We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Timber Bay Lodge and Houseboats
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We've stayed at Timber Bay Lodge many times, experiencing all temperatures, and all kinds of weather. No matter what we experienced weather-wise, we enjoyed ourselves beyond belief thanks to all of the amazing options available throughout this beautiful area as well as thanks to the unending hospitality of the Rykken family. We've rented cabins and houseboats, and loved EVERY experience. Great fishing!!Great relaxation!! Great vacation!! Can't say enough positive things about this experience !!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judywsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 57 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

We've been going to Timber Bay for 15 years and have never been disappointed! We've done both houseboat and cabin rental and you really can't go wrong either way! Timber Bay is the most relaxing and peaceful place we've ever been and the Rykkan's are top notch hosts every time! Highly recommend for all ages and groups!

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Jdawgeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We love to snowmobile in the Arrowhead Region of MN, and have stayed at many places in this area over the years. On a last minute whim, we wanted to time the snow that was dumping in the area and contacted Beth and Ron to see if they could help us out. They gave us the Bear Trap for only 4 of us at a great rate and we really enjoyed ourselves. We rode all day in the most incredible snow and came back to a warm cabin/lodge to relax in each evening. Because of the amount of snow we received over night (over a foot)they had to do an extra service of plowing the area to ensure we would be ready to move our vehicles and load our trailers on departure. We bring many customers into this area and have now established this location as our first choice in the future. You will not be disappointed and we are looking to come back again before the season is over.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jefxc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We have been vacationing at Timber Bay for almost 30 years - sometimes as couples, often with family. We have been on houseboats and in cabins. We have been there summer, spring and fall. There is not a bad time or experience. The setting is gorgeous, the cabins are homey and comfortable, the staff is fabulous. Give it a try and you will be a fan!
Marilyn H., Sioux City, Iowa

Room Tip: Lake view is nice, and cabin 6 has been our favorite for years. We love the real wood-burning firep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We've stayed here a couple of times and it has an excellent location and really reasonable rooms. Birch lake is nice and we caught many northerns and a few walleye. A better location than garden lake or some others.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephenP783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Had a great time with our first trip to upper Minnesota. The owners are a class act, and so is their dog 'timber'. :). The kids really enjoyed their time on the lake and we look forward to coming back again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NathFamily5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

First time renting a houseboat and the experience was tremendous! The Rykkens are the best hosts and made you feel right at home, especially the evening mixers! But the lake itself is also a great draw, so very special to tie up to an isolated isle and spend the night under that starlit sky. Thanks again! Jeff

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Babbitt
20.4 mi away
The Lodge at Giant's Ridge
14.5 mi away
Moose Track Adventures
13.6 mi away
Grand Ely Lodge
Grand Ely Lodge
#1 of 8 in Ely
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
White Iron Beach Resort
2.2 mi away
Junction Inn Suites & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timber Bay Lodge and Houseboats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timber Bay Lodge and Houseboats

Address: 8347 Timber Bay Rd, Babbitt, MN
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Babbitt
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Babbitt
Price Range: $271 - $774 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Timber Bay Lodge and Houseboats 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timber Bay Lodge and Houseboats is located on Birch Lake in Babbitt, MN. With 13 housekeeping cabins and 13 houseboats it is a premier resort in the Babbitt and Ely area.All cabins are fully furnished in Northwoods décor, have fireplaces and decks with great views. Kids can enjoy the Kids Klub program while mom and dad fish, hike or relax. Cabins are from a cozy one bedroom up to a 6 bedroom lake home.Seven different size houseboats can accommodate anything from 2-12 people. Cruise 20 miles of pristine undeveloped Birch Lake and have a campfire at night. Fish off the back of your boat or enjoy the sunshine in your chaise lounge from the top of the boat.Bikes, canoes, kayaks all free for your use. Fishing boats and pontoon boats available for rent. There is truly something for every member of your group/family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Timber Bay Lodge and Houseboats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing