We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is THE place to stay when you visit the Detroit/ Dearborn area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Queen's Residence B&B
Ranked #1 of 2 Ypsilanti B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,330 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,051 helpful votes
“This is THE place to stay when you visit the Detroit/ Dearborn area”
Reviewed January 4, 2010

The hosts- Joe and Marla- are to be congratulated for their fantastic hospitality, and beautifully decorated home.

I highly recommend that anyone intending to stay in the area experience this wonderful B&B.

The rooms are decorated impeccably. They are very comfortable, and spotlessly clean.

Each room has a bathroom.

The breakfast catering is to a gourmet standard.

There is an old inn buidling attached to the house (it was supposed to be part of the Henry Ford Greenfield Village)- you can have a romantic evening meal catered in here.

The home is furnished with exquisite antiques, and the decor is tasteful and luxurious.

Do yourself a favor and stay here!!

Incidentally, the pricing was very fair.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adelaidiantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    1
    0
    0
    4
See reviews for
36
72
8
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, CT
1 review
Reviewed December 8, 2009

My husband and I were out in Ann Arbor for Michigan/Ohio State weekend and all of the hotels were booked. THANK GOD! This place is just what the Dr. ordered and we'll be sure to make it our regular stop when we are in the area. It's simply lovely! Marla and Joe are super accommodating, and serve up a delicious breakfast- not to mention little treats like putting fresh baked cookies out throughout the day. Our stay was fantastic and wonderfully relaxing. What a gem!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATK7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2009

This is hands-down the loveliest bed and breakfast we have ever visited. The beds were quite comfortable, the owners were delightful and very helpful, the food was absolutely amazing, the location was convenient and quiet, the building and rooms were gorgeous and beautifully appointed, everything was clean and exceptionally pretty, and we can't wait to return. Ypsilanti is a neat little town, very handy to Ann Arbor. The building has a fabulous little tavern from the 1700s rebuilt in the basement - be sure to check it out! Every detail of our stay was excellent. I don't have enough superlatives to fully express my feelings about how great this B&B is. It's just amazingly beautiful. The rooms are spacious. They have sitting rooms and are filled with antiques - very luxurious. There is a secluded hot tub if you are interested in relaxing after a long day of sightseeing. We loved the owners, who were kind and offered great information about the area. Did I mention the food? Everything was mouth-watering. I'd go back just for more of those yummy gourmet breakfasts. I'm so glad we made a wrong turn and ended up in Ypsilanti instead of Ann Arbor - if we hadn't, we would have ended up at some other, lesser Bed and Breakfast and missed out on the Queen's Residence, which would have been a great loss. If you are anywhere in the area - even if you are visiting Detroit - definitely stay here. You won't be disappointed. It was the highlight of our trip. We will stop by and stay here at every opportunity in the future - even if we are just passing through.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StudentTraveler72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripmasterflash
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2009

If the Queen's residence were everywhere that we travelled, we would stay there. Joe and Marla should start a chain and clone themselves to run each one...that's how great it is! Their attention to detail is way above and beyond any other B&B that we have stayed in and it was greatly appreciated. Extremely relaxing, cheerful, interesting, comfortable, and spacious. And breakfast...amazing!
Fortunately for us we have family in the area so that we have an excuse to keep going back!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripmasterflash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2009

The owners, Joe and Marla, are very kind and have made their large home beautiful. I adore their library and their sitting rooms/parlors also full of wonderful books, in any of which I could just relax in a comfortable chair, even by a beautiful fire on a chilly night. They also have a large film library. The breakfasts were delicious. They also went to a great amount of trouble for us, arranging for us to see some attractions in which we were interested, even before we checked in. The historical significance of the home is a fascinating bonus, a perfect adjunct to visits to the Henry Ford Museum and Deerfield Village.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2008

The Queen's Residence B&B was a wonderful place - very welcoming atmosphere. Everything was so clean and tidy! The breakfast that was served was deliciously homemade and very large. The hot tub was amazing. Lots of places to curl up and read a book (both inside and outside). Joe and Marla were wonderful friendly hosts with great recommendations.

  • Liked — The house was gorgeous
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jibtz7512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2008

My husband and I found this b & b online. We read the reviews and booked a room. The cool thing is that the website doesn't show everything, so when you get there you are pleasantly surprised. This place is beautiful and Marla has done a wonderful job with the interior design and her and Joe are both gracious hosts. The library was awesome and my husband absolutely loved the hottub! He said it was one of the best he has ever been in. Also we fell in love with Depot town. What a quaint liitle town to walk around on a beautiful day. We had lunch at the Sidetrack grille and bar, (amazing burgers and onion rings!) and sat in front of a fireplace. Cool little restaurant. Also, we went to the shops downtown, Gordys five and dime candy shop so cool, Simply Devine gift shop, and toured the auto museum of old cars. Then took a walk through a lovely park and went to the Olive Garden in Ann Arbor for dinner. When we got back I sat in the ladies parlor in front a fire and read and my husband sat in the hot tub. The trip was relaxing and peaceful and a great getaway for the night. We will definately go back.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HNoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ypsilanti
3.5 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
0.9 mi away
Ann Arbor Marriott Ypsilanti at Eagle Crest
7.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ann Arbor
6.6 mi away
The Kensington Hotel
The Kensington Hotel
#5 of 35 in Ann Arbor
481 reviews
7.1 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#4 of 35 in Ann Arbor
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queen's Residence B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen's Residence B&B

Property: The Queen's Residence B&B
Address: 220 S Huron St, Ypsilanti, MI 48197-8402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ypsilanti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ypsilanti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queen's Residence B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
...Located in downtown historic Ypsilanti, just minutes from Ann Arbor, Livonia, Belleville and Canton, The Queen’s Residence Bed and Breakfast, is a unique relaxing experience that can not be duplicated anywhere for any price! The inn is ideally situated in the Ann Arbor area for University of Michigan and Eastern Michigan University visitors and parents as well as convenient to the Detroit Metro Airport. The exclusive amenities make The Queen's Residence Bed and Breakfast popular for getaway weekends as well as for business travelers to the Ann Arbor area. Here you can enjoy the one of a kind experience of a fireside chat in our original 1700s tavern. Each guest room is unique in its décor and does not have a common wall with any other guest room increasing your privacy during your stay. The Queen’s Residence Bed and Breakfast is famous for its level of guest service and attention to detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The Queen's Residence B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing