We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shangri La - Al Waha”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa - Al Bandar Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Barr Al Jissah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2014

The location is in a beautiful environment but far away from the city. Different (expensive) restaurants. Sometimes it was not easy to understand the stuff and sometimes they were not very helpfull. We missed more shuttles to Muscat. Overall we hoped to find a similar situation like in the Shangri La Hotel in Abu Dhabi. That was not fullfilled.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank ulrika25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa - Al Bandar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Ulrika25, Thank you for sharing your feedback by posting your review on TripAdvisor in regards to your stay at Al Waha. I would like to thank you for highlighting the location of the resort and the beauty of the surrounding areas. I am sorry to hear that you had difficulties communicating with some of my team and will certainly discuss this with the managers concerned. I hope you enjoyed your overall stay, Warm regards, Mark Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,794)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,198 - 1,204 of 2,794 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2014

My visit to Shangri-La did not dissapoint. A wonderfully located hotel with high standards throughout, Food and drink was excellent though very, expensive, when service charge and government taxes were added Staff were courteous and attentive throughout, which made the overall experience a memorable one.


Room Tip: if you want a quiet location, go for the adult only Al Husn hotel, as the Al Bandar hotel, even thou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa - Al Bandar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Mary B, Thank you for taking your time to review the resort on TripAdvisor. I am happy to read that you enjoyed the services and thank you for highlighting the staff and food and beverage, Warm regards Mark Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

The location is really impressive and the quality of service is excellent.
we stayed here for two days after we toured the country and it was the perfect location to relax before going back home.
The spa in the resort is worth a visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa - Al Bandar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Sara M, Thank you for choosing the resort to relax after your tour of Oman and sharing your feedback with the readers of TripAdvisor. I am sure you have great memories of Oman and hopefully you return in the future, Warm regards, Mark Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Overall we enjoyed the resort during our family vacation, facilities are great especially the beach, pools and lazy river. But service at the restaurants and pools was poor because of too few waiters, they tried, but were overworked. Also the room bathroom had mold and mildew and smelled. Complained to management about bathroom and service and they handled it very well and gave us an upgraded room. Overall, I recommend the hotel but expected better rooms and service for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank Ehab S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa - Al Bandar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Ehab S, Thank you for staying with us recently at Al Waha and taking your time to share your feedback with the readers of TripAdvisor. I am sorry you experienced problems with the first room but happy this was resolved quickly once brought to our attention. I hope you enjoyed your overall stay at the resort, Warm regards, Mark Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We have now been to the Al Bandar twice for a family holiday, October 2012 and October 2013.

The rooms are impeccable, we had a family room for four and there was plenty of space for all of us. Comfortable beds, including the sofa bed which I was slightly concerned about but it was absolutely fine. Wifi is free, and the bathrooms are well stocked with everything from shampoo to washing powder!

The staff are very attentive, kind and gentle from the guy who cleans your sunglasses whilst you are relaxing on the beach to the front of house staff. During the second time there we were recognised by many of the staff which was very welcoming.

We liked to sit on the beach during the day as there were less people, and the girls loved the swimming pools and the connecting lazy river was enjoyed by all of us!

Lunch was taken in Circles (pool bar), although at peak times it was hard to get a table, especially out of the sun, so we used to have ours down on our loungers on the beach which was lovely as there was a slight breeze to cool us down!

Suppers were taken either at the fish restaurant, the Italian or at the buffet. It was great to be able to choose fresh fish which had been caught in the sea that morning, although the prices had been hiked up since the year before. The buffet was a normal hotel buffet but there was plenty of choice for all tastes.

If you have a chance then hire one of the boats on the beach - we were lucky enough to see some spinner dolphins plus the snorkelling is incredible - it is just like being in Finding Nemo! The coast line is beautiful, very rugged with lots of hidden coves and it gives you an opportunity to see more of Oman. If you can't do that the snorkelling in the sea at the hotel is still amazing.

We had to pay a visit to the clinic whilst there as my daughter got stung and the treatment was fantastic. We saw a kind and sympathetic doctor and nurse, and you felt very safe. The beach staff were fantastic when it happened, as they were the ones who removed the sting from her foot immediately and told us where to go for the treatment.

We came back feeling very relaxed and would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Oman.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nutmeg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa - Al Bandar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Nutmeg3, Thank you for your continued support over the years and sharing your complementary feedback with the readers of TripAdvisor. It is nice to read that you have great memories from you past visits and I am sure the readers of your review will find the tips useful, I hope you chose to return later this year, Warm regards, Mark Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Shangri la Al Husn is lovely place to relax in Oman, beautiful hotel, gorgeous pool, fantastic service and food in the many restaurants, afternoon tea and drinks are served each day and that is lovely way to experience the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa - Al Bandar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Ann M, I am happy to read from your TripAdvisor review posted recently that you had a great stay at Al Husn. Hopefully you will decide to return, Warm regards, Mark Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Al Husn hotel in April 2014 during the Easter holidays. We had a fantastic time. The hotel room was impeccable, the mini bar and Wifi are complementary, and there are many thoughtful details in the room. The swimming pools, beaches, etc. are all lovely and there too, the staff are very attentive. They make sure you have a sun embrella, bring you a cooler with water and juices, and from time to time they even come by to offer a plate of fresh fruit. The spa is wonderful and we enjoyed several treatments during our stay. I also used the salon for a haircut and manicure & pedicure. There are several different restaurants and bars in the complex. We tried three of them and the food overall was very good. Breakfast is fantastic with lots of choices in the buffet and a nice a la carte menu. For Easter there was a set menu in the evening and we were a bit disappointed with it. We told the waiter the next day (all the waiters are absolutely fantastic!) and he informed the chef. The chef immediately came out to see us and invited us to come back for dinner that evening. He offered us champagne and special starters free of charge to compensate for our disappointment the previous day. At the end of the evening he also came to see us again to ask if everything had been to our liking. Really fantastic service. All the staff in the hotel are very nice and go the extra mile to make sure that the guests are happy. I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Muscat. We stayed in the Al Husn, which is for adults only, but the other hotels are also really nice for families with children.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Esther K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa - Al Bandar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear Esther K, Thank you for sharing your positive feedback with the readers of TripAdvisor in regards to your recent stay at the resort. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that when you mentioned you were disappointed with the set menu served at Easter my team resolved the issue and delighted you the following evening. While I have a beautiful resort to manage it’s the staff that make our guests stay enjoyable and thank you for highlighting these members of the team. Warm regards, Mark Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barr Al Jissah
17 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
14.4 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#11 of 61 in Muscat
1,536 reviews
12.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#7 of 61 in Muscat
1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Sheraton Oman Hotel
Sheraton Oman Hotel
#1 of 61 in Muscat
261 reviews
3.1 mi away
Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel
13.3 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa - Al Bandar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa - Al Bandar Hotel

Address: Barr Al Jissah, Muscat 113, Oman
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat > Barr Al Jissah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Barr Al Jissah
Price Range: $266 - $509 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa - Al Bandar Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa - Al Bandar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La`s Barr Al Jissah Resort And Spa-Al Bandar
Shangri La`s Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Bandar Hotel Muscat Governorate
Shangri Las Muscat
Shangri La Muscat
Shangri La Oman
Shangri La Hotel Oman
Shangri La Hotel Muscat
Shangri Las Al Bandar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing