We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great sleep, great location for Winter.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Baxter
Certificate of Excellence
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great sleep, great location for Winter.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

I was in town for a funeral so my travel plans were last-minute and chose this hotel. It does not have lake view or the charming "country decor", but the other places I looked at either were unavailable or reported as noisy...and I think charming lake views are better in the summer. This place gave me a good rest at an awesome price due to the Manager's Special (last minute booking). It has no gym, just a small, non-lap pool and jacuzzi. The heater was quiet enough for me to sleep through. Location is not scenic but convenient, right at the 371 and 210/Fairview/Washington into downtown Brainerd, so I wasn't stuck in the snow on some back road. Gas and well-stocked mini-mart right next door, that was helpful. Jogging was a challenge but there's a trail on part of Clearwater street. Surprisingly well-stocked free breakfast. Great practical hotel for a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dadda404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen R, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We appreciate the kind words and are always striving for excellence! Please, come and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    79
    25
    18
    4
See reviews for
119
59
12
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

we had 3 rooms for our company. The rooms are were clean and comfy.
The front desk was nice and helped with finding locations to eat and have a couple drinks.
We will stay again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeAnn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen R, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
We are so very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are always striving for excellence and appreciate your reveiw! We look forward to your future stays with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorhead, Minnesota
Level Contributor
66 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

I am actually looking at staying here again. Nice pool and hot tub area. Good location. You can get passes to work out a health club nearby that is really nice as well. Great breakfast, hot items and the usual continental items. Very clean. I'm very picky and do not care for dirty hotels or bathrooms that aren't clean and this hotel is extremely clean. Would and am staying here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HIDHOlovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen R, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your comment on our cleanliness! This is something we take great pride in! We are looking forward to your future stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

The hotel rooms are very big and lots of space. Room attendant Sheila took good care of the rooms. She also took the extra step to make you feel like you are at home. They are very clean. The buffet had some very good food. The whole place was very clean. The pools and hot tub very clean and keep nice. Also you have the choose of three different restraunt near by. If you like to shop it wright cross from the Mall of America. The whole staff welcome you with a smile. The bathrooms are big. They have good cable channels. They have big tv's in the rooms. I would stronly recomand this place to stay at. The carpets are very clean. It was very quiet there.

Room Tip: The rooms on lower level are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

very clean rooms and they smelled fresh! comfy beds! tasty breakfast and nice people working there! i will stay there again! we have stayed other places around brainerd/baxter in the past and this one was a lot better!

Helpful?
Thank kryski13
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

The hotel/rooms were nice, but mostly what I liked was how accommodating the staff were at the front desk. Especially Jonathon. He absolutely went above and beyond with any of our needs, also very friendly, He is a great asset to the hotel. Also the continental breakfast buffet is one of the nicest and cleanest we have been to. And we travel quite a bit. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulda
Level Contributor
163 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

I've stayed at a ton of country inns and this one is just OK compared to the rest of them. Like so many I have stayed at lately this one was not build as a country inn but the conversion job is not bad. Converted hotels never have enough space for the breakfast area and this one is no exception. The carpet was dated and tired but overall it is clean and in decent shape so I would stay again.

The room was large and very comfortable. It had a nice bed, flat screen tv, Microwave and a fridge. Very limited cable TV with no food channel or HGTV which was a bit of a bummer but we were not in the room at all anyway. The bath room was in good condition and clean though oddly shaped so it was hard to get to the TP.

Breakfast was good as usual but the french toast was hard as a rock. Odd for them to have a clunker on the breakfast bar but no big deal.

The staff was great and was very helpful guiding us around the area and to Duluth.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baxter
1.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Baxter/Brainerd Area
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter
0.8 mi away
Arrowwood Lodge At Brainerd Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Baxter Brainerd Area
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Rapid River Lodge
6.2 mi away
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
#2 of 3 in East Gull Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter
Address: 15058 Dellwood Drive North, Baxter, MN 56425
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Baxter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Baxter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Baxter
Baxter Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing