We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning with service to match”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Barr Al Jissah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Beautiful setting, cut into the mountains and right on the private beach.
The extra service touches were impressive and welcome such as free water bottles during the day whilst sunbathing given in their own little cool box, chilled towels during sunbathing, waiter service for snacks and drinks whilst sunbathing.
Food in the buffet restaurants is stunning and has something for everyone, by far the best hotel buffet I have ever seen.
Breakfast again is stunning and again the best breakfast buffet I have ever seen, to the extent of offering a sugar free section with jams, muffins, pastries etc, and various other breakfast cuisines.
Room service is again special with a simple burger elevated to a dining experience with a mobile table laid with silver, wine glasses etc.
All in all a must see hotel, I flew from Dubai to stay just to experience what friends had told me was so good. I wasnt disappointed.

Room Tip: sea view rooms are close to the beach
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Landlord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri-La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Landlord, Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor in regards to your recent stay at the resort. Please thank your friends that recommended the resort on my behalf and I am delighted that we lived up to their expectations. I have ensured that that your review has been shared with the kitchen staff which I am sure will motivate them. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay. Warm regards, Mark Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,158)
There are newer reviews for Shangri-La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

501 - 507 of 1,158 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2014

We checked in on the 5th March and are checking out on the 15th. We are staying at Al-Waha. Great hotel, great facilities for children. Good variety of places to eat and good food. Only obvious down side is for every member of staff that bends over backwards for you there is a member of staff that really can't be bothered and considers bringing you a drink or food a huge favour. Almost all these members of staff seem to work by the pools. After 2 1/2 hours yesterday I cleared our lunch plates as we were being visited by flies. If the pool staff sorted themselves out there would be nothing but praise for this hotel.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Florence1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri-La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Dear Florence1910, Thank you sharing your feedback with us during your stay via TripAdvisor. I have discussed this with the team and apologize for the service you received at the pool during lunch. Hopefully you will see this was an isolated experience and experience better service from now on. Thank you for the positive feedback on the facilities and food you have experienced so far. I hope you enjoy the rest of your stay and please feel free to contact me directly is I can assist you in anyway. Warm regards, Mark Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

- location of hotel is fantastic
- with the other two partner hotel of the resort Al Waha is like a little city in itself, with a "market place" (i.e. pool area and dining restaurant) in the central courtyard.
- Lots of options to walk and stroll about the hotel area of the resort
-restaurant service and reception have very poor service quality which is a shame really. --> food selection is huge but unfortunately there is only a hidden arab corner (with great stuff, though)
- hotel Al Waha seems to be great for children/families but is also a lovely choice for all other ages/people
- if you need to check out, allow for enough time as the reception is always crowded...

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaCenterentola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri-La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Dear LaCenterentola, Thank you for posting your mixed review on TripAdvisor in regards to your recent visit to the resort. Please accept my sincere apologies for any delays you experienced with our services at both the reception and restaurants. I will certainly discuss your feedback with the concerned division heads. I hope you enjoyed your overall stay. Warm regards, Mark Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Good things:
1. Excellent service at the restaurants. Honestly brilliant.
2. Good tasting food with an excellent variety. Very pricey so expect a large bill but if you are willing too pay, definitely worth it. The italian and moroccan restaurants are delicious. Avoid Asia (oriental restaurant) - pricey and food is not up to the standard of the other restaurants.
3. Location in the mountains next to a beach is truly stunning
4. Lots of facilities in the resort that keep you entertained.

Bad things:
1. Although not a bad thing (and definitely not the resorts fault), Al-Waha is amazing for kids. We are a young couple but were sold the al-waha resort by our travel agent who strongly recommended it over the Al-Husn resort. We were told that the rooms are pretty similar and that facilities are same throughout so no need to pay the extra amount to stay in the Al-Husn. Although you can use the facilities all over the resort whichever hotel you stay in, I would definitely recommend the adult only Al-Husn if you want a romantic getaway with your other half.
2. This was definitely bad... we obviously had a drainage problem in our room. The room and bathroom smelt horrendously all the time and is not want you want when having a shower. We are not a couple that like to complain or kick up a fuss but did politely inform the reception staff on a daily basis. To their credit, a plumber was sent to fix the problem twice out of the 7 nights we stayed. After he left, the smell temporarily vanished, but did return soon after. Frustratingly, we were once never offered the option of changing to another room in Al-Waha. We regularly stay in 5* hotels across the world and know that if this problem occurred in 3* hotels, we would be offered a room change. This can only be testament to the customer service of the front desk.

I do not know whether other rooms in the Al-waha had similar problems however it did leave us wondering whether we should have stayed in the Chedi instead - a shame and did spoil a lovely trip.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri-La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Dr S, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on TripAdvisor. I sincerely apologize for the problems you experienced with the drainage and have asked my engineering and housekeeping team to find out what went wrong, I appreciate all the positive points that you have highlighted in your review. On a note of the three hotels there are significant differences between the Al Husn and Al Waha and these can be seen directly on the resorts website and photo gallery. As you mention Al Waha is targeted towards the younger families while Al Husn is much more suitable for honeymooners and couples. Warm regards, Mark Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Stayed at the Al-Waha resort. The drive itself to the property itself is fantastic - the view of the marina from the road above will certainly be a photographers delight.

Check-in was smooth and professional and what you would expect from a Shangrila property. The location is perfect - you have the mountains and the sea. Hats off for getting a superb location for the property. The property itself is huge, considering they have 3 hotels (Al Waha, Al Bandar and Al Husn) within the resort. So, if you are looking at a small boutique 5 star hotel by the sea, this might not be the place. We had an excellent beach facing room (3461) - room size is good. The property allows you to do a lot of things within the property without having to step out. Kids will love the pool and the adventure zone. And if you want to step out, the hotel offers a complimentary shuttle service to the Mutrah Souq and the Grand Muscat Mall - which is certainly a good touch. Overall a very nice family resort with a fantastic location - and the one night we spend here does not do justice to the property ( min of 2 or 3 nights would be ideal)

The only reason why i am rating the property "very good" & not "excellent" are a few of the service elements which we missed. Had asked for a comb which never came. The service center number kept ringing without anyone answering , and this happened a couple of times. And yes - they did not have a veg pizza option and my kid wanted one (am not sure they served pizza's at all as I did not find it on the menu :-) Also had to wait for over 15 minutes when i wanted a shuttle between the Al-Waha and Al-Bandar hotels. Guess these service elements is what typically would separate the Four Seasons or Oberoi properties and give you an overall "wow" experience.

But hey, just ignored these things and just enjoyed the time at the property. And yes, will certainly come back. Go for it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ssanjay_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri-La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear ssanjay_99, Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor in regards to your recent stay. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for highlighting the beautiful location and drive to the resort. I am sorry you experienced some delays in our services and I am delighted to read that you recommend the resort and will return. Warm regards, Mark Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at al waha for one night due to our original hotel couldn't give us a late check out room, this was our first original preference before we booked our holiday but was fully booked, and I'm glad we didn't stop here for 9 days... the room was extremely basic we had an executive superior sea view room which supposedly fitted 2 adults and 2 children, small and boxy with no character and not even a rug on the floor which I might add was filthy, the upside was the sea food restaurant we went to was excellent. Would we return for a weeks holiday... sorry no. Gave it 3 stars for the restaurant and kids pirate ship?

Stayed: February 2014
2  Thank Ladybird220368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri-La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Ladybird220368, Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. I am sorry to read that Al Waha was not as expected. We do try to ensure that the three properties are clearly described with Al Waha being clearly targeted towards the younger families. I am happy that you enjoyed Bait Al Bahr our seafood restaurant. Warm regards, Mark Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Nice place. Shangri-La serivce quality was fine. Room was ok but nothing really extraordinary, overlooking the pool. The Omani ocean was nice, albeit is was biting us a little (small jellyfish i guess??). So we spent quite some time in the pools. We stayed at the cheapest option of the three adjoining hotels, but spent most time at the "mid-tier" hotel. So that was not a problem. Being a couple, next time i might splash-out on the "no-kids" resort for added serenity. We went Dune Bashing one day, can also be reccomended (even if a little pricey)..

Would reccomend to anyone stopping over the Oman.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SebastianAusMuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri-La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear SebastianAusMuc, Thank you for posting your review in regards to your stay last March and for recommending the resort to potential guests. As you mentioned Al Waha is targeted towards the families and the facilities their suitable for the younger guests. I am delighted you enjoyed your overall stay. Warm regards, Mark Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barr Al Jissah
17.2 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
14.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#12 of 59 in Muscat
1,460 reviews
12.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#7 of 59 in Muscat
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
7.8 mi away
Sheraton Oman Hotel
Sheraton Oman Hotel
#1 of 59 in Muscat
199 reviews
15.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa

Address: Barr Al Jissah, Muscat 100, Oman
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat > Barr Al Jissah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Barr Al Jissah
Price Range: $206 - $452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shangri-La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La`s Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Waha Hotel Muscat Governorate
Shangri La`s Barr Al Jissah Resort And Spa-Al Waha
Shangri Las Muscat
Shangri Las Al Waha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing