We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“One of our top VRBO/Trip Advisor rentals ever!”
Dramatic full wall of windows facing Lake Superior, sun and moon rises over the lake are fabulous
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dramatic full wall of windows facing Lake Superior, sun and moon rises over the lake are fabulous
Welcome to 618 Windsong.    There is room for 2 cars to park right in front, it's so convenient Gas remote controlled fireplace offers warmth and ambiance without fussing with fire wood.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Dramatic full wall of windows facing Lake Superior, sun and moon rises over the lake are fabulous
Welcome to 618 Windsong.    There is room for 2 cars to park right in front, it's so convenient
Gas remote controlled fireplace offers warmth and ambiance without fussing with fire wood.
No waiting for a table with a view, this one is just for you!
Save vacation dollars by eating in, a fully equipped kitchen, with a great view, makes it easy
Large lakeside deck just off the dining room has a gas grill and 2 sitting areas, you'll love it!
Comfortable swivel rocking chairs, great for lake watching and stargazing
Main floor bedroom with a walk through full bath offering it's occupants convenience and privacy
A walk through full bath with heated floor offers privacy and convenience for this room's guests.
Main floor full bath with heated tile floor.
The loft offers a great place to read and offers a lovely lake view
The loft has a great view too and a fabulous chair and ottoman, great for reading and relaxing.
Luxurious master suite with an incredible panoramic lake view
Another view of the master bedroom as it connects to the master bath
Pearl Whirlpool tub for two with a fabulous lake view!
Private master bath with large walk in shower and a heated tile floor,
The pool and sauna building are right across the driveway
DirecTv equipped Samsung 42' HDTV with Bose Wave sound, Streaming BluRay player & free WiFi
The sauna in the pool building across the street is open year around
The Windsong firepit is the perfect place for smores and nights under the dark up north sky
A path leads to the shore at the end of Windsong.  A bench provides a spot to sit and enjoy the lake
The view of the shore from end of the path, it's mesmerizing to watch this lake
Split Rock Lighthouse is the most visited lighthouse in the country and it's just 4 miles away
The scenic cruises that sail from Silver Bay Marina 2 miles away go right past our deck, I wave.
Take the scenic cruise out of Silver Bay for a view of Split Rock Lighthouse from the water.
Palisade Head is easy to miss but don't miss it, look for the turn just past Palisade Baptist Church
Looking down from the loft into the living room
If you prefer to see the shore from the water, kayaking is one option.
The view from Shovel Point Trail in Tettegouche State Park, you can see Palisade Head from here
The view from the observation deck at the end of Shovel Point is worth the short, scenic hike.
Baptism River Falls in Tettegouche State Park is a few miles away, it's worth the hike to see
A suspension bridge over the Baptism River lets you hike up one side of the river and down the other
Extensive trails let you explore Gooseberry Falls Park, this boardwalk section runs along the river
Gooseberry Falls State Park is a very popular park with its dramatic waterfalls and extensive trails
Even an afternoon shower has benefits, this double rainbow was too big for the view finder!
The sunrises over Lake Superior are amazing, what a great way to start an up north day.
One of our favorite hikes is Bean and Bear Lake in Silver Bay just 4 miles away, especially in Fall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Beaver Bay, Minnesota

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SAScooter
San Antonio, TX
Level 6 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“One of our top VRBO/Trip Advisor rentals ever!”
Reviewed July 25, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This Windsong Cottage Townhome has to be in the top five of vacation rentals that we have stayed in our travels: Maui, Yosemite, Sanibel Island, Colorado Rocky Mts to name a few. This was our first visit to Minnesota and the Northern Shore spending six nights and we loved it! The unit is right on the water. The pictures are exactly what you see. Furniture is comfortable, yet rustic with elegance. I love the pop of red in each room, including out on the deck.

The kitchen was well-stocked, great selection of pots and pans and good knives. Jo had one cupboard with spices, vinegars, oils, brown sugar which was helpful when you needed just 1 teaspoon of chili powder, for example.

Since we were there in summer, we did not use the Jacuzzi tub, but my husband did swim in the pool and enjoyed the sauna. The washer & dryer came in handy since we were on an extended road trip, traveling 3800 miles round-trip from South Texas.

Jo was a pleasure to work with, you can't go wrong with this unit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The view of Lake Superior
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 12, 2016
Wow, we are overwhelmed to know we rank up there with the amazing places you've traveled to. As Minnesotans, I think we forget what an incredible place Lake Superior's north shore is and how blessed we are to own a home on it's shore. It is a dream come true for us and we're delighted that others come from all over the world and enjoy it as much as we do. I'm happy to hear the kitchen met your needs, when we're there, we eat in, you can't beat the view and there's no waiting for a table! Thanks for stopping in Beaver Bay on your trek, come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janeginge...
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect North Shore get away!”
Reviewed July 16, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Great views of the lake and deck . Nicely decorated. Kitchen has all the cooking supplies needed. Close to Split Rock, Gooseberry Falls, Tettegouche State Park. Jo, the owner, was very easy to work with and very responsive to questions. Fun restaurants nearby. We will be back. My son said, "Better than Bluefin Bay!"

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 12, 2016
Better than Bluefin Bay, wow, that's high praise indeed. We were regulars at Bluefin for years and then we found Windsong Cottages and fell in love with it and the location. We love being close to those 3 great state parks and within walking distance of great local restaurants, that's really unique on the north shore. We're so happy to hear you enjoyed the same things we do and we hope you become our regulars!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yolanda D
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
“Tranquil Relaxation”
Reviewed February 26, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The Northshore never fails to deliver a tranquil and relaxing getaway. We were a group of five, and our stay at this luxury rental made our weekend carefree. We had everything we needed; lots of space, bedding, a fully equipt kitchen, and an awsome view. The Sunrise was spectacular! Not to mention a sauna that melted away the winter cold that was deep in my bones. We highly recommend this spot if you are looking for an awesome place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large bedrooms and heated floors
Liked least: Not a wood burning fireplace
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 12, 2016
WInter on the north shore is indeed tranquil and relaxing, so beautiful and less hectic. I'm so happy you and your friends ventured north to experience it. Please come again in another season, it's a whole new experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5Kiwis171...
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy cabin retreat”
Reviewed February 17, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our family just stayed at this beautiful cabin with amazing views of Lake Superior. The weather was cold but we had plenty to keep us busy. The cabin had access to Wi-Fi, a DVD player, games, and puzzles. Just what we needed to relax. The kitchen had all the gadgets necessary to cook meals, but we were within walking distance of a bar/restaurant when we didn't feel like cooking. We also were able to take advantage of downhill skiing at Lutsen which was just a short drive from the cabin. We couldn't have picked a better place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The cabin had everything we needed to entertain ourselves and was incredibly comfortable.
Liked least: Pool wasn't up and running.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Reviewed December 16, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views.
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
steveBDM
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“Beautiful Country”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Very nice and comfortable property. Great views of Lake Superior. Hiking and Bike trails very convenient (beware of the hills, ha!) Most of the restaurants were within walking distance and were very good. The weather was perfect. Plenty of activities to do. It is just beautiful there. Very easy to rent, easy to get to, and Jo was great to work with.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: location
Liked least: no king size bed
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs22
Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great choice”
Reviewed July 8, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This rental is all you can hope for, clean well furnished and equipped. It is extremely comfortable with a fantastic location.
2 good size bedrooms with en suite bathrooms, large comfortable living area with stunning view of Lake Superior. Good size kitchen area and dining area. Nice deck, shame about the mosquitos!.
Pool area right across from the house.
If you are looking for a rental in this area I highly recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing