We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Baxter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Our room was nicely decorated and clean and the air conditioning worked great. Great kiddie pool area for a preschooler to run around and Mom or Dad to chase. There were a few water slides and the bigger kids liked those. Food in the pool area was decent and you got a lot for the $, mixed drinks were reasonably priced too. Breakfast was very busy but there was another room open to sit in so we weren't wandering around looking for a table. Parking was ample even with a truck and boat trailer.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mountainchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 210 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2012

What a wonderful hotel. The property is beautiful, the waterpark is wonderful! I really loved the adult hot tub considering the hotel limits it to 18+ only. The rooms are great with excellent new televisions! The staff, from the front desk to the maintenance and housekeeping are wonderful! There's a housekeeper that goes by the name of Salsa that just made my trip so much more enjoyable. She was very friendly, funny and helpful! She gave advice on local establishments, where to go to eat, what to do in the evenings.. This was a WONDERFUL stay!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Wasn't sure what to expect when I arrived but my stay here was very pleasant. Tom at the front desk was very pleasant. For a family this place is a must because of the built in waterpark and the arcade. Business area was a little small but it worked. The theme of whole hotel was to have a hunting lodge feel and it was real noticable in the dinning area with the rustic wooden table tables and chairs along with a canoe hanging from the ceiling.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harveylipshitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We go up to Brainerd often and have stayed at three different hotels. The Holiday Inn Express is by far the best of the three. We go there not only for the great rooms, but because they have the best service of any of the hotels I've stayed at. GREAT Customer Service!!!

The water park is always clean and the food at their grill is great and not too expensive.

Room Tip: We like the rooms away from the elevators. They have a water park and a lot of kids coming and goin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 777Tweety777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

One of the better Holiday Inns I've encountered. Rooms and property are very clean - either new or recently updated. I thought the A/C worked very well which is inconsistent with previous reviews. The Baxter area has really grown so many unique restaurants as well as chains are close by.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brauntosaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Holiday Inn Express tries to pretend it is a Hampton Inn, but it's not. Positives for this hotel include large rooms and a fantastic TV selection. Negatives are the poorly functioning air conditioning - I changed rooms after one A/C didn't work and ended up in another room where it didn't work well either. I finally had to prop my room door open and open the window to cool the room down - and this was in early May in Minnesota! The hotel has a business center where you can print a boarding pass and the internet access was fast. The hotel has super-soft water so you will never feel rinsed-off. I remember liking this hotel much more last year, perhaps because my room wasn't so overheated. And why does Holiday Inn Express have to have separate pillow cases for "soft" and "firm." Don't they think we might figure that out on our own?

Room Tip: Some rooms face the roof of the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BornReisende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2012

Dear chibiff,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received service accommodations that were less than satisfactory. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Took two girls ages 9 and 6 to hotel/waterpark over spring break. Very nice waterpark, hotel rooms as expected for newer Holiday Inn Express. Hot breakfast in the morning was quite good for hotel food. Kids enjoyed all aspects of stay. Price was reasonable considering the water park is included in room rate.

Room Tip: Check for special promotional packages. Ours included "free" money to spend at gift shop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcjmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baxter
0.2 mi away
Arrowwood Lodge At Brainerd Lakes
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Rapid River Lodge
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Baxter/Brainerd Area
1.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Baxter Brainerd Area
5.7 mi away
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
#1 of 3 in East Gull Lake
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter

Address: 15739 Audubon Way, Highway 371 North, Baxter, MN 56401-6959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Baxter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Baxter
Price Range: $118 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Brainerd Baxter is home to the fun and exciting Three Bear Waterpark. Reserve a Waterpark Package & enjoy over 30,000 sq. ft. of water fun, including 3 water slides, lazy river, activity pool with water walk, zero depth Spray Deck with 1000 gallon dumping bucket, family hot tub, and adults only hot tub! A visit to the waterpark can really work up an appetite! Stay the day and grab a bite to eat at Three Bear Grill then onto more fun at Grizzly Arcade Room with a ticket/redemption & prize counter. Business travelers will enjoy our great business amenities such as free high-speed Internet with wireless and hardwire access, fitness room, 24 hour business center, complimentary business services such as FAX and print at the front desk, complimentary beverages for all Priority Club members, corporate quiet floor and discounted access to the FitQuest Athletic Club located 2 blocks behind the Holiday Inn Express Brainerd Baxter.We are conveniently located to all attractions the Brainerd Lakes Area as to offer; closest hotel to Brainerd International Raceway, minutes away from Legacy Golf Courses, Paul Bunyan Trail, and Paul Bunyan Land.We are dedicated to satisfying every guest's needs and desires for an extraordinary Brainerd Lakes experience. Business or Pleasure we ll be right for you!We ll see you soon at the Holiday Inn Express in the Brainerd Lakes Area! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Brainerd-Baxter
Holiday Inn Baxter
Baxter Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Baxter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing