.
Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hummer_in_Edina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We spent a night here while viewing the fall leaves in Sept 2011. We were in a king room with a fireplace and deck. It was nice in size and included a frig and microwave. Our favorite part was leaving our deck door open and hearing the waves crashing all night long. I liked how all the rooms get the benefit of a lakeview. The lodge is very well kept, rustic in decoration, and quiet. It was neat to see people partaking of the games and puzzles located by the fireplace in the main lobby. We walked out to the point - a neat view! We enjoyed an evening meal at the lodge. Our only complaint was the SLOW service. It took over an hour to receive our food. Also, ask for a table not located by the kitchen door - it can get annoying! We also tried out the swimming pool and whirlpool. Very nice for couples and families. We would stay here again.

Room tip: Check for specials on the internet before you make a reservation. They have some good deals!
Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJS1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Cove Point is located on a fabulous piece of property on the north shore of Lake Superior.
Every room has a view of the lake and it is spectacular.
We had a regular lodge room with a queen bed and love seat. It felt a bit tight. No light on one side ot the bed so reading in bed was only possible for one.
Evening bonfire was a nice touch. the hike out to tne point was great with the added reward of a great view ot the lodge.
Morning breakfast is sort of Scandinavian with pickled herring, cheeses, salami, hard boiled eggs. Also yogurt, caraway toast, hard rolls, and store bought muffins.

Room tip: Look at all your options before choosing
Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MDJ334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

This is a very cute resort that is located right on Lake Superior. We stayed in the main lodge. It all has that rustic feel about it. The rooms are quaint. All of the rooms in the lodge have a view of the water. Breakfast was very unique. They offer traditional Scandinavian food. They had pickled herring!

Room tip: I think all the rooms are good. The price is a little high, but you are paying for your location right on the water.
Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lahanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed at Cove Point Lodge in July, 2011. We had an awesome stay. The only negative thing I would say is that most standard rooms aren't air conditioned. It was unseasonably warm when we were there & it was uncomfortable the first night. The rest of the stay was fine. We would return!

Room tip: Opt for the "better than standard" for a more comfortable stay
Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LJohnson_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews