We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to Shangri La Standards”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Bandar
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Barr Al Jissah
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not up to Shangri La Standards”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed here for a long weekend, amazing location and beautiful scenery but all else is a bit of a let down.

Rooms: Spacious, clean and good access. Beds are nice and comfortable.

Pool/Beach: Great, lots for kids/adults to do and really well maintained. Guys with water and fruit only really come once a day if that. All loungers are reserved early in the morning as well which is a pain as no one sits on them till 11am.

Food: Big let down, very expensive and compared to other shangri las, very poor. We had raw lamb one night which led to a toilet hopping night. Other nights, food was edible but not what you expect. Visited 3 other Shangri Las and they are much better.

Overall, great location, rooms and pool. Food is a let down and nowhere else nearby to go.

Free shuttle to the souq is a good touch although they just leave people who are not back on time with no headcount done.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentUser1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,645
    605
    150
    98
    31
See reviews for
889
1,005
55
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

A perfect location for a get-away! We loved everything about the resort. Each and every one of the staff members are friendly and give you a heart felt greeting. The pool is beautiful! The grass seating area over looking the ocean is perfect for a lazy day in the sun. There are various restaurants to cater to all needs. The food is great and again the service is impeccable! A tip for the ocean lovers, take a pair of water shoes with, the beach and ocean floor is rocky. We are happy to recommend this resort to all our family and friends!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chala69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Definitely the best hotel I have seen in Oman..location is a bit secluded and away from the city, it will take you a good 20-minute drive to reach there but it is totally worth it. You can feel a different touch of service, you feel relaxed and at home. Everybody is acknowledging and greeting you with a smile. Food is tasty and so delicious, tried both ala carte and buffet which I must say, all done and prepared at its finest! The room is large enough and neatly done. Pool is very clean and well-kept and so to speak even the sea is looked after by the staffs. I could not forget the picturesque location of the place, surrounded by mountains and sea...very calming and soothing effect of nature! This could be one of the romantic get aways if you are travelling with your special someone. For friends, there are a lot of things to do here like enjoying the water and water activities, visiting their bars, dining at different restaurant outlets or just merely sitting by the pool area while catching up and enjoying their food and drinks(they are serving all sorts of)! Although the stay was short, my friends and I had a really great time and wonderful stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FERNLOUIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Have had a reservation for weeks. Called last night and recon firmed my transfers, king bed room and foam pillows. Arrived in Muscat and no transport to the hotel. Agent at desk confused at best, person on the phone said take a taxi we forgot to set it up...not a good starry but it gets better...
Arrived at the hotel and checked in and walked into my king bed room and found I was given 2 twin beds. Front desk said oh, well you didn't book it but when I pulled out my reservation it had it on there, also the transfers and pillows. I asked "are you sure this is Shangri- la". When asked why I said that I said i have been staying T shangri la hotels for years and this one does not act like it. They are renown for their amazing service..for which I have seen none so far.
Finally sorted...hopefully rest shall go ok. Beware this is not the normal standard!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Greeneyestravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Bandar, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Greeneyestravevelin, thank you for sharing your arrival experience via this review and please accept my sincere apologies for the poor start to your stay. I would like to ensure that you enjoy the rest of your stay and please feel free to contact me by asking any of my staff to speak to me or by emailing me at mark.kirk@shangri-la.com.
Warm regards,
Mark Kirk
Genral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamburg
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Amazing experience with beautiful architecture and interior design in the Al Husn Hotel of the Shangri-La in Muscat. Service was impeccable and the food is presented very well, tasty and delivered with a great smile. Most of the employees are actually Moroccan and perform in the evening, it comes across as spontaneous, but I had dinner there twice and it was the same, but still a great dining experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joebeaulais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We have stayed at both the Al Bandar and Al Hussan hotels in this resort. Both were wonderful but of course the more expensive Al Hussan is that much more exclusive, The service in the hotel was superb and the suite we stayed in absolutley top notch. The restaurants were wonderful and we especially enjoyed the Moroccan restuarant with its live music and Moroccan waiters who were obviously enjoying the olive music as much as the guests. The pool and beach are again wonderful and I'm really looking forward to going back again sometime soon, depending on seeing some good offers. I've been to many Shangri-La hotels, they are always beautiful buildings, and despite being large hotels, very personal. This one is no exception

Room Tip: Dont get one that has a connecting door to the adjacent room. The sound proofing through these is p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiameseTomCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Has a great view, the mountains behind you and the sea is in front of you. Has number of different cuisines that you can enjoy. Great place for family and couples. Great pool and lazy river.
It will take you out of this world.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Munther J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barr Al Jissah
17.0 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
3.1 mi away
Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel
14.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#7 of 50 in Muscat
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#6 of 50 in Muscat
1,470 reviews
13.2 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
11.4 mi away
Coral Muscat Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Bandar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Bandar

Property: Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Bandar
Address: Barr Al Jissah 113, Oman
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Barr Al Jissah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Barr Al Jissah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Bandar 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Bandar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La`s Barr Al Jissah Resort And Spa-Al Bandar
Shangri La`s Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Bandar Hotel Muscat Governorate
Shangri Las Muscat
Shangri La Muscat
Shangri La Oman
Shangri La Hotel Oman
Shangri La Hotel Muscat
Shangri Las Al Bandar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing