We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Baxter
Certificate of Excellence
Southgate, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here this past week 2/13/13-2/15/13. We had a very fun time. This hotel exceeded our expectations. We stayed in a king suite. The room was very clean and the bathroom was huge. We were in town visiting family and Brainerd/Baxter seemed like a good location to stay. No matter what time we would enter or exit the hotel, we were always greeted with a friendly face. We met someone new working each day and every worker was wonderful. The water park was super fun. We're in our twenties and we still had a great time. They have a bar and food in the water park so it was very enjoyable. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words about your stay. We strive to provide an excellent experience everytime. I will spread the word of your satisfaction to our staff. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    76
    20
    9
    12
See reviews for
122
14
2
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
253 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Such a surprising hotel. Usually when there is a waterpark and it's the weekend, it's a hotel full a screaming kids, dirty bathrooms and stress-filled chaos for mom. Not this place. The waterpark was clean, not crowded, always a table/chair avail and most of all..fun! The kids had a blast. (10 and 8) I parked myself at a table right in the middle where I could see them and read my book. That's my idea of relaxing.
The room was clean, bed was fresh and there was plenty of room. Free breakfast downstairs. Only one problem: where was the pancake maker?? All HIE have them and there were even billboards advertising the pancake maker but none was around. Tho I think if that is the only problem, that is a pretty good problem to have.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank janelje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel and waterpark. We strive to provide an excellent experience every time. Thank you for your observation on the pancakes, we are working to correct that with the manufacturer of the pancake machine as we too would love to provide pancakes in the morning. We will work towards making that happen. Again thank you for patronizing our hotel and waterpark. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed Jan 5th with four kids ages 8, 6, 4, 2 and the wife. We had the double bunk bed room. Room was fun for the kids and pretty normal for what we are used to. Tv really outdated in kids area and needs updating. Tv reception really poor as I only found 4 channels with digital quality. I don't complain much but the bed was really uncomfortable and a new mattress is needed. Waterpark is great for kids 2-8 years of age and I would say above average for waterparks in MN as we have been to most of them. Free breakfast is always a plus with our family size and it was great. Overall it was a great stay and with a little updating this hotel would be perfect.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank sanselment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your review on our property and waterpark. I’m excited to hear that the kids had a great time in the waterpark and you would rate us above average for Minnesota Waterparks. We work towards updating and improving the services that we have to offer in our rooms along with the technology provided in the Kid’s Rooms. Again thank you for your review we appreciate your patronage to our facility!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Great right from the start. We went there with girls basketball team, coaches, etc. so 30+ people. Rooms reserved and ready for us. Our check in was great. Took a while but very organized. I dont know she was able to keep all that info straight and get everyone in room. Nice job! Very clean and comfortable rooms. Everything we needed. Hotel in general was up to date, nice decore and comfortable. Water park was great for our 24 girls to unwind in. Breakfast was great and stocked th e whole time. I would certainly recommend this hotel. We had a very nice stay.

Room Tip: Tent to have alot of little feet wandering around, since they have a water park. Ask for a room hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 888Kelly888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your patronage to our facility. We strive to bring the same check in experience whither there is one person or 30 people checking in. I'm very happy to see that we brought you that experience. I will pass on your great comments about our facility to the staff. Again thank you for choosing us for your team stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
183 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

My family visited Brainerd/Baxter recently and were able to visit the waterpark at the Holiday Inn Express. We were really impressed! It is all indoor and is very well designed to accomodate both small children and adults. My 2 year old and I both had a blast! Will definitely be returning on future visits and will recommend this hotel to stay for anyone I know needing accomodations when visiting the Brainerd Lakes area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank epi007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
I'm very happy to hear of the wonderful time you had at the Three Bear Waterpark. We strive for excellence everytime and look forward to your future stays with us in the Brainerd Lakes Area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We spent a night at this property in one of the double bunk family suites. Overall, the hotel is new, clean, and appears to be well-run. Staff was friendly and helpful, and came through with toothbrushes when we forgot ours. We loved the water park, which had plenty of activities for both younger and teenage kids. The included breakfast was very nice and included smoked sausage, cheese omelets, hard boiled eggs,cinnamon rolls, and much more.
The only maintenance/housekeeping issues we noticed were minor, and included: excess dust buildup on the bathroom mirror, a bent-down shower curtain rod, extremely slow tub drain, non-working remote in the kids bunk room, and pillows labeled "firm"and "soft" that were all firm.
Our kids loved the bunk room and had a great time at the water park. We had a great stay at this Holiday Inn Express.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Alpine524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your review and I'm excited that overall you had a wonderful stay. I'm happy that we could please a frequent traveler like you. I will take the matters with housekeeping and maintenance very serious and to heart. We've been addressing those matters this season with deep cleaning and room cares to our rooms. Once again thank you for staying with us and for your observations to better improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Our families first time to this hotel / water park. The parking was convieniant to the rooms.We were greeted and given great directions to all the things we needed to know. The room was large and lovely ~ The ever sceptical 12 year old liked the room, the gameroom, and the waterpark ! As a Mom I didn't like the beer advertizing over the watertube shoots ~ tacky ! Food in the 3 Bears Water Park was good, glad there was something close as you get really hungry running up and down all those stairs ! Breakfast buffet was wonderful ~ even my fussy eater could find something he would eat and he got to pick it himself ! We will be going back .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
I'm glad to see that overall you had a wonderful stay at our hotel and waterpark and I appreciate your opinion on the advertising above the waterslides. It is always great to get a different perspective; I will definitely look into making a change on the advertising. I hope to see you soon when you up in the Brainerd Lakes Area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baxter
0.2 mi away
Arrowwood Lodge At Brainerd Lakes
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Rapid River Lodge
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
#2 of 3 in East Gull Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
1.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Baxter/Brainerd Area
1.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Baxter Brainerd Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter
Address: 15739 Audubon Way, Highway 371 North, Baxter, MN 56401-6959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Baxter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Baxter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Brainerd Baxter is home to the fun and exciting Three Bear Waterpark. Reserve a Waterpark Package & enjoy over 30,000 sq. ft. of water fun, including 3 water slides, lazy river, activity pool with water walk, zero depth Spray Deck with 1000 gallon dumping bucket, family hot tub, and adults only hot tub! A visit to the waterpark can really work up an appetite! Stay the day and grab a bite to eat at Three Bear Grill then onto more fun at Grizzly Arcade Room with a ticket/redemption & prize counter. Business travelers will enjoy our great business amenities such as free high-speed Internet with wireless and hardwire access, fitness room, 24 hour business center, complimentary business services such as FAX and print at the front desk, complimentary beverages for all Priority Club members, corporate quiet floor and discounted access to the FitQuest Athletic Club located 2 blocks behind the Holiday Inn Express Brainerd Baxter.We are conveniently located to all attractions the Brainerd Lakes Area as to offer; closest hotel to Brainerd International Raceway, minutes away from Legacy Golf Courses, Paul Bunyan Trail, and Paul Bunyan Land.We are dedicated to satisfying every guest's needs and desires for an extraordinary Brainerd Lakes experience. Business or Pleasure we ll be right for you!We ll see you soon at the Holiday Inn Express in the Brainerd Lakes Area! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Brainerd-Baxter
Holiday Inn Baxter
Baxter Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Baxter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing