We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Queen's Residence B&B
Ranked #1 of 2 Ypsilanti B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2008

The Queen's Residence B&B was a wonderful place - very welcoming atmosphere. Everything was so clean and tidy! The breakfast that was served was deliciously homemade and very large. The hot tub was amazing. Lots of places to curl up and read a book (both inside and outside). Joe and Marla were wonderful friendly hosts with great recommendations.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jibtz7512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 155 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2008

My husband and I found this b & b online. We read the reviews and booked a room. The cool thing is that the website doesn't show everything, so when you get there you are pleasantly surprised. This place is beautiful and Marla has done a wonderful job with the interior design and her and Joe are both gracious hosts. The library was awesome and my husband absolutely loved the hottub! He said it was one of the best he has ever been in. Also we fell in love with Depot town. What a quaint liitle town to walk around on a beautiful day. We had lunch at the Sidetrack grille and bar, (amazing burgers and onion rings!) and sat in front of a fireplace. Cool little restaurant. Also, we went to the shops downtown, Gordys five and dime candy shop so cool, Simply Devine gift shop, and toured the auto museum of old cars. Then took a walk through a lovely park and went to the Olive Garden in Ann Arbor for dinner. When we got back I sat in the ladies parlor in front a fire and read and my husband sat in the hot tub. The trip was relaxing and peaceful and a great getaway for the night. We will definately go back.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank HNoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2008

The Queen's Residence is a gorgeous Victorian with grand and spacious rooms that have been beautifully decorated by Marla Queen, the owner for the past 9 years. (It has only been operating as a B & B for one year.) Our room , the Barnard suite, was very tastefully furnished and decorated. Marla's breakfasts can best be described as bountiful and delicious featuring organic eggs, fruit, and grain. It is a short walk to downtown and the restaurants and shops in Depot Town and is a 15 minute drive to Ann Arbor.
Be sure to have Joe show you the 18th Century tavern that has been installed in the basement. It was once destined for Greenfield Village. It is available for special events and would be a great place for a family Thanksgiving or Christmas dinner. Joe and Marla Queen are two of the most gracious and helpful hosts you will find!

Stayed: May 2008
Thank GrandStreetBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2008

I highly recommend the Queen's Residence B&B! Their Vicorian home is filled with amazing history and beautiful ambience. The inkeepers, Joe and Marla, have to be the NICEST couple I have ever met. Their attention to detail really showed how much they care about their guests' experience! From the chocolate covere strawberries to the provided flip-flops for the hot tub to the fabulous breakfast quiche, it was just amazing! No detail was unaccounted for! Bravo to the Queens for providing us such a relaxing experience during our much needed getway! We can't wait to return!

Thank Phillyroze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2008

We visited the Queen's Residence as a weekend getaway.
It was our first visit to a B&B. Any B&B that we visit in
the future will have big shoes to fill! The Victorian
atmosphere is very inviting. Attention to detail was
impeccable: everything you need to enjoy the outside hot-tub,
wine by the fireplace in the evening, complementary soft
drinks and snacks, coffee brought to the library for you in
the morning and fresh flowers in the room! You won't get a
better breakfast at twice the price! The 1700's era tavern
in the basement is itself worth the trip! Marla and Joe are
great hosts!

Stayed: March 2008
Thank jsweeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2008

Our annual Valentine's Day weekend could not have been better.
The Innkeepers -Joe and Marla- made us feel like we were part of their family. They have opened up their home and their hearts to people looking for that relaxing time away from thier daily routines. The house is beautifully kept and maintained. The gourmet breakfast was elegant and casual at the same time.
(And much better than a 'continental breakfast' so many other B & B's offer)
We always enjoy the history that goes along with most B & B's and this one is no different. The Wild Turkey Tavern in the basement literally takes you back in time.
We would highly recommend the Queen's Residence to anyone and we look forward to returning there ourselves.

Stayed: February 2008
Thank mgoblue93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2008

My husband and I spent a night at The Queen 's Residence Bed & Breakfast in Ypsilanti, Michigan, as a Valentine getaway. The owners, Joe and Marla Queen, were gracious hosts, welcoming us and making us feel at home. Their beautiful, historic home is filled with antiques as well as modern amentities. The rooms were comfortable, private, and spacious. We enjoyed a private soak in the out-door hot tub, under the stars with snow piled all around! Coffee and tea were available in the quaint, upstairs library before breakfast; a welcome touch for those who need early morning caffeine. The decadent french toast breakfast with assorted side dishes was delicious and more than filled us up as we prepared to leave. Joe and Marla are willing to share the history of their beautiful home as well as advise guests about attractions in the area. It was a wonderful experience and we are eager for a return visit.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TeachABC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Queen's Residence B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen's Residence B&B

Address: 220 S Huron St, Ypsilanti, MI 48197-8402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ypsilanti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ypsilanti
Price Range: $151 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queen's Residence B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
...Located in downtown historic Ypsilanti, just minutes from Ann Arbor, Livonia, Belleville and Canton, The Queen’s Residence Bed and Breakfast, is a unique relaxing experience that can not be duplicated anywhere for any price! The inn is ideally situated in the Ann Arbor area for University of Michigan and Eastern Michigan University visitors and parents as well as convenient to the Detroit Metro Airport. The exclusive amenities make The Queen's Residence Bed and Breakfast popular for getaway weekends as well as for business travelers to the Ann Arbor area. Here you can enjoy the one of a kind experience of a fireside chat in our original 1700s tavern. Each guest room is unique in its décor and does not have a common wall with any other guest room increasing your privacy during your stay. The Queen’s Residence Bed and Breakfast is famous for its level of guest service and attention to detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your The Queen's Residence B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing