We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Baxter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed here for two nights,and despite being close to a busy road the hotel is very quiet. the staff were all very pleasant and helpful, a special thank you to Angela Isle, who helped us. Our room was on the ground floor at the back of the hotel and it was very quiet, spacious,clean and comfortable. it had a fridge, microwave and coffee maker. The bathroom was a decent size and the towels were good.
As others have said some things are a little dated and could probably do with a bit of a makeover. However, the thing that needs addressing most in our opinion is the breakfast seating area. It is far too small for the size of the hotel, there is no point serving a good breakfast if there is nowhere to sit down and eat it.. Another point to note is that this hotel does not have an elevator, so if stairs are a problem ask for a ground floor room. There is a nice indoor pool and hot tub and we felt we got value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stokersam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen R, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Thank you so very much for taking the time to write about your experience with us! Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. We are sincerely looking forward to your return to our hotel when and if your should venture back to the United States!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 365 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed here the weekend of 3/1/14. The hotel was very busy with so many different events going on in the area but the hotel was well prepared. All the staff are hard workers & it shows. The complimentary breakfast is wonderful & the staff busted butt to keep everything full, neat & clean. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 683Sherrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen R, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about the awesome experience you had when you stayed with us! We appreciate those kind words about our staff and we look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Very quiet hotel with spacious rooms. Convenient to restaurant & shopping. Very helpful staff with menus of all restaurants. Laundry room & cookies available 24/7. Great lobby with lending library. Somethings are a little dated but overall its clean.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank truckdrivrforammo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen R, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our cookies and our Lending Library! We look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

My grandson and I traveled to the Brainerd area and had our golen retriever with us. This hotel catered to pets and people. Our room was clean and reasonably priced. We had complimentary hot chocolate and fresh-baked cookies. For breakfast, the self serve choices were excellent (especially the waffles and sausages). There is a very nice indoor pool with a hot tub. The staff were all helpful and courteous and went out of their way to see that my grandson was happy. I certainly would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lincoln D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen R, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed everything from our customer service to the pool! Please come back and stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

I was in town for a funeral so my travel plans were last-minute and chose this hotel. It does not have lake view or the charming "country decor", but the other places I looked at either were unavailable or reported as noisy...and I think charming lake views are better in the summer. This place gave me a good rest at an awesome price due to the Manager's Special (last minute booking). It has no gym, just a small, non-lap pool and jacuzzi. The heater was quiet enough for me to sleep through. Location is not scenic but convenient, right at the 371 and 210/Fairview/Washington into downtown Brainerd, so I wasn't stuck in the snow on some back road. Gas and well-stocked mini-mart right next door, that was helpful. Jogging was a challenge but there's a trail on part of Clearwater street. Surprisingly well-stocked free breakfast. Great practical hotel for a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dadda404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen R, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We appreciate the kind words and are always striving for excellence! Please, come and stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

we had 3 rooms for our company. The rooms are were clean and comfy.
The front desk was nice and helped with finding locations to eat and have a couple drinks.
We will stay again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeAnn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen R, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

We are so very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are always striving for excellence and appreciate your reveiw! We look forward to your future stays with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I am actually looking at staying here again. Nice pool and hot tub area. Good location. You can get passes to work out a health club nearby that is really nice as well. Great breakfast, hot items and the usual continental items. Very clean. I'm very picky and do not care for dirty hotels or bathrooms that aren't clean and this hotel is extremely clean. Would and am staying here again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HIDHOlovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen R, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your comment on our cleanliness! This is something we take great pride in! We are looking forward to your future stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baxter
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Rapid River Lodge
0.8 mi away
Arrowwood Lodge At Brainerd Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Baxter/Brainerd Area
0.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Baxter Brainerd Area
6.2 mi away
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
#1 of 3 in East Gull Lake
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter

Address: 15058 Dellwood Drive North, Baxter, MN 56425
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Baxter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Baxter
Price Range: $93 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Baxter
Baxter Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing