We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your children deserv it and you too!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Waha
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Barr Al Jissah
Certificate of Excellence
Riga
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Your children deserv it and you too!”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This was a surprisce trip to me and my 2 sons. We loved it! Thanks to Mark, who plyed football with my oldest son, teached him to swim and prepered sunbeds for all our big family already at 6am when we came down for morning swim. My dad loved a big choice of fruits from Asia ( like dragon eyes and others), my mom was happy when she sow how cool adventore zone your hotel have for her 2 grandsons. She liked that wi fee worked better then last time. We loved our long brekfest at Al,Tanoor!!!! And special thanks to Nadia from recepcion! We had some problems at arrivall and at departore ( as uasually staff mixed up all and we were disepointed), but Nadia is a sunshine and she knows what we need and like. She organise that on next stay we got rooms next to each other. We were happy, that nurse could come over to our room, when my son had feewer.
And my son got wonderful cake on his birhtday!
I dream to come back some day!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nika30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Waha, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Nika30, Thank you for your continued support of the resort and sharing your feedback with the readers of TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay and highlighting the services of Mark and Nadia which I will certainly share with them. Hopefully we will meet during your next visit. Warm regards, Mark Kirk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    353
    111
    31
    18
See reviews for
509
357
31
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warnsveld, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
123 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Al Waha is an excellent place to spend a couple of days at after your tour through Oman. Staff are friendly and helpful, food is available in various standards, varying from buffet style to haute cuisine, as you can use the restaurants of all hotels. Al Husn is highly recommendable.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, do not stay near the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Waha, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear umbridge, Thank you for taking your time to review Al Waha on TripAdvisor. I am delighted you had a relaxing stay with us and hope that you enjoyed touring beautiful Oman prior to staying at the resort. Warm regards, Mark Kirk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
150 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

As a family hotel, all the services and amenities are there to make your stay pleasant. Kids pools and entertainment are good and will keep the little ones busy.
When checking in, however, if you have booked "sea view" room, check where your room is, as the hotel's perception of "sea view" is creative.
As far as F&B is concerned, while I should not gripe too much given that it is a "family hotel" and not a culinary excursion, it is rather disappointing for the price. Given the cost of the restaurants and the rating of the hotel, the food should be better quality.

Room Tip: The "Al Waha" section of the Shangri-La is a "U" shaped building, with the extre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DXB_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Waha, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear DXB_Mike, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on TripAdvisor, I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and that your kids were kept busy with the entertainment provided by the recreation team. While the restaurants at Al Waha are focused more at the families, guests staying at Waha do have access to all restaurants within the resort which you might wish to try should you return. Warm regards, Mark Kirk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We loved this place so much at Easter (see previous review), that despite a good deal on offer at Zighy Bay, we decided to go back for a week before Christmas. This was largely on the basis that we knew what we were getting and that the facilities for children were so good.
The resort was quiet when we first arrived and that made a significant difference on check in (when large numbers were arriving for Christmas as we left, check-in looked chaos). Same room type on upper floor, as requested, same very friendly staff and excellent service. Restaurant quality just as high. We spent more time over at Al Bandar this time - the pool restaurant is much better than the one at Al Waha, and the buffet dinner has everything that the Samba restaurant has but with many additional items, and in a more sophisticated setting. At breakfast, even the china is much nicer (proper coffee cups and saucers instead of multi coloured mugs) than at Al Waha. Now here's the reason we spent so much more time over there.... it seems that the hotel management have decided to dip their toes into the world of mass package tourism. Three times a month (according to one particularly harrassed waiter), large (think several hundred) numbers arrive for a 4 day whirl around Muscat and surroundings. They check in and move around en masse according to their itinerary so heaven forbid you want breakfast / to leave in a car / use the pool at the same time. This hotel / the Shangri-La chain are sold / marketed and priced as a luxury chain. The clientele tended to be very international, with no large group from any one country, and all very discreet - it is a very laid back resort with a low-key vibe.
It's therefore all the more jarring when several hundred people swarm in en masse for the very bottom end of cheap package tourism. Yes, it's galling that they are paying 80Rials / night for a room that you're paying many multiples of that, but it's more about the complete change in atmosphere that overtakes the resort when hundreds of people descend for a cheap holiday - it's Magaluf meets Muscat. I was physically shoved out of the way at the lift, elbowed and barged at the breakfast buffet and the less said the better about the state of the public bathrooms just before the tour busses left for an outing. The swimming pool was unusable when the group came back from their trips - and if you had left your sun lounger for the beach, you might well find a complete stranger and their family inhabiting it, despite all your belongings being there.
We understand (care of our own tour guide for a trip we went on - see seperate review) that the Omani government are actively encouraging larger scale mass tourism. They had originally put these groups in the Al-Bustan, however the manager there realised that they were killing their original / main luxury tourism business in doing so and it seems that the SHangri-La stepped up to take on these groups instead. We spoke to the hotel manager about what a negative impact it had on the hotel and how it was a bit of a slap in the face to the people who've paid tens of thousands of dollars for a luxury trip to find themselves in the middle of the type of package tourism they've paid to avoid. His response? "it is an economic necessity". That and the gift of a bottle of the house filth that comes free with a kebab at the beach restaurant... (if they'd at least got the right colour of wine that we drink, having a good record of it from 2 visits it would have been a more personal response).

Sadly therefore, if you are after a quiet, relaxing environment, either get confirmation that your trip will not coincide with any mass package booking or head for Zighy Bay instead - we rather wished we had, however good it was otherwise. I do feel that if they continue with this mass tourism policy, they will destroy this hotel's reputation and the excellent staff that they have will leave for hotels who do not take that approach - the impact on them of having to deal with these groups was clear, it's no fun for them either.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Waha, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear elgina, Thank you for returning to the resort and sharing your feedback with the readers of TripAdvisor. I am sure the readers of your review will find your tips and suggestions useful and thank you for taking the time to share these. I am very sorry to hear that you found the group in house a little overwhelming, and please accept my sincere apologies for any disturbance that this group caused. While the resort has always welcomed groups, generally they have been in meetings or organized private meals which have resulted in very little contact with the individual travelers. I would certainly be happy to advise you or any other potential guest if we have large groups in house prior to confirming the booking. Warm regards, Mark Kirk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This was a wonderful resort and we had a great time. My husband and I stayed in Shangri La's Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Waha for Christmas holidays 18-26 December, 2013.

THE GOOD
We loved our room overlooking the pool with a view to the Gulf of Oman in the Al Waha hotel.

The room:
Spacious with their own balcony.
Very clean and tastefully furnished.
Big clean marble bathroom with walk in shower and deep bath.
Free wifi for the length of our stay for multiple devices.
In room safe.
Robes and slippers.
Good toiletries from the usuals to toothbrushes with tooth paste and hair ties!

The resort:
Friendly, helpful and courteous staff.
Wonderful choices of beaches and pools to use throught the resort.
Well equipped gym and relaxing Spa.
Many restaurants and cafés to eat at, so you are spoiled for choice.
Delicious food throughout the resort. You can eat from menus at most restaurants or at one of the delicious buffets. The starter and steak I had at the Italian, Capri Court, were PERFECTION.
Great cocktail bar called the Piano Bar with THE most delicious cocktails available.
Daily Happy Hours at the various places to have a drink.
Resident turtle expert to provide information about the thousands of turtles that come to lay their eggs at a certain time of the year and their hatchlings that come out 2 months later.
On site dive centre with friendly and helpful staff. The dolphin safari was spectacular. Although you are not guaranteed to see dolphins when you head out at this time we saw literally hundreds of dolphins. Caught some jumping out of the water, some babies swimming with adults and many came really close to the boat.
Free shuttle to dive centre on site, anywhere on the resort and to the Muscat Souk.

THE NOT SO GOOD POINTS
Not really a lot to complain about!

The room:
Although the room and bathroom was clean, the shower could have used a bit of a scrub in the corners at the bottom due to some mildew. Now I am a clean nut and very dirt intolerant, so when I say this was a minor complaint and did not take away from the overall loveliness of the room or stay believe me!

The resort:
You are on a resort that is not within walking distance from anywhere so unless you make an effort you will be doing everything on the resort. Although there is so much to choose from on the resort, that might not be to everyones liking.
If you do all your dining on the resort you cannot get away from the cost and you will have a substantial additional bill besides your room cost. The many Happy Hours help to keep some of the costs down.

BASICALLY
All in all this is a wonderful resort, very relaxing and comfortable place to stay and I would HIGHLY recommended it for a holiday.

Room Tip: Al Waha: I noticed how handy the rooms on the ground floor, facing the pool, were for families with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanNed7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Waha, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear CanNed7, Thank you for staying with us recently and sharing your feedback with the readers of TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us over the Christmas holidays and I am sure the readers of your review will find your feedback useful when planning their stay. Thank you for recommending the resort and hopefully you will decide to return in the future if returning to Oman. Warm regards, Mark Kirk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We booked here on recommendation not least from this website. It is fantastic - from the warm reception, the spacious and well-appointed rooms, down to the little details. Every day on the private beach towels would be supplied along with cold face towels, fresh fruit and water. Lots to do for even very young kids. They attended to our every need, and especially when our little girl was unwell - the clinic nurse and doctor were friendly and helpful. Special thanks to the assistant manager, Mr Salzsieder, who could not have been more accommodating.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhca2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Waha, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear bhca, Thank you for the very nice review posted on TripAdvisor recently. I am delighted that you decided to stay here based on the general feedback of the past guests who have reviewed the resort. I will certainly pass on your thanks to Dirk Salzsieder mentioned in your review. Warm regards, Mark Kirk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

If you are looking for a luxury stay in Muscat, then Shangri La's Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa is the place to be! The resort consists of three hotels, and my husband and I stayed at the Al-Waha, which is one of the two hotels with it's own pool. All three hotels, of course, have access to the private beach of the resort.

The most unique feature of this resort is its topographical setting. The uphill road from Muscat city to the resort provides the first glimpses of the rocky, yellow hued mountains which dominate the landscape. The resort itself sits in the lap of these mountains, which often criss cross into the resort premises. At night, these mountains reflect the aura of innumerable strategically placed lights, so that the whole place gleams like a majestic theatre setting.

The resort itself is highly entertaining with numerous restaurants of varying cuisines, from casual cafes to fine dining. Some provide live musical performances for all tastes. The resort helps arrange for sea-activities for guests. Unfortunately, our early morning dolphin sighting programme was cancelled due to bad weather at the sea.

The management and staff were courteous and helpful, as appears to be the general demeanour of Omani people. The rooms were spacious, with top notch facilities. The pools are large and creatively designed (one pool ends in a man-made beach!).

There was never a dull moment at our three day stay at the Shangri-La. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoorvaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Waha, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear PoorvaN, I am delighted to read for your TripAdvisor review that you enjoyed your stay at Al Waha. As you state the resort is lucky to be situated in one of the most stunning locations in Muscat and I am happy to read that you enjoyed the selection of restaurants and facilities during your visit. Thank you in advance for recommending the resort and hopefully you will decide to return in the future. Warm regards, Mark Kirk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barr Al Jissah
17.2 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
14.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#8 of 52 in Muscat
1,403 reviews
3.3 mi away
Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#6 of 52 in Muscat
1,517 reviews
13.4 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
7.8 mi away
Sheraton Oman Hotel
Sheraton Oman Hotel
#1 of 52 in Muscat
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Waha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Waha

Property: Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Waha
Address: PO Box 644, Barr Al Jissah 113, Oman
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Barr Al Jissah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Barr Al Jissah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Waha 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Waha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La`s Barr Al Jissah Resort And Spa-Al Waha
Shangri La`s Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Waha Hotel Muscat Governorate
Shangri Las Muscat
Shangri Las Al Waha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing