We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Wedding Venue in the Brainerd Lakes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arrowwood Lodge At Brainerd Lakes
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Baxter
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Our daughter's wedding took place at The Lodge (Arrowwood) Oct. 13th, 2012. The day was flawless. Not only is the hotel gorgeous, the staff is the best I have ever seen. Cassandra, the event planner, did an amazing job taking care of every single detail and always ALWAYS with a smile on her face. She thought of things that were so creative and beautiful - the compliments about the day are still rolling in and 99% of the credit she deserves. The food was amazing as well. Matt, the chef, is a genius - he made special items specifically for us and never missed a thing. So many guests said they have never been so full after a wedding meal ;) Ultimate chef compliment! They accommodated our picture taking schedule, opening rooms to us to use, took care of all the decorating, gift opening morning, amazing wait and bartending staff; I could go on and on! The front desk staff knew our names the first day we arrived!!! We will be dining there often just because of all the happy memories of our wonderfully perfect wedding :-)

Room Tip: Every room is beautiful and HUGE! The loft suites with the fireplaces are really cool ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 194 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at The Lodge in March of 2012. We had a good experience, staff were friendly, kids had a great time at the water park, the restaurant was good, the breakfast was just OK. Overall, a very good time. However, several days after we got home, our entire family became very ill with a Gastrointestinal illness (missed a week of work/school, etc.). A few days later, the news reported that there was an outbreak of Cryptosporidium and this and another water park. We were in touch with the MN Department of Health, and we it was determined we were affected. I called the hotel , and wanted to let them know we were also cases affected by this outbreak. I really didn’t expect anything, but after speaking with the General Manager, Mark Zovic, he immediately volunteered that we should send a claim to him and he will forward to the insurance agency. It took a few months to get all of our bills from doctor visits, etc. for our family. I sent a certified letter to the general manager, Mark Zovic with all pertinent information. It has been over 3 months since that letter was sent, and we have received ZERO response from The Lodge at Brainerd Lakes. None. Not even an apology for inconvenience. I understand that an outbreak like this can happen anywhere. At one point, we would even consider going back. However, when you call a hotel to tell them that you became very ill because of something at their property, as confirmed by the Department of Health, I think it’s appropriate to expect *some* kind of response. The kids had such a good time that it’s honestly some place that we would have returned. However, after a lack of acknowledgement of any kind, we will not return and will not recommend this to others.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark Z, General Manager at Arrowwood Lodge At Brainerd Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write regarding your March of 2012 stay. I would like to apologize for your experience during yoru stay and would also like to assure you that all precautions were taken at the time of the incident so this would never happen again. We were closed for three days with our pool chemicals taken to the required levels, as directed by the Department of Health, and slowly brought back to safe levels before being put back into operation. We also have UV lights, in our water filtration system, in use that kill the bacteria prior to it being able to enter the pool area. Also, all of our guests are required to shower prior to entering the pool. I know that this is all "after the fact" for your experience however we wanted to assure you and your family that we take our guests safety very seriously.

On June 19 The Lodge at Brainerd Lakes was purchased by Regency Hotel Management and became the Arrowwood Lodge at Brainerd Lakes. We have contacted the previous owners regarding your claim in an attempt to try to assist you. A number you can call 952-240-1733 Mike Tozier.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We paid $99 a night which for the quality of the room was perfect. Clean spacious, nice bar and right off the main road. I would stay here again if in the area the log cabin look is charming and it look alike they had a big pool area although we didn't use that.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank legend1836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here this past week (we got a Groupon deal) and it was well worth the price. The check-in was speedy and the staff person was very friendly and helpful. We loved our room (two queen beds, with a small area with couch/chair/tv/mini bar/table/chairs. Everything was neat and clean. The hotel as a whole was very inviting.

We ate a late lunch in the restaurant. The food was good. We had the complimentary breakfast buffet each day and it was superb. Great choices, great service, great food. Even our picky eaters ate it.

The waterpark was great. Our kids didn't want to get out. It was really fun. The arcade was definitely overpriced. I spent $17 in about 20 minutes for my kids to play and we walked out with a handful of cheap plastic items...however, my kids had a great time!!!

Honestly, every single employee we ran into was kind and helpful. We would DEFINITELY go again. Great location and great service!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I was very impressed with this hotel. The room we stayed in was clean, nice, and neat log furniture. The shampoo, soap, etc. are not cheap - they are really nice products. The restaurant, which is attached, is spectacular. My 6 year old ordered the kids pizza, and it was not frozen, from a box. It was freshly made, and he stated it was one of the best pizzas he has ever tasted! I tasted it and agreed! The restaurant is a bar and grill, but without typical bar and grill food - more fancy, but not the fancy prices, nor the fancy atmosphere. I had shrimp scampi with a wonderful, light white wine sauce. The shrimps were large, not little cheap things!
When we checked in, we were given a choice of 2 out of 3 options with our package deal (which was not an expensive package!) 1. A $15 credit in the restaurant 2. Two free alcoholic drinks at the restaurant and/or 3. 50 tokens to the game room.
We chose the restaurant credit and the tokens for my 6 year old. The game room is fun, but the games are pricey.
The water park is just AWESOME! We had fun on the water slide that has flashing lights inside, it's quite an incredible indoor water park!
For the price we paid, and the amenities, this hotel is a REALLY good deal! And when we checked out, we were told they are under new management and their prices are actually going to drop lower!! I have not stayed at any other hotel in the Brainerd area, but this by far is a great place to stay, especially with kids!
Oh, and staff was super friendly and helpful!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This is the 3rd time we've been here. Overall, we always enjoy ourselves and enjoy the entire hotel. It is a bit expensive and the rooms I think could be more accomodating with people brining in their own food (need a table or more space to sit food/supplies) but it works well for us. We have little kids (2 under 5) and first came here with our son when he was 2. It is perfect for little kids as the water is never higher than 3.6 feet (I think that's the deepest). Both my boys were able to walk around on their own in the pool. The slides and water splash things are great and not too overwhelming. We LOVE the lazy river and my husband and I both tried the 2 big slides, which was fun for us. I would like to see them do more with their outside space as during the summer, it's nice outside too and we wouldv'e like to just go outside and play or sit to eat, ect.
We also typically order room-service and the food is surprising really good and not overpriced.
Our boys love sitting on the floor like a picnic.
It can be a bit loud in the hallways but we always bring a humidifier to drown out some noise at bedtime. We will probably be back unless Arrowood makes a lot of changes and increases prices. It's high enough for families.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kchowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We travelled with our 2 year old and were attracted wit a groupon deal. Our room had two queenbeds and on the 4th floor. Our time was quiet and pleasant. We spent couple of hrs in the waterpark. We were initially uncertain due to the recent health report, but felt better that the lodge is forthcoming about that incident. They have a disclosure when you check in. Also, looks like they have taken steps to keep it healthy by adding to the rigour. They monitor every kid and adult entering and leaving, which was a good sign. Water was warm. It is entirely indoor.If you have forgotten your child's safety vest, then they will give you one (We did forget ours).

The room was clean, it had a microwave and refrigerator. No kitchenware, but clean beds and couple of televisions and a clean bathroom. The staff at the front desk was helpful about giving information on what to do when in brainerd. We liked the breakfast, it is a good deal for the cost. There are a lot of non-residents who come for the breakfast, so it seems popular. It is situated close to whipple lake, which worked well for us.

However, as for the size, one should not try to compare this to bigger resorts like maddens or Kavanaugh. Think of it like a hotel with a mid-size waterpark. It is at a great location for families who need access to stores and being next to 371 and a lot of the big box stores within 1/2 mile, it provides the added advantage.

We stayed for couple of nights and had a good time.

Room Tip: 4th floor is a good option, there is nothing above your room to disturb you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WoodyKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baxter
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Rapid River Lodge
6.0 mi away
Madden's on Gull Lake
Madden's on Gull Lake
#2 of 3 in East Gull Lake
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
#1 of 3 in East Gull Lake
455 reviews
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter
1.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Baxter/Brainerd Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrowwood Lodge At Brainerd Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrowwood Lodge At Brainerd Lakes

Address: 6967 Lake Forest Rd, Baxter, MN 56401-6963 (Formerly Lodge At Brainerd Lakes)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Baxter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Baxter
Price Range: $118 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arrowwood Lodge At Brainerd Lakes 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
102 spacious rooms so big we call them cabins. Each with refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker and complimentary wireless Internet access. Full service dining at Baxter's, as well as 30,000 square foot Paul Bunyan Waterpark. Don't miss this value stay of the Brainerd Lakes area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Arrowwood Lodge At Brainerd Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Brainerd Lakes Hotel Baxter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing