We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Customer Service”
Review of Camp 61 Bunkhouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beaver Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camp 61 Bunkhouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Beaver Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Very poor customer service. The rooms are Very small and you could never stay in one of the rooms with children. They are much smaller than a child's bedroom. Look at the rooms if you plan on trying this place! We were denied a refund after very nicely explaining why our family could not and would not be able to stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank daddy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 54 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

When we arrived the owner said the family in our room wanted to stay longer. Would we mind staying in the guest house instead? Of course we would not be charged the price of the guesthouse.
We drove down the street and were shocked to see we had been given a three level cabin.
The main floor had a living room, kitchen, bedroom (with a king bed) and bathroom. There was a loft with a king bed and balcony overlooking Lake Superior. There was in a telescope in the room for star gazing.
The lower level was a walkout. There was a family room with two futons, fireplace, tv and bathroom. Outside the door was a firepit.
We were not expecting anything so fancy. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would love to stay again.
The only down part? The previous guests set all the alarm clocks in the cabin. One at 5:30am downstairs and one for 6am upstairs. They also neatly stacked and put away dirty pots and pans.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gardengro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Todd and Carol are wonderful hosts and are doing their best to make Camp 61 a good, comfortable, and affordable place to stay while you explore the North Shore. The dining room is excellent!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tenthousandthings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

we stopped at Camp 61 Bunkhouse on the recommendation of a good friend, who had stayed here a few days prior. We booked our room with one full bed without seeing a room, though the innkeeper offered us the chance to see it. The room was not yet prepared for our stay so we ate in thier Restaurant and enjoyed our meal. Everyone treated us well.

After some discussion at diner we (2 guys) decided to ask for a refund, realizing our mistake of getting too small a bed... We apolagetically requested a refund. We were given a full refund without hesitation and were invited to stay another time when a more generous bed would be available. We were treated nicely as if we had stayed.

Room Tip: look at your prospective room first, Be sure the accomodation is right for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Very Poor customer service. Went as a family vacation spot, Rooms were SO Gross and Dirty! We walked in & My son almost threw up. They will NOT refund our money & we had to go stay somewhere else for DOUBLE the price! WILL NOT recommend to ANY Friends or Family! Actually this made me not want to visit the area ever again!
Can NOT believe the poor customer service! I told him he could keep the money for 1 night & he said no they would keep it for the 4 nights.
RUDE!
Unbelievable!

Room Tip: Stay at the American inn MUCH better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Werth05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We were looking for a local place due to being very cold camping. We were welcomed by Todd, the owner and felt very welcome. I have to admit I was hesitant when we were told to pull around to the back of the building... When we got into our room... wow! It was decorated with the north woodsy feel, great bedding, very comfy chairs in the room to sit and watch tv. And a super great value!!! They put a lot of thought into their decor when renovating this place.
I would highly recommend this place anytime!
Thank you Todd we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Recent renovation makes this a great place to stay if you don't need a view of the lake. Todd's bbq ribs on Saturday nights are a "don't miss". Staff and service are the best. They also have one huge rental cabin with views of the lake, a kitchen, dining, living room, and 3 floors.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HikeMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Camp 61 Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp 61 Bunkhouse

Address: 1017 Main Street, Beaver Bay, MN
Location: United States > Minnesota > Beaver Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Beaver Bay
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing