We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa - Al Bandar Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Barr Al Jissah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

The Shangri La has 3 hotels that make up this single resort. Al Waha is for families with kids. We stayed in Al Bandar which is in the center of the resort and is where the bulk of the restaurants, bars and shisha were. Rooms are spacious and clean but as a whole the resort is perfect for 2-3 days max as it is so far from everything and food in the hotel is expensive.

Service by the pool and beach was great with added little touches like cold towels and small bowls of fruit given to everyone that were nice. First night we ate at Asia where the food was really quite tasteless. Second night we are at the Italian, which was great food but really slow service.

Been here a few times and always a great way to recharge the battery

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank MohammedHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa - Al Bandar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear MohammedHl, Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor in regards to your weekend stay with friend recently. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the food served in our Asian restaurant but happy that you enjoyed the food the following day in the Italian. We look forward to welcoming you back. Warm regards, Mark Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,832)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,224 - 1,230 of 2,832 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014

The hotel was really nice and the staff were really friendly didnt feel like leaving the place the pools and beach were superb and the food felt like it was a 7 star resort and everything was perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
2  Thank Ahmed10101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa - Al Bandar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Ahmed10101, Thank you for sharing your feedback with the readers of TripAdvisor in regards to your recent visit. I am delighted you found the staff friendly and like others you did not feel the need to leave the resort. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards, Mark Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

From the moment we arrived we knew we had made the perfect accommodation choice. The check in was quick and easy and we were guided to our room via a tour around the hotel.
The room was large, comfortable and super clean. The view spectacular.
The staff are all friendly and knowledgeable and if they don't have the answer right away, they will work hard to find one quickly.
We stayed at the Husn hotel and went to the private beach. So beautiful and relaxing, although some of the beach chairs/ umbrellas were too close to the neighbours making it a little awkward. But that's the only "complaint".
The service, the accommodation, the location - Everything here is spectacular!

Room Tip: Turn off the fan for the air conditioning at night as it's too loud and distracting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa - Al Bandar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Nancy F, Thank you for taking your time to review the resort on TripAdvisor, It is nice to read that you felt you had made the right choice from the moment you arrived, in regards to your comment on the sun lounges being close, should you decide to return we would always Be happy to find you a secluded spot within the resort grounds, Warm regards, Mark Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

The location is in a beautiful environment but far away from the city. Different (expensive) restaurants. Sometimes it was not easy to understand the stuff and sometimes they were not very helpfull. We missed more shuttles to Muscat. Overall we hoped to find a similar situation like in the Shangri La Hotel in Abu Dhabi. That was not fullfilled.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank ulrika25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa - Al Bandar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Ulrika25, Thank you for sharing your feedback by posting your review on TripAdvisor in regards to your stay at Al Waha. I would like to thank you for highlighting the location of the resort and the beauty of the surrounding areas. I am sorry to hear that you had difficulties communicating with some of my team and will certainly discuss this with the managers concerned. I hope you enjoyed your overall stay, Warm regards, Mark Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

My visit to Shangri-La did not dissapoint. A wonderfully located hotel with high standards throughout, Food and drink was excellent though very, expensive, when service charge and government taxes were added Staff were courteous and attentive throughout, which made the overall experience a memorable one.


Room Tip: if you want a quiet location, go for the adult only Al Husn hotel, as the Al Bandar hotel, even thou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa - Al Bandar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Mary B, Thank you for taking your time to review the resort on TripAdvisor. I am happy to read that you enjoyed the services and thank you for highlighting the staff and food and beverage, Warm regards Mark Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

The location is really impressive and the quality of service is excellent.
we stayed here for two days after we toured the country and it was the perfect location to relax before going back home.
The spa in the resort is worth a visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa - Al Bandar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Sara M, Thank you for choosing the resort to relax after your tour of Oman and sharing your feedback with the readers of TripAdvisor. I am sure you have great memories of Oman and hopefully you return in the future, Warm regards, Mark Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Overall we enjoyed the resort during our family vacation, facilities are great especially the beach, pools and lazy river. But service at the restaurants and pools was poor because of too few waiters, they tried, but were overworked. Also the room bathroom had mold and mildew and smelled. Complained to management about bathroom and service and they handled it very well and gave us an upgraded room. Overall, I recommend the hotel but expected better rooms and service for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank Ehab S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa - Al Bandar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Ehab S, Thank you for staying with us recently at Al Waha and taking your time to share your feedback with the readers of TripAdvisor. I am sorry you experienced problems with the first room but happy this was resolved quickly once brought to our attention. I hope you enjoyed your overall stay at the resort, Warm regards, Mark Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barr Al Jissah
17 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
14.4 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#12 of 62 in Muscat
1,579 reviews
12.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#7 of 62 in Muscat
1,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Sheraton Oman Hotel
Sheraton Oman Hotel
#2 of 62 in Muscat
294 reviews
3.1 mi away
Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel
13.3 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa - Al Bandar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa - Al Bandar Hotel

Address: Barr Al Jissah, Muscat 113, Oman
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat > Barr Al Jissah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Barr Al Jissah
Price Range: $271 - $566 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa - Al Bandar Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa - Al Bandar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La`s Barr Al Jissah Resort And Spa-Al Bandar
Shangri La`s Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Bandar Hotel Muscat Governorate
Shangri Las Muscat
Shangri La Muscat
Shangri La Oman
Shangri La Hotel Oman
Shangri La Hotel Muscat
Shangri Las Al Bandar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing