We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Practice makes perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Catlins Farmstay B&B
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We had a tremendous welcome from Murray and June: it more like staying with friends than as guests in a B & B. We were welcomed with cups of tea and cake and then a glass of wine each evening before we went out for a meal. We had a lovely spacious room with views of the garden and it’s own outside sitting area. The breakfasts were very good with a wide variety of choices. The Farmstay is located in an isolated spot and there is not much choice of places to eat but was a great base to explore the Catlins with helpful advice from the hosts.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank HopefultravellerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catlinsfarmstay, Owner at Catlins Farmstay B&B, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Yes this is a special place in fact last nights guests visited the yellow eyed penguins and saw 5 . since they are nesting this was amazing to veiw them on the fossil forest at curio bay
So pleased you enjoyed your stay at our place it is very relaxing and an oasis away from the coast which is actually only 10 mins drive so handy to the endangered wild life such as the Hector's dolphins and the yellow eyed penguins ..the Catlins is a great place

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
There are newer reviews for Catlins Farmstay B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 49 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

Whilst we were staying June and Murray had some friends visiting them. They invited us to join them in the evenings and we all got on very well. (We all met up a few days later for coffee in Arrowtown). Our room was very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was very good - set us up for the day. June and Murray gave us some ideas about where to go for the day and reserved us a table at the local Niagara Falls Cafe on the evening we arrived, which was much appreciated.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caligirlUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 11, 2013

it was great that we were going to arrowtown at the same time as you both for the autumn festival and pleased you enjoyed our friends as well thanks for a nice time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here because we wanted to find out something about New Zealand farming. We could not have done better. Murray is the farmer and his wife June runs the b&b business. June awas out when we arrived but Murray was happy to rustle up tea and cakes and answer a lot of ignorant questions about farming. We had an excellent but very early at the only local restaurant two kilometres away. When we returned there was another couple of guests from Austria, June's step mother and of course June and Muray making a fascinating party both instructive and amusing.
The lodging arrangements were comfortable complete with good quality bathrobes, face flannels and towels. Breakfast was personally and well cooked by June. After breakfast June drove us and the other guests round the farm explaining how things worked.
This place was definitely one of the high lights of our holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmm83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 11, 2013

thanks for the kind words yes we are definately country people with a wealth of experience in farming and being born and bred in this area gives us local knowledge of all the interesting and historic places to visit around the south coast of nz
Meals and coffee at Niagara Falls cafe are very good, we are pleased we live only 2 km away !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

You can't get much further away from it all than Murray and June's lovely homestay. I mentioned that I had heard a car go past in the morning (the first bit of traffic we'd heard in 2 days) and June complained about how busy the road was getting! Breakfasts were delicious, all local produce. There is plenty to see in a really lovely area of the South Island so it is well worth making the Catlins Farmstay a stop on your itinerary.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldgeeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We enjoyed 2 nights here in February. We arrived on a cold day with strong winds but had a lovely welcome from June & Murray with tea and cake! Our room was very big with sliding patio doors to the garden and our car was parked at the end of the path.
Catlins Farmstay is like an oasis in the middle of the countryside. Their beautiful garden surrounds the house, like an English cottage garden, is what they have built up from farm fields over 48 years!
As we like gardens they recommended we visit Maple Glen about 20 miles away which we did. This is even more stunning and if you love gardens this is a must see visit.
We also enjoyed watching the sheep shearers after breakfast.
Great breakfast too! Thank you.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marriedmembers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Murray and June welcomed us to their excellent bed and breakfast. We had an en-suite room room overlooking the garden that was very peaceful and quiet. We awoke to the dawn chorus from garden and nearby trees. We were provided with an excellent breakfast and furnished many tips of things to do and see in the local area. It may be off the beaten track but it is well worth the detour.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed only for one night but we enjoyed it very much. The room we stayed in was very lovely and clean with a own entrance. June and Murray were very lovely hosts and gave us good hints where we could find hector-dolphins and penguins.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanielKneubuehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catlinsfarmstay, Owner at Catlins Farmstay B&B, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thanks Daniel , The penguins have been great this year its amazing, the yelloweyed-- Hoi Ho-- are the most rare dolphin in the world.Enjoyed havin g you and Marianne.The garden needs rain
best regards
June

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southland Region
2.7 mi away
Waikava Harbour View
Waikava Harbour View
#1 of 3 in Waikawa
106 reviews
9.5 mi away
Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls
14.3 mi away
Hilltop Accommodation Catlins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Catlins Mohua Park
Catlins Mohua Park
#1 of 1 in Tawanui
29 reviews
53.3 mi away
South Sea Hotel
South Sea Hotel
#3 of 3 in Stewart Island
207 reviews
38.4 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catlins Farmstay B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catlins Farmstay B&B

Address: 174 Progress Valley Rd, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Southland Region
Hotel Class:3 star — Catlins Farmstay B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catlins Farmstay B&B is a great location for visiting the many scenic attractions of the beautiful natural Catlins area of Southland. We are situated 10 minutes drive from the 160 year old fossil forest at Curio Bay where dolphins and penguins may also be seen.We are genuine kiwis farming 2800 sheep, 500 deer, and 150 cattle on 1000 acres with the help of 3 sheep dogs. You may choose from hosted accommodation at Catlins Farmstay B&B or self contained studio accommodation at Waterside Cottage (built in 2007) in the village of Waikawa - an old fishing settlement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Catlins Farmstay B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing