We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shangri-La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa - Al Waha Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Shangri-La Al Husn Resort & Spa(Barr Al Jissah)
$531
$493
Shangri-La.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$309
$252
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
Priceline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Oasis Hotel(Muscat Governorate)
$49
$38
Agoda.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$42
$40
Priceline
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$36
$33
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Room Service
$154
Priceline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
$50
Priceline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,279)
Filter reviews
1,279 results
Traveler rating
670
418
130
39
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
670
418
130
39
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsal wahalazy riverkids clubfamily hoteladventure zonesplash padinterconnecting roomsthe ground floorsamba restaurantsurf cafechi spamelondolphin watching tripsea viewhalf boardpool barwater activities
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
737 - 742 of 1,279 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a long weekend, it is in a beautiful setting in the mountains and on the beach. The hotel and resort is gorgeous. The service is second to none, it is 5 star quality. No complaints what so ever.
The rooms are lovely and spacious, very comfortable.
You can use the facilities in all the resorts, the restaurants are very good too.

Room Tip: We had a pool view room which was lovely, you had a view of the mountains also, if you peered your head out a little you could also see the sea.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinamacarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Strengths -

Location - beautiful view, beach, etc.

Weaknesses -

Food preparation - My husband had violent sickness and diarrhea on our last night, having only eaten in the hotel Al Husn (breakfast and afternoon tea) and Al Waha (evening buffet in Samba). He had drunk two glasses of wine only. He was really ill and had to visit the clinic and take immodium.

Wouldn't visit again. My husband has never been ill like that before.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 5Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

My wife and I spent a three day weekend at the Al Waha Shangri La in Muscat. We had an excellent time and the resort was great. The three hotels at the resort are all exceptional. The Al Waha is more family oriented, but still was very good for people without children. We enjoyed the lazy river and the beautiful beach. The Al Waha has the best beach (closest to the hotel) although the three hotels all share the same cove. The service was very good but the communication with several employees over the phone (when calling for room service or making dinner reservations) was difficult at times since English was not the employee’s native language. The food in the resort restaurants was good and the dinner we had at the Italian restaurant was the best. The duck ragu pasta was incredible. Alcohol is very expensive due local taxes so I would recommend buying at duty free when entering Oman. We would definitely recommend this hotel to any of our friends. We hope to visit it again before moving from the region.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Ocean view if you want to spend the extra money.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

its really not my first time in a shangri la hotel, I already visited shagri la delhi , kuala lumpur and others, they are all great
when i arrived to muscat ( it is my first visit ) i took an airport taxi to shangri la hotel, once on the way the driver asked me in which shangri la my booking is? i started panicking, is there more than one shangri la in muscat like in other cities ( 2 kempinski in delhi and berlin, 2 hilton in istanbul ..... , and the problem is if you have chosen the wrong one you will find yourself in the other side of the city and good luck for transportation )
I checked my booking confirmation and told the driver its in Barr Al Jissah, he said its all 3 in that area. i decided to call hotel phone number mentioned in my booking confirmation, the lady transferred me to the reservation desk , i told her my name and asked her in which hotel is my booked room, she asked me to wait and after 2 minutes she said she could not find my booking, i gave her my booking reference and she said she can not find it because it was done through a website and directly with the hotel, i started reading the confirmation and told her that i booked an al waha superior room, she said so you must be at al waha hotel, and i understood the al waha is a hotel name and not a room category, what a mess to arrive to the hotel.
once there, its a factory check-in, good evening sir, please your passport , credit card and your signature, here are the key cards, your room at 3rd floor ( 1 floor up ) if you want to have diner there is a buffet diner by the pool,from 6.30 to 10.30 , first come first served and breakfast is served at the same place,the lift is just behind you, have a good night. then he looked to the next guest saying good evening sir, so you must understand that you already used your allocated time and its time to move....
buffet diner and breakfast are really excellent and of good quality
what i did not appreciate is that shangri la was not clear when booking and also have the feeling that shangri la has 3 different hotels in the same place 3, 4 and 5 star ( al waha , al bandar and al bustan ) with different rates and adequate services, if it was as clear as that, i would may be paid more and got a room in a better unit or went to another hotel for the same price.
what ever i booked as category of room , what ever i paid as price for my room, i was expecting a shangri la service, it was not the case.

Room Tip: the name given to the rooms at your booking page are not for categories but for different hotels , it is 3, 4, and 5 stars services, so select well what you want
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tarek n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

if you are a family with kids looking to spend time in Muscat then this is for you , nothing exceptional ,rooms are standard ,carpets show signs of wear and a bit smelly in some areas

you are better of staying at al bandar for few extra dollars

Room Tip: get a room on the 3rd of the 4th floor for a better view
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abood S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews