We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Brunch”

Black Bear Lodge and Saloon
Ranked #4 of 29 Restaurants in Baxter
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Complimentary hotel breakfast was getting a little old so we decided to try the Sunday brunch. There is a huge selection! Combination of breakfast and lunch items and something for all appetites. Can order a made to order omelet in addition to all the buffet items. Juice is included. Coffee extra. Service was good. Food was decent.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    50
    9
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montevideo, Minnesota
Level Contributor
155 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Burgers”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Burger Bar Night! They made the burger for you and then had many toppings you could add to your burger to make to your liking! AWESOME! Best burger in a long time! You could add fries or onion rings for extra charge. I have eaten here several times over the years and never been disappointed!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolS1641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, VA
Level Contributor
191 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We arrived late in the evening and the hotel clerk recommended this. The dining room was closed, but we were directed to the bar. We were the only ones eating dinner in there at the time. The building itself is really interesting, log cabin feel with high beamed ceiling. Very "north woods" feel. I ordered the walleye, which was very good. Came with baked potato and salad. My coworker had a meatloaf sandwich and opted for a bowl of chili instead of salad. Said it was very good. Portions were large, service was quick (as expected, given the lack of other diners), and food was reasonably priced. It's a large restaurant so I can imagine it could get pretty noisy, but it was a very good experience for us.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swimmom1dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
161 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Ok for me but not worth the $$”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

It was an ok meal, but I thought it was pricey for the quality. Service was fine. Nothing really to write home about.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank WildFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford, ms
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“Sunday brunch was awesome”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Just had the pleasure of eating Brunch at this restaurant. I love the local comfortable feel of this place. Ate here last week and had a great burger, and bartender that day was friendly and great. Im sorry that I didnt get their names either visit but the 25 year old male bartender, and other young lady that were working today 3\9\14 were very friendly and its obvious they care about what they do. The manager on duty was a very friendly guy also. The Brunch buffet was expansive and no way you could try it all in one visit. For $15 its a bargain. A little something for everyone. Salad bar, pasta dishes, benedict, bacon, hash browns, and all the usual suspects of breakfast. Didnt even make it to the homemade desserts and what looked like an omelete station. Nothing agaisnt the number one restaurant listed for this town but it has a very small menu. This place is the best restaurant Ive visited here in Baxter and I worked in food and beverage for over ten years. Would recommend you try it. I will be back for sure.

Helpful?
Thank countryboybradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Black Bear Lodge and Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing