We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shangri-La Al Husn Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$308
$234
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$309
$269
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Oasis Hotel(Muscat Governorate)
$49
$37
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$42
$37
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$36
$33
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Room Service
$141
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
$50
Priceline
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,959)
Filter reviews
1,960 results
Traveler rating
1,481
344
90
25
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,481
344
90
25
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teaal husnprivate beachsorbetpre dinner drinksother hotelscocktail hourcool boxsultanah restaurantcomplimentary mini barfacial sprayinfinity poolsoft drinkscapri courtbait al bahrcold towelsevian spray
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,070 - 1,075 of 1,960 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I base my opinion on a two days stay at this resort. It's a bit far from the airport (around 45 min) but I can assure you the drive will be enjoyable mostly due to the breath taking landscapes. The sunrise and sunset is a must see especially if you're lucky to get a beach front view room. The staff is really attentive and professional, good food, defo a come back. Ah, and if you like snorkelling then you're in the right place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri-La Al Husn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Dear Elena D, Thank you for taking the time to write your review and post it on TripAdvisor. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate you mentioning the drive from the airport. Being a resident of Muscat I have to say the scenery in the last ten minutes of the drive to the resort matches anything I have seen over the world. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. Warm regards, Mark Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

location
beautiful nature
nice location
frindly staff
ideal for couples
outstanding service
relaxing location
gourgeous beaches and sweming pools
nice hotel facilities
frindly staff
luxary room
great food
excellent restaurants
beyond expectation
one of the best holidays i have had for long time. unforgitable :-)

Room Tip: sea view delux room.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri-La Al Husn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Dear Suad J, Thank you for your complementary review of the resort posted recently on TripAdvisor, You bullet point review is certainly appreciated and I am delighted you managed to enjoy the facilities and services mentioned in your review. Warm regards, Mark Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

One of the first holidays in a long time where I simply didn't want to come home!

So from the start then.

We arrived at Muscat airport and our travel agent hadn't informed the transfer company of our arrival time but there was a very helpful representative from Shangri La (can't remember his name) who couldn't have been more helpful and after a night flight this was very welcome.

We were slightly disappointed on arrival at the hotel at 9am to find out our room wasn't going to be available until 2pm, the hotel didn't seem that busy! We were shown to the hospitality room but it was never the less a bit of a pain if we wanted something from our suitcases to keep disturbing the concierge and felt like a waste of a morning - this wasn't the greatest start. We decided to have breakfast as we were asleep on the plane and for this we were charged around £50, for a bowl of cereal and a coffee!!! Early days though.

Our main reason for choosing Oman was to complete our SCUBA diving qualification. The diving here is absolutely amazing, the sea is quite literally teeming with fish, lovely and warm and Caren, Sarah and Andre at Extra divers just outside the hotel gates, are wonderful in every way.

Moving on from the arrival, our room became available from 1pm which was great. The room was lovely, we stayed in 1016 and whilst it was one of the cheaper rooms it was still very luxurious, had a great view and the mini bar and toiletries were kept very well stocked throughout the week.

Breakfast each morning was a delight, for those that comment on it never changing, I find it hard to understand however they can change anything when everything is on offer!

Lunch around the resort was always good, if a little pricey. It would have been nice if there had been more of a snack bar type outlet which allowed for simple sandwhiches etc rather than a sit down affair.

Afternoon tea was always lovely, pre dinner drinks and canapés never scrimped on, both included in the room rate. In fact at pre dinner drinks it was a challenge to empty a glass before it was being topped up again.

Onto the restaurants. The first night we ate at Sultanah and felt this was too pricey for the food on offer, perhaps it's the beautiful evening view you pay for. We also ate at Shahrazad, Al Tanoor, Asia and two nights we ate at Bait Al Bahr, the fish restaurant, which in our opinion was the best. For lunch we ate at Circles, the private beach bar and the private pool bar, all were good.

Al Husn has a completely different feel about it to the two other hotels, and is definitely worth the premium if you're looking for a polished, romantic, child free getaway - although I understand children can stay in the hotel, just not allowed by the pool and beach.

The gym in Al Husn is much smaller than the other gym on the resort but it was a lot less busy and there were no time limits on the machines.

So that's about it, after having taken the edge off on arrival it was quickly restored. All of the staff are wonderful and can't do enough to help.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ttat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri-La Al Husn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Dear ttat, Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor in regards to your recent visit to Al Husn. I am very sorry we were unable to get your straight to the room on arrival. We do try our best to get guest into their rooms as early as possible but sometimes this is not possible prior to the 2pm check in time if the hotel is full the night before. I am happy to hear that once you did get your room you were happy with the services provided by the team. I will also pass on your complimentary feedback to the team at Extra Divers. Warm regards, Mark Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This hotel is a real gem. We've just started going away as a couple again as our youngest is now at Uni so the idea of a tranquil adults only hotel was always going to appeal. However, this surpassed all expectations. The beach (where we ended up every day) is sensational and has beds on two perspectives so you can always catch the sun by just moving over in the afternoon to get the sunset across the bay. The snorkelling was an unexpected surprise - we went right off the beach - stick to the rocky areas to the right and left and take care when passing in front of the gap in the sandstone at high tide as motor boats can come through quite fast. We saw turtles, parrot fish, trigger fish, puffer fish etc - only ever seen better in the Maldives.
They seem to have set themselves up to surprise you with the little extras from the towel and refreshment service on the beach (all free) to the mini bar and cocktail hour in the evening (all also free!). The rest of the resort is still very upmarket and gives some variety for eating out and we particularly liked the fish restaurant on the beach and Asia. However, you immediately appreciate and welcome the child free nature of the Al Husn once you go elsewhere in the resort.
All in all we had a fabulous nine days and will definitely be back

Room Tip: Go for a sea view - ideally above ground floor level (although even that is on top of a cliff)
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seergreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri-La Al Husn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Dear seergreen, Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor and your complementary description of the Al Husn and you stay. I am delighted to read that you saw so much marine life directly from the beach. As a reminder to future guests children are permitted to stay at Al Husn but there are no children's facilities in Al Husn, children can enjoy facilities such as the Lazy River, children's pool, play room and water aquatic play area in Al Bandar and Al Waha hotels. Children below 16 are not permitted to use the private beach or Al Husn pool. Warm regards, Mark Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

The environment, nature, staff, food, restaurants, ocean, hotel facilities... Everything is extra-ordinary. We will never forget our vacation at this site. You can choose different cousine at various restaurants. SPA experience is unique.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cemall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri-La Al Husn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Dear Cemall, Thank you for taking your time to review the resort on TripAdvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed the facilities and service of the resort and in particularly the Chi Spa. Warm regards, Mark Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews