We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday break for two in Muscat Al Bandar hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Bandar
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Barr Al Jissah
Certificate of Excellence
East Grinstead
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Holiday break for two in Muscat Al Bandar hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Just excellent.
Without exception all the staff were friendly efficient and helpful.
Facilities and food were great.
Room 2253 (and 2249 to 2256 I guess?) had wonderful views over the bay.
We stayed in the Al Bandar hotel, not child free but it suited our budget.
The Al Waha is more for families and so has more children.
The exclusive one at the end Al Husn looked VERY nice,

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank d m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Bandar, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear d m, Thank you for sharing your feedback with the readers of TripAdvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for sharing your room tips and positive feedback. Warm regards, Mark Kirk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,651
    606
    151
    99
    31
See reviews for
895
1,007
55
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Wow!!!! Simply wow! Best Holiday in a while!

We stayed at Al-Bandar, from checking in to checking out simply exquisite! The staff are very well trained on customer excellence with consistency, I don't know how the management manages it with minimal effort. The waiting staff are so friendly we used Al-Tanoor restaurant and Surf Cafe and some of the names that immediately come to mind are, Swaij, Patani, Thandar, Very attentive staff and they remembered your preferences when you returned the following day. I thought that was very personable and great touch. I have never experienced that before!
The staff will greet you and wish you well whenever and where ever you met them, very polite and nothing was too much of trouble for them.

The rooms were nice, clean and spacious. The bathroom oozed luxury, The pools were divine, The gardens and flowerbeds well maintained. The lazy river was great fun, Great choices of food to wet your appetite. The gym was brilliant, although be advised there is no steam room, only sauna. Tennis courts are flood lit for evening play. nearby turtle nests meant there might be a potential sighting of turtles hatching and a unique opportunity to watch the young turtles making their way to the sea..

The only thing that could have been better was the delay in checking in as the staff were enundated by a large group checking out and I was kept waiting for over 20 minutes before I got checked in. Also be aware of private functions at the resort due to its popularity with the locals. The same was the case when I was checking out. They could have been a bit better organised.

I can honestly say, go and stay there you will enjoy and will have no regrets!

Have fun! Thank you Shangri-La for making our stay so great!

Room Tip: You can go for a la Carte menu from other restaurants as the buffett at 18 Omani Riyals plus local t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cooluk2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Bandar, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Cooluk2008, Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback with the fans of TripAdvisor. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your tips and descriptions of the facilities. A special thanks for naming the staff that stood out, this means a lot to them and encourages others to provide great service. Warm regards, Mark Kirk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed at the Al Husn. This is key. The 2 other Shangri La hotels on the site are in our view well under although more adapted to families . The Al Husn has the nicest view, its own beach , located on a high spot in Oman ( the eagle face rock). Only weak point : the restaurants outside the Al Husn which lack charm .

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank remyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Bandar, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear remyde, Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor in regards to your recent visit to the resort. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay at the Al Husn. Warm regards, Mark Kirk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Oman is a magnificent country with warm, friendly people and landscapes that will delight even the most seasoned traveler. The Shangri-La Resort was one of the nicest resorts we have ever stayed at. Be prepared to be pampered however make sure you have reservations for the Spa and the Jazz/BBQ evenings. This facility is popular with locals and nearby Gulf neighbors so it does get busy.

Room Tip: The Waha and Bandar Hotel rooms are compact but very comfortable and the balcony with a view is fant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
2 Thank June F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Bandar, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear June F, Thank you for sharing your tips and experience of the resort with the readers of TripAdvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and highlighting the Jazz BBQ which has quickly become a popular choice. Warm regards, Mark Kirk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Currently staying in the adults only Al Husn part of a large complex of 3 hotels set on a sheltered bay. Rooms excellent -spacious , good selection of toiletries , free mini bar(soft drinks,beer and nibbles), very comfortable bed and usual refinements such as evening turn down service and towel replacement. Private beach and pool area for exclusive use by Al Husn guests. Extensive and peaceful pool area with comfortable loungers and attentive staff to put out your towels , clean your sunglasses and supply complimentary cool box with cold soft drinks.Guests also have access to facilities of the other two hotels.
Lots of places to eat around the complex but be warned that dinner for 2 with a bottle of wine will leave you with no change from over £120. Note that menu prices exclude 17% tax and service charges. Food quality pretty good for a hotel of this size and certainly plenty of variety. Breakfast offering very varied and of good quality except for coffee and orange juice - coffee improves when it's not served in a cafetiere. Enjoy the complimentary afternoon tea from 3:45 and the pre dinner drinks from 6:00pm.
Wifi offered throughout the site but take note that you won't be able to FaceTime or Skype - both are blocked- is this penny pinching or ????- the first time I've experienced this.
The service offered by the staff is generally friendly, courteous and efficient. Again as I would have expected of this hotel group.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Bandar, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Ken J, Thank you for sharing your feedback with the readers of TripAdvisor in regards to your visit in Al Husn. I appreciate your positive feedback and delighted you enjoyed your stay. For information to all readers, both Skype and Facetime are blocked in Oman and so guests should bring an alternative type of communication. Most instant messaging services as well as Facebook are available. Warm regards, Mark Kirk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

I'm a journalist from London and recently stayed at Shangri La Barr Al Jissah as I was reviewing the golf courses in Muscat. The hotel provides an excellent, secluded base away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The setting is majestic - surrounded by beautiful mountains on one side and clear blue sea on the other. As soon as I arrived I felt totally relaxed, it's one of the most calming and serene resorts I've ever visited.

I'm very lucky in my line of work that I do get to travel to some amazing hotels, but this was one of the best. The two things I mainly judge my stay on are the quality of beds and level of service from the staff, both were first class!

The little touches make the difference at 5* hotels and they do that very well here. Complimentary water in cool boxes and fresh afternoon fruit as you relax on your sunlounger just adds to the enjoyment! We even had an excellent member of staff coming round to clean our sunglasses!

Bait Al Bahr, the beach side restaurant and Sultanah at Al Husn hotel were both superb and it was fantastic to escape the British winter and see the sun!

A big thank you to the GM Mark Kirk and Communications Manager Eihab Attia for looking after us, you have a great hotel and excellent staff. The place to stay for golfers visiting Oman!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 280Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Bandar, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear 280Sarah, Thank you for sharing your feedback with the readers of TripAdvisor. It was nice meeting you during your stay and it was great to hear that golf in Oman is picking up popularity. With the three green golf courses now available it has become a great golfing destination. Hopefully you will decide to return with the planned golfing events in the future. Warm regards, Mark KIRK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton Uk
Level Contributor
175 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

an amazing location Wonderful swimming and snorkelling. A choice of three grade of hotel,family, middle business and super adult only luxury at the Husn.
Most of the staff were helpful but check information given by some!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank sidonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Bandar, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear sidonie, Thank you for taking your time share your feedback with the readers of TripAdvisor, I am delighted your enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully you will return in the future. Warm regards, Mark Kirk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barr Al Jissah
17.0 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
3.1 mi away
Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel
14.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#7 of 50 in Muscat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#6 of 50 in Muscat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
13.2 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
11.4 mi away
Coral Muscat Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Bandar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Bandar

Property: Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Bandar
Address: Barr Al Jissah 113, Oman
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Barr Al Jissah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Barr Al Jissah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Bandar 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Bandar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La`s Barr Al Jissah Resort And Spa-Al Bandar
Shangri La`s Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Bandar Hotel Muscat Governorate
Shangri Las Muscat
Shangri La Muscat
Shangri La Oman
Shangri La Hotel Oman
Shangri La Hotel Muscat
Shangri Las Al Bandar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing