We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, eat and fish!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sportsman's Lodge, Lake of the Woods
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Stayed in one of the new cabins and this is the nicest places I have ever stayed on the lake. the food was good as usual. They put us on the fish 2 days in a row! Will be going back soon.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kangfu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SportsmansLodges, Owner at Sportsman's Lodge, Lake of the Woods, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay!

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed one of our new villas. They are very popular. We are currently in the process of building three more right now. We plan to have them ready to rent by December 2013. We are very excited to offer these new options. By December, we will have many more new unit size options available, including one, two, three, four and five bedroom villas. So whether your next trip is a group size of 1 or 15 we will have options to accommodate your group all in one unit.

We pride ourselves in serving high quality and delicious food options. Great to hear you enjoyed the food.

Our full service ice fishing packages are very popular and we are truly blessed to be able to offer our guests such an incredible and healthy fishery to enjoy.

We hope you can visit us again soon.

All the Best,
Gregg & Diana Hennum
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 75 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2012

Great place to stay for those of us that just want to fish, drink and play cards. The fishing staff were great, as well as bartenders and waitresses. I have two complaints that kept my rating from being more than average. #1. 3 of us ordered the Pork Medallions in the restaurant and they served us thin cut boneless pork chops that were too dry to eat. Call them Pork Chops if that is what you're going to serve! #2 When we were picked up at the end of the day from ice fishing we were taken to another resort to wait for a bus to take us the last 3/4 mile. Really? With all the fishing gear we have to load it and unload it twice to get back? Very JV on the part of the coordinator there. Cabins were basic and great for just drinking and playing cards in. TV's shud be upgraded soon.

Room Tip: Pretty basic, just keep that in mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vhgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SportsmansLodges, Owner at Sportsman's Lodge, Lake of the Woods, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for your review. Glad to hear you enjoyed the staff. We spend a considerable amount of time training our staff. Great to hear!

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy the pork medallion entrée. We are surprised to hear this about this menu item. This entrée has been one of our most ordered menu items for many years. They are not pork chops, they are a cut of pork tenderloin that we hand cut and marinade in our house made sauce. It may have been that your order was over cooked. If that was the case, we apologize. We would be happy to make that right with you if you would like to contact us personally.

The reason we must bring you over ¾ of a mile to a different landing to go out fishing and bring you back is due to Mother Nature and ice safety. Our resort is located on the Rainy River which like many rivers has much more current than the main lake. We have our fish houses on the main lake where we feel the fishing is better and more consistent. Typically in the beginning of our season and at the end of our season for 2-3 weeks, we must take safety measures to transport our guests just a short ride away in our fishing bus to get to the track vehicles that will transport you on the ice to your fish house. This is not something we want to do; it is something we must do. Most of our season we can drive our track vehicles right up to the lodge front door to pick guests up and bring them back which excludes the bus altogether. It sounds like at the time you stayed with us, Mother Nature was not allowing us to do so and it was in everyone’s best interest to take the safety measure.

Our resort has been family owned since 1971 and we are happy to announce that new some new accommodations have been built and more are being built as we write this, with new flat screen TVs too! Every year we do everything we can to re-invest in our business and make changes and updates as we can. Thanks again for your review and we hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Gregg & Diana Hennum
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for an ice fishing trip. While I do realize this resort likely caters to men who may be oblivious to some details, the rooms are in need of an update.

As far as the positives are concerned, the resort is in a great location. We walked from resort to resort which was made possible because of it's close proximity to the other resorts. The lobby area and the bar are actually very nice. There is also good entertainment in the evenings which was an added plus.

As for the rooms, this is where the resort falls short! While the bedding set itself was new and clean with a comfortable mattress, the pillows left something to be desired. The furniture (dressers, side tables, lamps) were old and worn with the exception of what appeared to be a brand new leather couch which really did not fit in with the 70s decor, but was a really nice feature. The door to the room actually appeared to be a hollow core closet door with a lock. Very odd! The two worst features of the room are the water which smells like cow manure and the carpeting. I have never really seen anything like it! What was once tan carpeting is now a combination of brown and black! I couldn't walk on it. There isn't a refrigerator in the rooms, but there is a large chest freezer in case you catch some fish. The temperature was also really hard to regulate.

With some attention the rooms could be improved dramatically and appease everyone. While there are positives to this hotel, it really could use some updates especially considering this resort charges more than most four to five star hotels in the Twin Cities.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JenniferBenson_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SportsmansLodges, Owner at Sportsman's Lodge, Lake of the Woods, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed our location right in the heart of Wheeler’s Point and at the mouth of legendary Lake of the Woods and the Walleye Capital of the World. We are happy to hear you also enjoyed the bar and our musical entertainment we offer throughout the year.

We are sorry to hear that the room you stayed in was not desirable. Did you let a member of our front desk staff or any of the managers on duty know that the room was not up to your expectations during your stay? We would have been happy to move you to a different room if one was available. We offer a few different lodging options.

In regards to the water, because we are located in a rural area, the water for the lodge is well water. It can at times have a different smell. It is not unhealthy and we get it tested regularly in accordance to health department guidelines. We have several commercial water softeners and an injection system to help take care of the smell, which well water is sometimes known for. At the time you were visiting there must have been a problem with our softener system therefore making the water smell not as desirable. Rest assured, the water is clean and healthy and measures have been taken to take care of this. We offer a fridge and freezer in some of our suites and all of our cabins and villas. At this time, most of our lodge rooms do only have a freezer and not a fridge. The reason for the freezer is because most of our customers stay on fishing packages with us and need a freezer larger than the fridge/freezer combinations found in most hotels. We are looking into more options for the future.

We are happy to announce that many of our rooms have been recently renovated. We also have three villas that are new within the last few years and are currently in the process of building three more that will be available in December 2013.

We hope you will consider staying with us again, in one of our newly renovated lodge rooms or villas.

Sincerely,

Gregg & Diana Hennum
Owners & General Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

This only pertains to the restaurant, we did not stay at the resort. We started out by waiting 15 minutes for our waitress to come over even to get our drink order.When she finally did, we waited another 20 minutes before our first round showed up. 3 of us ordered the special, a steak and shrimp, one had appetizers. We 3 each ordered our steaks from medium rare to well done. They all 3 showed up basically raw. All of our food was ice cold, cold to the touch. The app's looked straight out of a box, and looks like they cooked them and let them sit on the counter until the rest of the food was done. Our salads only showed up minutes before our meals and only because I think our waitress must have heard us complaining. Our food took over an hour from when we ordered it. Our total time in the place....2 hours, we got 3 rounds of drinks and that is because I walked to the bar to get one round. Food was terrible, service was terrible. We complained and without batting an eye our waitress took all the food off so we only had to pay for our drinks. We will NEVER go back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank highmarked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SportsmansLodges, Owner at Sportsman's Lodge, Lake of the Woods, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are a family-owned resort that has been in business for the past 42 years. We appreciate your feedback.

We apologize, as we are too, disappointed with the service and food you received. This is not a common experience and is definitely not how we expect our guests to be treated. You should have received attentive and friendly service as well as delicious food that our guests are accustomed to.

We spend a great deal of our time training our staff to serve our customers with good service and great food. Again, we are sorry, I am glad to hear the server did not charge you for the food that day as she too must have realized this was not acceptable. I hope you consider giving us a second chance in the future to try one of our three restaurants again.

Sincerely,

Gregg & Diana Hennum
Owners & General Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

We stayed here as part of a group going ice fishing. The main area of the lodge are nice, the lounge is very nice and very comfortable. The dining room for breakfast was comfortable and the service was all good. The front desk women were very nice. The rooms are very very very basic. The walls are micro-thin... for what you can hear through the walls, you may as well just have a curtain hung between rooms. The room doors are like interior house doors. It's not like a regular hotel room door. Make sure you lock it each time you leave! If you're not on the lake side and in the basement (floor 1), you will have a window that's like a basement window. The lake side rooms have a door to the outside on the first floor, and have a spectacular view of the water. The bathrooms are small and very outdated. The furnishings are very outdated - BUT the main attraction is the lake and fishing and recreation, which is outstanding here. We fished and had a blast! If you are into sitting in your room and relaxing, this is probably not the place for you, but if you want to fish and have fun, it's perfect!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank princesschloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SportsmansLodges, Owner at Sportsman's Lodge, Lake of the Woods, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. Glad to hear you enjoyed our outstanding fishing, awesome scenery, dining and friendly staff. Our full service ice fishing packages are very popular and our walleye fishing second to none. Our lodge was built in 1971 and holds a lot of history. Within the past ten years the lodge has essentially been re-modeled and including recently most of the lodge rooms. We have also added 6 new brand new luxury villas and have plans to build ten more. We invite you back to enjoy the incredible fishing, scenery, live entertainment, dining, indoor pool and our new accommodations.

Sincerely,

Gregg & Diana Hennum
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2010

My son and I stayed two nights in one of the cabins. We started out with cabin #1, but there was a propane odor so we were moved to cabin # 6. Before leaving the first cabin, we noted that the beds appeared new and the carpet did not. Cabin # 6 was a much nicer cabin. No odor, better carpet and again, new beds. The sheets and pillow cases were clean and fresh. The bathroom was ok, towels and wash clothes were clean, but they had been around for awhile. The door and door frame in the bathroom needed replacing. The cabin was also equiped with an electric space heater and we slept well inspite of morning temps being around -30. There were cooking supplies which were adequate. Just to be on the safe side, we brought our own frying pan and cooking pot. We cooked one evening meal and ate at the bar one night-the food was good.

These are not luxury accomodations, but they were fine for us. The staff did a good job and we caught some fish. It was a fun trip and we would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muskrat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SportsmansLodges, Owner at Sportsman's Lodge, Lake of the Woods, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. Glad you enjoyed our fishing and food. Sportsman's Lodge is a family built resort that has been around since 1971. I am sorry to hear the cabin wasn't up to standards. These items have been addressed and taken care of. I will agree, some of our cabins are older. Upgrades to the facilities continue to be done every year to give our guests the best experience as possible. I invite you back to try one of our new accommodations. Many lodge rooms and cabins have been upgraded. We are also very excited to announce our 6 brand new villas and plans to replace all of our cabins in the upcoming few years. These beautiful accommodations feature gas fireplaces, log furnishings, flat screen TVs, gas stoves, side by side fridge/freezers, dishwashers, high efficiency heating and air conditioning and spectacular views.

Sincerely,

Gregg and Diana Hennum
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2010

Sportsmans Lodge has excellent food whether you eat in the dining area or the bar. The service is wonderful and the personel are friendly and curteous.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissyBaudette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SportsmansLodges, Owner at Sportsman's Lodge, Lake of the Woods, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2014

Thank you for staying at Sportsman’s Lodge and for sharing your review with us.

We do continually strive for high standards with regard to food, service and personnel.
We do also review our menus every season so that we can keep things fresh and new for our guests.

Thank you again and we look forward to the next time you visit Sportsman’s Lodge.

Gregg & Diana Hennum
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baudette hotels
8.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Baudette
9.3 mi away
River Bend's Walleye Inn
River Bend's Walleye Inn
#5 of 5 in Baudette
21 reviews
0.4 mi away
River Bend's Resort
River Bend's Resort
#6 of 11 in Baudette
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sportsman's Lodge, Lake of the Woods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sportsman's Lodge, Lake of the Woods

Address: 3244 Bur Oak Rd NW, Baudette, MN 56623-8849
Location: United States > Minnesota > Baudette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Baudette
Price Range: $107 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sportsman's Lodge, Lake of the Woods 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Sportsman's Lodge, Lake of the Woods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sportsman`s Lodges, Lake Of The Woods Hotel Baudette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing