We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Neat place”
Review of Camp 61 Bunkhouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beaver Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camp 61 Bunkhouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Beaver Bay B&B and Inns
Mendenhall, Mississippi
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Neat place”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

My husband I I stayed at the Camp 61 Motel in Beaver Bay on a trip to the North Shore in September. It was very clean, and the food in the restaurant was excellent. It only has 8 rooms, so it was very cozy and quiet. The front desk closes at 9pm, though, so if you are going to be late arriving, you need to let them know.
Also, our room had the living area (couch, tv, microwave, refrigerator and bathroom downstairs and the bed was in a loft. I was afraid that this would be a problem since I usually get up a couple of times in the night to go to the bathroom. We left the bathroom light on so I could see and wouldn't fall and thus had no problem. However, if you have trouble with stairs your need to let them know. I don't remember them asking us if it would be a problem when we were making the reservation and I know they didn't ask when we were checking in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dda601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    16
    14
    2
    4
See reviews for
10
22
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
115 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Coming to the area for a wedding over Columbus Day weekend proved easy enough to get a room for a couple of nights. But the smell of febreeze was a bit overpowering and the room overlooked the parking lot. Also there were no hooks for hanging clothes and no hair dryer, but I guess the price reflects the low budget. We found the owners to be easily accessible, even tho they didn't open the lobby until after 10:30 on Sunday. The restaurant was quite good, the walleye was yummy and there were a good selection of beers. I would definitely stay again when up on the North Shore!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbc1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort White, Florida
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed 1 nite, Oct. 9th. No matter how much we smiled at Owner & tried to engage him in a conversation or to just ask a question he was very somber, never smiled once. Even taking my res. he wasn't friendly. Not advised our beds were up 2 flights of stairs! Workers were very nice. No phone in rooms. No Coffee in rooms or lobby & their own restaurant doesn't even open until 11am?.? We ate dinner, it was ok. Clean room. Being a travel agent, I say for $20. more you get a Great Stay at the Amercinn in Silverbay. Sorry. Little smile and friendliness goes
along way.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taradog999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glencoe, Minnesota
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed here on our trip to the north shore. Had a 2 level room. Bathroom and love seat down below beds upstairs. Stairs were very noisy as well as the bath fan in the bathroom. Walls are thin and you can here alarms, cell phones, conversation, etc. Did not clean or vacuum room just did bathroom and towels
Restaurant was just ok. Expensive for what you get. Saw other reviews about the pull pork being great but it was average at best. Had ribs and they were just ok. building closes at 10pm. Access to the building is limited. Owners are not customer friendly. Workers were very nice.Probably would not return to this place. You might want to try something else.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trobb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MN
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Returned to Camp 61 for another few days of fall colors,geocaching, hiking and photography. Stayed in room 2,probably because I was solo, which was actually smaller than the bunkhouse rooms, which are cheaper and have more furniture (a dresser and chair- room 2 only has a chair) .Had a couple dinners at the restaurant which were OK. Service was OK. Internet in the room was sporadic at best, although was fine in the lounge area. The hotel rooms were much noisier than the bunk house was last year.

Room Tip: If you're just need a clean, quiet cheap place to sleep, ask for the bunkhouse in the back. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaffroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Very nice place to go four wheeling and see the fall colors. These people have no desire to have people four wheeling and staying in their hotel! Our trucks and trailers where blocked in, by the owners truck, when we returned and wanted to load our four wheelers. Owner seems to have no customer service experience at all. Then accused one in our party of trying to walk out on his bill, only to finially let it go, without an apology, after calling the waitress at home to confirm that they did pay. Don't waste your money pay extra and stay someplace they will appreciate the business.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank BadService2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Beaver Bay hotels

Hibbing, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed here for our anniversary weekend exploring the north shore. Todd and Rachel were pleasant and inviting. We stayed in room #6. We enjoyed the room's layout and were surprised how spacious the room was. Dinner was great. I had the black bean burger with fries and my honey had a burger with fries. We both enjoyed our meals. For desert we had chocolate cake infused with kahlua and cheesecake with a cinnamon graham cracker crust. Both were delicious although the portions were on the small side. Overall, we had a great experience and agree that our rooms were very clean as well.

Room Tip: Room number 6 had a nice layout and was very spacious. It is a loft and wouldn't be recommended...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krystal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaver Bay
0.9 mi away
Cove Point Lodge
Cove Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Beaver Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
3.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver Bay
13.5 mi away
Grand Superior Lodge
Grand Superior Lodge
#2 of 6 in Two Harbors
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Two Harbors
24.2 mi away
Country Inn of Two Harbors
Country Inn of Two Harbors
#3 of 6 in Two Harbors
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
24.1 mi away
Voyageur Motel
Voyageur Motel
#6 of 6 in Two Harbors
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp 61 Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp 61 Bunkhouse

Property: Camp 61 Bunkhouse
Address: 1017 Main Street, Beaver Bay, MN
Location: United States > Minnesota > Beaver Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Beaver Bay
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing