We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Northshore camp”
Review of Camp 61 Bunkhouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beaver Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camp 61 Bunkhouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Beaver Bay B&B and Inns
Rochester, MN
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Northshore camp”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Returned to Camp 61 for another few days of fall colors,geocaching, hiking and photography. Stayed in room 2,probably because I was solo, which was actually smaller than the bunkhouse rooms, which are cheaper and have more furniture (a dresser and chair- room 2 only has a chair) .Had a couple dinners at the restaurant which were OK. Service was OK. Internet in the room was sporadic at best, although was fine in the lounge area. The hotel rooms were much noisier than the bunk house was last year.

Room Tip: If you're just need a clean, quiet cheap place to sleep, ask for the bunkhouse in the back. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaffroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    16
    14
    2
    4
See reviews for
10
23
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Very nice place to go four wheeling and see the fall colors. These people have no desire to have people four wheeling and staying in their hotel! Our trucks and trailers where blocked in, by the owners truck, when we returned and wanted to load our four wheelers. Owner seems to have no customer service experience at all. Then accused one in our party of trying to walk out on his bill, only to finially let it go, without an apology, after calling the waitress at home to confirm that they did pay. Don't waste your money pay extra and stay someplace they will appreciate the business.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank BadService2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Beaver Bay hotels

Hibbing, Minnesota, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed here for our anniversary weekend exploring the north shore. Todd and Rachel were pleasant and inviting. We stayed in room #6. We enjoyed the room's layout and were surprised how spacious the room was. Dinner was great. I had the black bean burger with fries and my honey had a burger with fries. We both enjoyed our meals. For desert we had chocolate cake infused with kahlua and cheesecake with a cinnamon graham cracker crust. Both were delicious although the portions were on the small side. Overall, we had a great experience and agree that our rooms were very clean as well.

Room Tip: Room number 6 had a nice layout and was very spacious. It is a loft and wouldn't be recommended...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krystal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, WI
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We were on the motorcycle & the night was getting late...needed place at last minute. Room was clean, large bathroom. Beds could be updated. TV had poor reception. Service at their restaurant was very very slow. Just ok food. Half block down the road from them is a fabulous bakery

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovegoodfood899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, MN-
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

A cozy little hotel with a restaurant and a good size sitting room, both done in a nice rustic style. The restaurant is good, if a little bit pricy, but friendly and convenient. The sitting room is a nice place to read, browse some of their books or play cards. The rooms are nice and clean, but don't have any kind of a view and the interior sound insulation seems to be lacking. Having said that the price is very reasonable for the location and what you get.

Speaking of what you get, there is a Holiday station store next door which makes for convenience if you need some snacks, toiletries, etc and a laundromat right next to that. If you think accomodation or restaurants might be better in Silver Bay, being a bigger town... I think not. There is one restaurant in Silver Bay compared to something like 3 or 4 in Beaver Bay and they are not as convenient to the lodging, which consists in my mind solely of the more expensive AmericInn next to the lake.

I give this place an overall high review for being great value for the money, with one notch off for the seemingly low internal sound insulation. The place offers all that you could want in one place and has great atmosphere. If the property were by the lake it would have to command a much higher price. The lakeside stuff to see nearby is some of my favorite of the north shore within MN, so I think it's a great place to stay.

Room Tip: rooms 1-8 (possibly higher) are in the main building with the restaurant, but there are some new uni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kurt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed here on our motorcycle trip around the lake and found it to have everything we needed. We stayed in room 1 which had a second bedroom upstairs. The room was a good size and the bathroom was large. Most importantly, everything was very clean. The bed was hard but very comfortable sleep. Bathroom towels were nice and thick. You may want to bring your own shampoo as the bar of soap is to be the shampoo also. The tv reception wasn't terrific and no wifi in the room but not a big deal. Could get wifi in the lobby. Food at their restaurant was top notch although it isn't open for breakfast. Staff was very helpful with information on things to see.

Room Tip: Room 1 is spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Camp 61 is a nice place for the price. However, I am a little torn in giving it 4 circles. If there were a 3-1/2 circle, that would get my vote. Here's why:

1. The room we had was a loft. It was huge! And it was cozy all at the same time. This was a plus in my eyes.

2. There was a decent size flat screen TV, a microwave, & mini-fridge in the room.

3. Although the room was so big, and had all the other accessories to boot, the tv reception was terrible and all fuzzy (it wasn't just this one room either - we booked 2 and both rooms had the same problem ).

4. The beds were firm, but not too hard thankfully.

5. There was only one pillow per person and they were very flat. We asked for more pillows and were told they only had 2 left (they were completely out of pillows after that!).

6. The bathroom had a toilet & stand up shower. The sink was in the entrance way outside of the bathroom making it easier for people to get ready in the morning.

7. The shower was small, but it was clean and even though it took a little while to get the hot water going, it stayed hot for all of us. Big bonus there!

8. The lighting was pretty low in the entrance area of the room, which is where the mirror and sink were for washing up or getting ready in the am. Hard to put on makeup in such poor light, but thankfully we were at the back of the motel and could open the blinds to get enough sunlight for that sort of thing. Not a major down-side, but a little frustrating. A simple fix with a lamp would have been nice.

9. If you have kids, you’ll want to try to bribe them into being quiet as the walls are pretty thin. One person from our party smokes and he said he could hear our entire conversation outside. And we’re adults and weren’t even talking loud! I only heard a couple of noises while there, but nothing major. However, it seemed as if we were the only one’s there that weekend, so we may have lucked out!

10. A huge plus is their restaurant. The food was awesome and their smoked ribs and pulled pork AMAZING!!! Definitely worth it people! Oh, and we could not get enough of their American fries either! YUMMMM!

11. They do have free wi-fi, but you can’t get it in the rooms (at least not in the rooms on the far end of the motel…). I was told that the reception is great in the lounge area (which is set up with a lodge-type feel – very cute and cozy). But I never bothered with it.

12. The “office” area & lounge closes around 10pm, so if you want to use the wi-fi, you have to do so beforehand. Also, the door leading to the front desk (from the motel hallway) is locked as well after hours. That was a bit surprising to me, but oh well.

13. Another down side is that there are no phones in the rooms. You can’t call up to the front desk for something (like more pillows). You have to physically go to the desk. Fine and dandy if it’s in the day, but after hours, good luck!

14. Lastly, there were a few cool little shops (Wolf Tracks is cute!) in walking distance, plus a Holiday gas station right next door. It was convenient for morning coffee runs since the office was still closed by the time we were ready to leave to go enjoy the area (around 7am).

So, like I said, 4 circles is pushing it a bit for me, but the things that were good were really good, so I hate to give it 3 circles as I don’t think that is fair either.

Overall, a nice place to stay for the price. Even better if you are on vacation and want to get away from it all. Poor tv reception and no internet in the rooms meant we didn’t stay in the rooms long enough to waste the day away with stuff we can do at home! That’s great since there is so much to go see and do in the area! I would definitely consider staying there again, I just might bring my own pillows!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DeidrePendragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaver Bay
0.9 mi away
Cove Point Lodge
Cove Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Beaver Bay
522 reviews
3.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver Bay
13.5 mi away
Grand Superior Lodge
Grand Superior Lodge
#2 of 6 in Two Harbors
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Superior Shores Resort
Superior Shores Resort
#4 of 6 in Two Harbors
419 reviews
24.2 mi away
Country Inn of Two Harbors
Country Inn of Two Harbors
#3 of 6 in Two Harbors
186 reviews
24.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Two Harbors
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp 61 Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp 61 Bunkhouse

Property: Camp 61 Bunkhouse
Address: 1017 Main Street, Beaver Bay, MN
Location: United States > Minnesota > Beaver Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Beaver Bay
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing