We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Love our stay until we left” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Northwoods Inn

Northwoods Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Northwoods Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Barnum B&B and Inns
Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love our stay until we left”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

Loved our stay until we got a call a couple of hours after we checked out saying we had ruined all the towels in our room. The towels were fine when we left and we did not even use each towel. The owner was so upset I offered to pay for the towels. Super bummed because the room was cute clean and close to the bike trails. We had already planned our next stay. Unfortunately after the towel phone call we will not be back.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Minnesota001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emerald710, Owner at Northwoods Inn, responded to this review, January 4, 2015
I am only doing this due to these reviews have had an impact on the business and we are in the process of selling. I feel these individuals have gone on misleading the potential guest(s) we may have. In this case the towels were badly bleached and I only called and kindly asked what the guest may have used to change the color of the bath linens. I was not rude and only explained they needed to be replaced. She stated "What"! "Do you want me to pay for them"? I replied, "No" and due to her tone, I simply thanked her for her time and ended the call. That was all. I feel she really went overboard with this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    3
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
4
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Granite Falls, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

Our family stayed in three different rooms in this wonderful inn. We were in town for Barnum's high school graduation and the high school is within walking distance.

Beautiful view of woods and Bear Lake. Rooms were spotless, beds and linens laundry fresh. (I do check mattresses and you needn't be wary of staying here!)

Shane and Penny are friendly, hard-working folks. Whether you come to town for business, or personal reasons, you can count on Northwoods Inn for reasonably priced, comfortable accomodations.

Although WiFi is not available, I travel with my own broadband, so was able to combine a family trip with computer work.

Connie Mace
http://raiseyoureyes.dreamhosters.com/

Room Tip: Upper level rooms have best view of lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConnieMace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2010

Our family does an annual motorcyle ride to the Barnum area yearly (sometimes 2x year)to visit family gravesites. We've stayed at the Northwoods Inn for 4 years; first year was before Shane and Penny took over - it was a little run down then. But they have updated the rooms with a 'homey' decor - not the same hotel decor in every room (and new mattresses !). They have the cleanest rooms I've seen (even some big name hotels are questionable), prices are very reasonable; close to good food, gas, and the highway; but still quiet enough for a goods night rest.
It's difficult to satisfy everyone in a group of 12+, but we all agree this is the ONLY place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turkey025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2010

My wife and I found this beautiful little Inn while traveling through MN. The Inn keepers, Shane and Penny, are some of the best people you will ever meet. Down to earth and willing to do whatever they can to make your stay enjoyable. If you're planning a trip to this part of MN than you owe it to youself to stop in and stay for a night or two...perhaps longer.
Thanks for taking care of us......

Brian & Renee
Titusville FL

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JetFoxPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnum
14.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Carlton
5.8 mi away
Days Inn Moose Lake
Days Inn Moose Lake
#1 of 1 in Moose Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
17.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cloquet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#1 of 1 in Finlayson
3.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
17.8 mi away
Super 8 Cloquet
Super 8 Cloquet
#2 of 4 in Cloquet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northwoods Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northwoods Inn

Property: Northwoods Inn
Address: 3716 Main St, Barnum, MN 55707-9788
Location: United States > Minnesota > Barnum
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Barnum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Northwoods Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small inn with 15 rooms plus 2 2 bedroom cottages that have 3 beds and full stocked kitchens We offer weekly rates too Ice machine in the office Updated rooms and all upper level rooms have balcanies Drive up to all rooms on both levels Queen, king and double full bed rooms Very close to interstate 35 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Northwoods Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing